Reduced-risk management strategy for insect pests of berry crops

 Table of Contents

 

For inquiries please contact:
Pest Management Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC)
pmc.cla.info@agr.gc.ca

 

May 2017

Preface

Pesticide risk reduction strategies are developed under the Pesticide Risk Reduction Program (PRRP), a joint initiative of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) and the Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) of Health Canada. The Program’s objective is to reduce risks to the environment and to human health from pesticide use in agriculture. To achieve this, the Program works with grower groups, provincial experts and researchers to identify gaps in pest management and opportunities for pesticide risk reduction, and to develop and implement strategies to address these.

A pesticide risk reduction strategy is a detailed plan that aims to address grower needs for reduced-risk management tools and practices for specific pest issues. The strategies are developed through extensive consultation with stakeholders. The strategy document presented here summarizes the framework and activities supported by the Programme. It is intended to provide an update on the progress in developing and implementing the strategy and new tools and practices made available through this process.

For more information, please visit the Pest Management Centre website: www.agr.gc.ca/pmc.

Acknowledgement

The Pesticide Risk Reduction Program acknowledges the contribution of participating organizations and stakeholders, including the current and former members of the Insect Pests of Berry Crops Working Group:

  • Tracy Hueppelsheuser and Carolyn Teasdale - British Columbia Ministry of Agriculture
  • Karina Sakalauskas - British Columbia Blueberry Council
  • Sheila Fitzpatrick - AAFC, British Columbia and Debra Moreau - AAFC, Nova Scotia
  • Blaine Staples - Grower, Alberta
  • Anthony Mintenko - Manitoba Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Department
  • Pam Fisher and Hannah Fraser - Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Kevin Schooley - Ontario Berry Growers Association
  • Jean-Philippe Legaré, Guy-Anne Landry, Liette Lambert and Stephanie Tellier - Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food of Quebec
  • Annabelle Firlej - Institute for Research and Development in Agro-environment (IRDA)
  • Jennifer Crawford, Vincent Méthot and Yourianne Plante - Quebec Strawberry and Raspberry Growers Association
  • Jennifer Haverstock and Peter Burgess - Perennia
  • Chris Cutler - Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia
  • Chris Maund - New Brunswick Department of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries
  • Chris Jordan - Prince Edward Island Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
  • Terry Counter - PMRA, Health Canada

Executive Summary

Many insect species causing feeding damage to plants can be serious pests affecting yield and quality of berry crops across Canada. Following systematic assessments, several insect pests of high concern for berry production were identified among those with greatest potential for pesticide risk reduction. Control of these pests has relied mainly on older, broad-spectrum insecticides some of which have undergone regulatory review by Health Canada's PMRA. Two products were phased out in 2016 as result of this review, thus growers need alternative solutions to control these pests in their berry crops.

This report summarizes the support being provided through the Pesticide Risk Reduction Program to develop and implement a reduced-risk strategy for managing priority insect pests of berry crops. This strategy work started in winter 2016 and was conducted in collaboration with provincial crop specialists, industry stakeholders, and research scientists. The strategy targets three important berry crops grown in Canada: strawberry, raspberry and highbush blueberry.

Through stakeholder consultations held to-date, the most pressing crop/pest issues were identified, some solutions were discussed and prioritized, and an action plan is being put into place for implementation. Selection of solutions is driven by the goal to achieve viable pest management while reducing risks associated with insecticide use, including development of pest resistance to these products.

Recommended solutions to pursue for filling identified gaps include:

  • Updating the status of research and management for Spotted Wing Drosophila in Canada;
  • Integrated management of root weevil and white grub complex in berry crops;
  • Integrated management of tarnished plant bug and thrips in day neutral strawberries;
  • Integrated management of cyclamen mite in nursery and field strawberries.

More details about eventual projects addressing these solutions will be included in upcoming iterations of this report as these become available. It is anticipated that adoption of the new management tools resulting from this strategy will enable growers to enhance their integrated pest management practices and promote sensible use of chemical insecticides.

Pest management and pesticide risk reduction issues

This strategy focuses on three berry crops widely grown in Canada: strawberry, raspberry and highbush blueberry. While the importance of lowbush blueberry is recognized, this crop is not included in this strategy because the pest issues and production practices are quite different from other berries targeted here. In Canada, about 16,400 hectares (ha) are cropped to strawberries (3,800 ha), raspberries (2,100 ha) and highbush blueberries (10,500 ha) mainly grown in British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec and the Maritime Provinces (Source: Statistics Canada, CANSIM 2016).

Berries crops are affected by numerous insect pests. Some insects are generalists, attacking various berry species, while some are crop specific. Pesticides are used to protect the quality and yields of berry crops from these pests, especially during outbreaks. While newer products were registered in recent years (for example spinosad, spinetoram), some have been older products belonging to organophosphate, organochlorine, neonicotinoid and pyrethroid chemistry groups. Several of these older products have been or are under re-evaluation to ensure their safety to human and environmental health in light of current science. As a result, two compounds (diazinon, an organophosphate and endosulfan, an organochlorine) were recently removed from the market. Moreover, repetitive use of fewer remaining insecticides with similar modes of action is a risk factor in the development of insect resistance to these products. Cases of Western flower thrips resistant to spinosad and spinetoram are already reported in some greenhouse crops.

Thus, a need was identified to diversify growers’ toolbox with alternative options suitable for sustainable, integrated management of priority berry pests.

Strategy development

Some gaps were previously identified for similar insect pests affecting these crops through preliminary stakeholder consultations held in 2003 and 2005. In response the Program supported several projects which addressed some of these gaps before this strategy work was initiated, for example:

However, the need for broader stakeholder and expert engagement in consultations and a more concerted approach to address these pests across the key berry growing regions became apparent.

Working group consultations

In winter 2016, a working group was established to help the Program develop a plan of action to address these pest issues. The group brought together subject matter experts and stakeholders, including grower organizations, provincial extension and pest management specialists, university researchers, federal scientists, and regulators. Since its inception, the working group has consulted and exchanged information through teleconference calls and emails.

Priority issues and gaps

Through multiple discussions, the working group has identified priority insect pests for the selected berry crops and gaps associated with their management (Table 1). These pests had been regularly treated with older insecticides and the need for alternative control options was critical.

The working group has also recommended some reduced risk solutions to address the identified gaps. Further discussions to advance the potential solutions will continue over the coming years.

Table 1: Summary of gaps associated with identified priority pest/crop issues

PestGaps for StrawberryGaps for RaspberryGaps for Highbush Blueberry
Spotted wing drosophila (SWD) (Drosophila suzukii) Selected as the highest priority across the three berry crops. While there have been various projects and activities targeting this pest, an overview of the scope and progress with this work in Canada and elsewhere was deemed necessary to inform decisions about future research needs and development opportunities. See gaps for strawberry See gaps for strawberry
Root weevils/white grubs complex (For example black vine weevil, Japanese beetle, June beetle, European chafer, et cetera) Selected as a priority across the three berry crops. Mainly controlled by using organophosphate or neonicotinoid products which are under re-evaluation, a need was recognised for lower risk replacement options for both adults and larvae management. Various species and growth stages of these pests cause different types of damage in various berries and geographic areas. For instance, both adults and larvae of black vine weevil cause problems in British Columbia region. However, root weevil larvae are a serious sporadic problem on strawberries in Eastern Provinces. Japanese beetle, European Chafer and June beetle are mainly a problem on strawberries and blueberries grown in Eastern Provinces. These are of growing concern due to lack of control solutions. See gaps for strawberry See gaps for strawberry
Cyclamen mite (Phytonemus pallidus) Selected as a priority for nursery and field strawberry. While there is only one insecticide available, it is difficult to effectively control this pest with sprays. Growers need effective sampling techniques, thresholds and various control tools for nursery and field productions.  Not applicable   Not applicable
Tarnished plant bug (Lygus lineolaris Selected as a priority for day neutral strawberries. Lower risk products and non-chemical solutions are needed for season-long protection.   Not applicable   Not applicable
Thrips (Frankliniella spp.) Selected as a priority for day neutral strawberries. There is only one insecticide class available for pest suppression (spinosyns), and it is prone to development of pest resistance. Additional lower risk solutions are needed, including biological controls, to allow rotation of control options.    Not applicable   Not applicable
Raspberry crown borer /Clearwing moth (Pennisetia marginata)   Not applicable Selected as a priority for raspberry. With the loss of diazinon, which leaves only one insecticide option available, the threat from this pest is expected to rise. A need was identified for educational and outreach materials for growers, for example an information sheet on the pest biology and proven management approaches.   Not applicable
Beetles

For example raspberry fruitworm (Byturus tomentosus), red necked cane borer (Agrilus sp.), raspberry cane borer (Oberea bimaculata), clipper weevil (Anthanomus signatus), sap beetles (Stelidota geminata)

  Not applicable Selected as a priority for raspberry. With the loss of diazinon which controlled some of these pests, the threat from these pests is expected to rise. A need was identified for lower risk replacement control options.   Not applicable
Blueberry maggot (Rhagoletis mendax)   Not applicable   Not applicable Selected as a priority for blueberry in eastern Canada. While several insecticides are available, growers need non-chemical options for sustainable control of this pest.

 

Action Plan

As a result of above consultations, the following activities were chosen to pursue first starting in 2017:

1. Updating the status of research and management for Spotted Wing Drosophila in Canada

The working group proposed to conduct an overview of outcomes from recently completed and ongoing SWD related projects and activities undertaken in the last 5 years by Canadian researchers and investigators in a format that is easily accessible and useful to the vast majority of interested stakeholders across Canada.

Implementation: A series of four 2-hour webinar sessions was held over winter of 2017 to share information about the regional situation and progress made in SWD management in Canada. This webinar series was organized by the National Spotted-wing Drosophila Technical Working Group (SWD-TWG), a group established in 2012 as the result of a partnership between the Canadian Horticultural Council and AAFC’s Pest Management Centre. Highlighting research activities underway provincially, at universities and within Agricultural and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), these sessions allowed an opportunity to share new information and discuss remaining gaps in knowledge and management technologies. A listing of the speakers and presentation topics during the Spotted Wing Drosophila Canadian Webinar Series is available. The shared information will be helpful in identifying next steps to be undertaken toward robust sustainable solutions to manage SWD.

2. Integrated management of root weevil and white grub complex in berry crops

The working group suggested investigating various approaches such as the use of entomopathogens, biopesticides, novel monitoring, trap crops, ecosystem and habitat enhancement, thresholds, etc., relevant to these pests as part of an integrated pest management (IPM) system.

Implementation: This priority was included in Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s internal call for proposals in 2017. No proposals were received.

3. Integrated management of Tarnished plant bug and thrips in day neutral strawberries

The working group suggested investigating various approaches such as trap/cover crops, ecosystem and habitat enhancement, biological control, thresholds, or biopesticides, pertaining to these pests as part of an IPM system.

Implementation: This priority was included in AAFC's internal call for proposals in 2017. As a result, a new 2 year project was initiated in spring 2017. The project addresses the integrated management of tarnished plant bug in day-neutral strawberries and is conducted at the AAFC’s Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu Research and Development Centre, Quebec.

4. Integrated management of cyclamen mite in nursery and field strawberries

The working group suggested investigating solution options in the areas of sanitation, improved monitoring, thresholds, biological control, plant-derived insecticidal oils, et cetera, as part of an IPM system.

Implementation: This priority was included in AAFC's internal call for proposals in 2017. No proposals were received.

This report will be updated periodically as new projects are rolled out and new information on results becomes available.

 

Date modified:

Stratégie à risque réduit pour la gestion des insectes nuisibles des petits fruits

Table des matières

 

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec le :
Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides Centre de la lutte antiparasitaire, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC)
pmc.cla.info@agr.gc.ca

Mai 2017

Préface

Les stratégies de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides s’inscrivent dans le Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticide (PRRP) qui constitue une initiative conjointe d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) et de l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada. Le programme vise à réduire les risques pour l’environnement et la santé humaine des pesticides utilisés à des fins agricoles. Pour ce faire, les responsables du programme collaborent avec des groupes de producteurs, des spécialistes provinciaux et des chercheurs afin de déceler les lacunes au chapitre de la lutte antiparasitaire et les options de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides et afin d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des stratégies à cet effet.

Une stratégie de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides désigne un plan détaillé qui vise à répondre aux besoins des producteurs en matière d’outils et de pratiques de lutte antiparasitaire à risque réduit pour des problèmes associés aux ravageurs précis. L’établissement des stratégies découle de longues consultations avec des intervenants. Le présent document résume le cadre de travail et des activités financées par le programme. Il vise à faire le point sur les progrès réalisés au titre de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie et des nouveaux outils et pratiques offerts par le biais du présent processus.

Pour en savoir davantage à ce sujet, veuillez consulter le site web du Centre de la lutte antiparasitaire (CLA) : www.agr.gc.ca/cla.

Remerciements

Le Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides signale la contribution d’organismes et de particuliers qui ont participé aux travaux, y compris les membres actuels ou passés du Groupe de travail sur les insectes nuisible des petits fruits :

  • Tracy Hueppelsheuser et Carolyn Teasdale - Ministère de l’agriculture de la Colombie-Britannique
  • Karina Sakalauskas - Conseil du bleuet de la Colombie-Britannique
  • Sheila Fitzpatrick - AAC, Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.) et Debra Moreau - AAC, Nouvelle-Écosse (N.-É.)
  • Blaine Staples - Producteur, Alberta
  • Anthony Mintenko - Ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et du Développement Rural du Manitoba
  • Pam Fisher et Hannah Fraser - Ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires Rurales de l’Ontario
  • Kevin Schooley - Association des producteurs de petits fruits de l’Ontario
  • Jean-Philippe Legaré, Guy-Anne Landry, Liette Lambert et Stephanie Tellier - Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation du Québec
  • Annabelle Firlej - Institut de recherche et développement en agroenvironnement (IRDA)
  • Jennifer Crawford, Vincent Méthot et Yourianne Plante - Association des producteurs de fraises et de framboises du Québec
  • Jennifer Haverstock et Peter Burgess - Perennia
  • Chris Cutler - Dalhousie University, N.-É.
  • Chris Maund - Département de l’Agriculture, de l’Aquaculture et des Pêches du Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Chris Jordan - Département de l’Agriculture et des Pêches de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Terry Counter - ARLA, Santé Canada
  • Sommaire

    Bien des espèces d’insectes qui causent de dommage aux plantes peuvent nuire considérablement au rendement et à la qualité des cultures de petits fruits partout au Canada. Des évaluations systématiques ont permis de cibler plusieurs insectes nuisibles préoccupants pour la production de petits fruits parmi ceux étant le plus susceptibles d’être visés par la réduction des risques liés aux pesticides. Le contrôle de ces insectes a reposé principalement sur l’utilisation d’anciens insecticides à large spectre dont certains ont fait l’objet d’un examen réglementaire de l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA). Deux produits ont été retirés du marché en 2016 par suite de cet examen, de sorte que les producteurs ont besoin de solutions de rechange pour lutter contre ces insectes nuisibles pour leurs cultures de petits fruits.

    Le présent rapport résume l’aide accordée par le biais du Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides ayant pour but d’élaborer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie à risque réduit pour la gestion des insectes nuisibles prioritaires des petits fruits. Ces travaux ont débuté à l’hiver 2016 et sont réalisés en collaboration avec des spécialistes des cultures provinciaux, des intervenants de l’industrie et des chercheurs. La stratégie vise trois importantes cultures de petits fruits du Canada, soit la fraise, la framboise et le bleuet en corymbe.

    Les consultations des intervenants qui ont eu lieu jusqu’à maintenant ont déterminés les problématiques des insectes nuisibles les plus prioritaire, ont proposé certaines solutions prioritaires, et ont mis sur place un plan d’action pour assurer l’adoption. La sélection des solutions dépend de la mesure dans laquelle celles-ci contribuent à la lutte antiparasitaire viable tout en atténuant les risques associés à l’utilisation des insecticides, y compris le développement de la résistance des insectes à ces produits.

    Les solutions recommandées en vue de combler les lacunes identifiées sont les suivantes :

    • Faire le point sur les recherches et gestion de la drosophile à ailes tachetées au Canada;
    • Lutte intégrée contre le charançon de la racine et le complexe de vers blancs dans les petits fruits;
    • Lutte intégrée contre la punaise terne et les thrips dans le fraisier à jour neutre;
    • Lutte intégrée contre le tarsonème du fraisier dans les pépinières et les champs de fraisiers.

    Les prochaines mises à jour du présent rapport fourniront plus de détails sur les projets éventuels associés à ces solutions à mesure de leur disponibilité. L’adoption de nouveaux outils de lutte mis au point dans le cadre de la présente stratégie devrait permettre aux producteurs d’améliorer leurs pratiques de lutte antiparasitaire intégrée et favoriser l’utilisation plus judicieuse d’insecticides chimiques.

    Problèmes de la lutte antiparasitaire et de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides

    La présente stratégie met l’accent sur trois cultures de petits fruits très répandues au Canada, soit la fraise, la framboise et le bleuet en corymbe. Même si le bleuet nain constitue une culture importante, elle n’est pas visée par la présente stratégie parce que les problèmes associés aux ravageurs et les pratiques de production sont très différents des autres petits fruits à l’étude. Au Canada, environ 16 400 hectares  (ha) sont consacrés à la culture des fraises (3 800 ha), aux framboises (2 100 ha) et aux bleuets en corymbe (10 500 ha) qui sont principalement cultivés en Colombie-Britannique, en Ontario, au Québec et dans les provinces maritimes (Source : Statistique Canada, CANSIM 2016).

    Les cultures de petits fruits sont attaquées par de nombreux insectes nuisibles. Certains d’entre eux proviennent d’espèces générales qui touchent diverses cultures de petits fruits, alors que d’autres sont propres à des cultures précises. Les pesticides servent à protéger la qualité et le rendement des cultures de petits fruits contre ces insectes, surtout pendant les éclosions. Même si de nouveaux produits ont été brevetés au cours des dernières années (par exemple spinosad, spinetoram), certains étaient d’anciens produits des groupes des organophosphorés, organochlorés, néonicotinoïdes et pyréthroïdes chimiques. Plusieurs de ces produits plus anciens ont fait l’objet ou font l’objet d’un examen afin de confirmer qu’ils sont sécuritaires pour la santé humaine et l’environnement compte tenu des recherches actuelles. Par conséquent, deux composés (le diazinon, un organophosphoré et endosulfan, un organochloré) ont été récemment retirés du marché. En outre, l’utilisation répétitive des quelques insecticides restants qui ont des modes d’action similaires constitue un facteur de risque de développement de la résistance des insectes à ces produits. On signale déjà des cas de résistance au spinosad et spinetoram chez les thrips des fleurs de l’Ouest dans certaines cultures en serre.

    Ainsi, c’est conclu qu’il était nécessaire de diversifier les trousses d’outils des producteurs et de leur offrir des solutions de rechange afin qu’ils puissent assurer une lutte durable et intégrée contre les ravageurs prioritaires des petits fruits.

    Élaboration de la stratégie

    Certaines lacunes ont été décelées auparavant pour des ravageurs similaires s’attaquant à ces cultures grâce aux consultations préliminaires tenues auprès d’intervenants en 2003 et 2005. Par la suite, le Programme a soutenu plusieurs projets visant à combler ces lacunes avant le début des travaux associés à la présente stratégie, par exemple :

    Toutefois, il semblait nécessaire de mener des consultations plus vastes auprès d’un éventail d’intervenants et de spécialistes et d’adopter une approche concertée pour la lutte contre ces ravageurs dans les régions productrices clés des petits fruits.

    Consultations du groupe de travail

    À l’automne 2016, un groupe de travail a été constitué pour aider le Programme à élaborer un plan d’action ayant trait aux problèmes liés à ces insectes. Le groupe a réuni des spécialistes en la matière et des intervenants, y compris des organismes de producteurs, des spécialistes de la vulgarisation et de la lutte antiparasitaire provinciaux, des chercheurs universitaires, des scientifiques fédéraux et des représentants des organismes réglementaires. Depuis sa création, le groupe de travail a mené des consultations et partagé de l’information au moyen d’appels en téléconférence et de courriels.

    Enjeux prioritaires et lacunes

    Les nombreuses discussions que le groupe de travail a tenues ont permis de déterminer les insectes nuisibles prioritaires pour les cultures de petits fruits sélectionnées, ainsi que les lacunes de la lutte à leur égard (tableau 1). Ces ravageurs ont régulièrement été traités par d’anciens insecticides et la nécessité de trouver des solutions de contrôle de rechange était cruciale.

    Le groupe de travail a aussi recommandé certaines solutions à risque réduit afin de combler les lacunes décelées. Les échanges se poursuivront au cours des prochaines années afin d’avancer les solutions possibles.

    Tableau 1 : Résumé des lacunes associées avec les ravageurs/cultures prioritaire décelées

    RavageurLacunes pour la fraiseLacunes pour la framboiseLacunes pour le bleuet en corymbe
    Drosophile à ailes tachetées (Drosophila suzukii) Constitue la principale priorité pour les trois cultures de petits fruits. De nombreux projets et activités ont porté sur ce ravageur, donc il a été jugé nécessaire de donner un aperçu de la portée et des réalisations de ces travaux au Canada et ailleurs afin de conduire les décisions sur les besoins futurs en matière de recherche et des opportunités de développement.  Voir les lacunes pour la fraise  Voir les lacunes pour la fraise
    Complexe des charançons des racines et des vers blancs (par exemple le charançon noir de la vigne, le scarabée japonais, le hanneton commun et le hanneton européen) Constitue une priorité pour les trois cultures de petits fruits. Ces ravageurs sont surtout contrôlés par des produits organophosphorés ou néonicotinïdaux qui font l’objet d’une réévaluation. Par conséquent, il a été jugé nécessaire d’adopter des options de remplacement à risque plus faible pour la lutte contre les adultes et larves. Diverses espèces à des phases de croissance différentes causent des types variés de dommages dans diverses cultures et régions géographiques. Par exemple, les adultes ainsi que les larves du charançon noir de la vigne font des ravages dans la région de la Colombie-Britannique. Toutefois, les larves des charançons des racines constituent sporadiquement un grave problème pour les fraises des provinces de l’Est. Le scarabée japonais, le hanneton européen et le hanneton commun s’attaquent plutôt aux frais et aux bleuets cultivés dans les provinces de l’Est. Ce problème s’amplifie en raison de l’absence de solutions de contrôle.  Voir les lacunes pour la fraise  Voir les lacunes pour la fraise
    Trasonème du fraisier (Phytonemus pallidus) Constitue une priorité pour les fraises cultivées en pépinière et en champ. Même s’il n’existe qu’un seul insecticide, il est difficile de contrôler efficacement ce ravageur par la pulvérisation. Les producteurs ont besoin de techniques d’échantillonnage, de seuils et de divers outils de contrôle efficaces pour les productions en pépinière et en champ.  Pas applicable  Pas applicable
     

    Punaise terne

    (Lygus lineolaris)

    Constitue une priorité pour les fraises à jour neutre. Il faut des produits à risque plus faible et des solutions non chimiques pour une protection pendant toute la saison.  Pas applicable  Pas applicable
     

    Thrips

    (Frankliniella spp.)

    Constitue une priorité pour les fraises à jour neutre. Une seule catégorie d’insecticides est disponible pour éliminer ces ravageurs (les spinosynes), et il est propice au développement de la résistance des insectes. Il faut d’autres solutions à plus faible risque, y compris des produits de contrôle biologiques, afin de permettre la rotation des options du contrôle.  Pas applicable  Pas applicable
    Pyrale de la framboise (Pennisetia marginata)  Pas applicable Constitue une priorité pour la framboise. Le retrait du marché du diazinon ne laisse qu’une seule option en matière d’insecticide. Par conséquent, la menace que présente ce ravageur devrait s’accroître. Il faudrait produire des documents de sensibilisation et d’information à l’intention des producteurs (par exemple des fiches d’information sur la biologie du ravageur et les approches de lutte éprouvées).  Pas applicable
     

    Coléoptères

    par exemple byture du Pacifique (Byturus tomentosus), agrile du framboisier (Agrilus sp.), anneleur du framboisier (Oberea bimaculata), antonome (Anthanomus signatus), nitidules (Stelidota geminata)

     Pas applicable Constitue une priorité pour le framboisier. Le retrait du marché du diazinon qui contrôlait certains de ces ravageurs devrait contribuer à la hausse de la menace posée par ceux-ci. Il faut trouver une solution de contrôle de rechange à plus faible risque.  Pas applicable
    Mouche du bleuet (Rhagoletis mendax)  Pas applicable  Pas applicable Constitue une priorité pour le bleuet dans l’est du Canada. Même si plusieurs insecticides sont disponibles, les producteurs doivent avoir des options non chimiques pour assurer un contrôle durable de ce ravageur.

     

    Plan d’action

    Par suite des consultations susmentionnées, les activités suivantes étais sélectionnées à poursuivre d’abord en 2017 :

    1. Faire le point sur les recherches et la gestion concernant la drosophile à ailes tachetées au Canada

    Le groupe de travail a proposé de faire le point sur les résultats des récents projets et activités associés à la drosophile à ailes tachetées, terminés ou en cours, qu’ont réalisés durant les cinq dernières années par des chercheurs et enquêteurs canadiens, et de fournir un aperçu facile à accéder et utile pour la grande majorité des parties intéressées au Canada.

    Mise en œuvre : Une série de quatre webinaires de 2 heures a été offerte à l’hiver 2017 afin de partager de l’information sur la situation régionale et les progrès réalisés en matière de lutte à la drosophile à ailes tachetées au Canada. Ces webinaires ont été organisés par le Groupe de travail technique national sur la drosophile à ailes tachetées qui a été constitué en 2012 par suite d’un partenariat entre le Conseil canadien de l’horticulture et le Centre de la lutte antiparasitaire d’AAC. Ces séances qui ont mis l’accent sur les activités de recherche en cours dans les provinces, dans les universités et à Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada ont permis l’échange de nouvelles données et la discussion des lacunes restantes sur le plan des connaissances et des technologies de lutte. Vous pouvez consulter la liste des conférenciers et des thèmes des exposés présentés au cours de ces webinaires au site Web sur la drosophile à ailes tachetées. L’information partagée permettra de déterminer les prochaines étapes à franchir pour établir des solutions durables et robustes afin de lutter contre la drosophile à ailes tachetées.

    2. Gestion intégrée du complexe de charançons des racines et des vers blancs du fraisier dans les cultures de petits fruits

    Le groupe de travail a proposé d’examiner diverses approches, telles que l’utilisation d’entomopathogènes, de biopesticides, de dispositifs de surveillance novateurs, de cultures pièges, de techniques d’amélioration de l’habitat et d’écosystème, et de seuils pertinent à ces ravageurs dans le cadre d’un système intégré de lutte antiparasitaire.

    Mise en œuvre : Cette priorité a été incluse dans l’appel de propositions interne lancé par Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada en 2017. Aucune proposition n'a été reçue.

    3. Gestion intégrée de la punaise terne et les thrips dans les fraises à jour neutre

    Le groupe de travail a proposé d’examiner diverses approches, comme les cultures pièges, l’amélioration de l’habitat et de l’écosystème, le contrôle biologique, les seuils, ou les biopesticides pertinent à ces ravageurs dans le cadre d’un système intégré de lutte antiparasitaire.

    Mise en œuvre : Cette priorité a été incluse dans l’appel de propositions interne lancé par Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada en 2017. En conséquence, un nouveau projet de deux ans a été lancé au printemps 2017. Le projet porte sur la gestion intégrée de la punaise terne dans les fraises à jour neutre et s’est conduit au Centre de recherche et de développement de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu de l’AAC, à Québec.

    4. Gestion intégrée du tarsonème des fraisiers en pépinière et en champ

    Le groupe de travail a proposé d’examiner diverses solutions, notamment dans les domaines de l’hygiène, de l’amélioration de la surveillance, des seuils, du contrôle biologique, des huiles insecticides à base végétales, et cetera. dans le cadre du système intégré de lutte antiparasitaire.

    Mise en œuvre : Cette priorité a été incluse dans l’appel de propositions interne lancé par Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada en 2017. Aucune proposition n'a été reçue.

    Le présent rapport sera mis à jour périodiquement à mesure que de nouveaux projets et de nouveaux renseignements sur les résultats seront disponibles.

    Date de modification: