Evaluation of Cyclone for the management of powdery mildew in cut gerbera

Project Code BPR14-071

Project lead

Janice Elmhirst  Elmhirst Diagnostics and Research, British Columbia, Canada

Objective

To evaluate efficacy of Cyclone for the management of powdery mildew in cut gerbera

Summary of Results

Background

Powdery mildew, caused by Erysiphe species or Podosphaera species is one of the most important diseases in ornamental crops in Canada. The disease in cut gerbera was identified as a priority issue by growers at the 2013 Canadian Biopesticides Priority Setting Workshop, and the Pest Management Centre’s Pesticide Risk Reduction Program was tasked to identify a promising reduced-risk product for the management of this disease.

In a screening trial BPR14-070 conducted in 2014, the product Cyclone was identified as a promising product for the management of powdery mildew in greenhouse cut gerbera; however further validation of its efficacy in gerbera plants was needed. In 2015, therefore, two efficacy trials were conducted in British Columbia with the intention that data from these efficacy trials could be used to support an User Requested Minor Use Label Expansion (URMULE) of Cyclone for the management of powdery mildew in greenhouse gerbera.

Approaches

Cyclone was evaluated at three rates (1.2%, 1.6% and 2.0%) combined with 0.25% Liberate as the surfactant, and these treatments were compared to the commercial standard Nova at 0.034%. Each treatment had 4 replicates and applied 4 times at a weekly interval during the trials. Incidence of diseased leaves, mean number of powdery mildew lesions per plant, and disease severity (mean percentage of leaf area with mildew per plant) were assessed to estimate efficacy of each treatment.

Results

Overall, in two trials with three rates, all showed significant control/suppression of powdery mildew disease compared to the untreated controls when assessed according to each of three disease assessment indices. The highest rate (2%) showed the best control of powdery mildew during the course of the two trials, compared with the other two rates, reducing the incidence of diseased leaves by 17-90%, reducing the mean number of powdery mildew lesions per plant by 40-98%, and the disease severity by 41-92%. The middle rate (1.6%) showed similar, although numerically lower efficacy levels to those achieved with 2%. The 1.2% rate significantly suppressed the disease in two trials based on the three assessment indexes, but in general the efficacy levels appeared lower than those provided by other two rates in most assessment dates. All three rates were able to maintain significant suppression of the disease until harvest.

The two Cyclone efficacy trials confirmed the efficacy shown in the screening trial in 2014. The data generated with Cyclone in these trials will be used to support an URMULE request for registration of Cyclone for the control of powdery mildew in greenhouse gerbera.

 

Date modified:

Évaluation du Cyclone pour lutter contre l’oïdium dans les cultures de gerbera à couper

Code du projet  BPR14-071

Chef de projet

Janice Elmhirst   Elmhirst Diagnostics et Research, Colombie ­Britannique, Canada

Objectif

Évaluer l’efficacité du Cyclone pour lutter contre l’oïdium dans les cultures de gerbera destinées à la production de fleurs coupées

Sommaire des résultats

Contexte

L’oïdium, causé par espèces de Erysiphe ou espèces de Podosphaera, est l’une des pires maladies des cultures ornementales au Canada. Dans le cadre de l’atelier sur l’établissement des priorités en matière de biopesticides tenu en 2013, les producteurs de cultures de gerbera à couper ont retenu cette maladie comme problème prioritaire, et le Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides du Centre de la lutte antiparasitaire a été chargé de déterminer un produit prometteur à faible risque pour lutter contre cette maladie.

Un essai de criblage BPR14-070 mené en 2014 indiquait que le Cyclone était un produit prometteur pour lutter contre l’oïdium dans les cultures de gerbera à couper de serre; toutefois, de nouvelles validations de son efficacité sur les gerbera étaient nécessaires. Ainsi, en 2015, deux essais sur l’efficacité ont été réalisés en Colombie-Britannique dans le but d’utiliser les données de ces essais pour appuyer un PEPUDU (Programme d’extension du profil d’emploi pour les usages limités demandés par les utilisateurs) sur le Cyclone pour lutter contre l’oïdium dans les gerbera de serre.

Méthodes

Le Cyclone a été évalué à trois taux (1,2 %, 1,6 % et 2,0 %) combinés à 0,25 % de Liberate comme surfactant, et ces traitements ont été comparés au traitement commercial courant Nova à 0,034 %. Chaque traitement a été fait en quatre répétitions et était appliqué quatre fois à intervalle d’une semaine durant les essais. L’incidence des feuilles atteintes, le nombre moyen de lésions attribuables à l’oïdium par plante et la gravité de la maladie (pourcentage moyen de la surface foliaire de la plante couvert d’oïdium) ont été évalués pour estimer l’efficacité de chaque traitement.

Résultats

Dans l’ensemble, dans les deux essais où trois taux étaient appliqués, tous les taux affichaient une maîtrise/suppression significative de l’oïdium comparativement aux témoins non traités lorsqu’ils étaient évalués conformément à chacun des trois indices d’évaluation de la maladie. Le taux le plus élevé (2 %) affichait la meilleure maîtrise de l’oïdium durant les deux essais, comparativement aux deux autres taux : il a réduit l’incidence des feuilles atteintes de 17 à 90 %, il a réduit le nombre moyen de lésions attribuables à l’oïdium par plante de 40 à 98 % et la gravité de la maladie de 41 à 92 %. Le taux intermédiaire (1,6 %) affichait des niveaux d’efficacité similaires, quoique moins élevés, à ceux atteints avec le taux de 2 %. Le taux de 1,2 % a grandement réprimé la maladie dans les deux essais, d’après les trois indices d’évaluation, mais en général les niveaux d’efficacité semblaient plus faibles que ceux des deux autres taux dans la plupart des dates d’évaluation. Les trois taux étaient en mesure de maintenir une suppression significative de la maladie jusqu’à la récolte.

Les deux essais d’efficacité du Cyclone ont confirmé l’efficacité démontrée dans l’essai de criblage de 2014. Les données générées avec le produit Cyclone lors de ces essais seront utilisées pour appuyer une demande PEPUDU pour l’enregistrement de Cyclone pour la lutte contre l’oïdium dans les cultures de gerbera de serre.

Date de modification: