A Guide to AgriRecovery

A federal-provincial-territorial disaster relief framework

What is AgriRecovery?

AgriRecovery is a disaster relief framework that is part of a suite of federal-provincial-territorial (FPT) Business Risk Management (BRM) programs under Growing Forward 2. It is intended to work together with the core BRM programs to help agricultural producers recover from natural disasters.

AgriRecovery is not a program. It is a framework which forms the basis by which federal, provincial and territorial governments work together to assess the impacts of disasters on agricultural producers and respond with joint initiatives where there is need for assistance beyond what is available through existing programs.


The objective for initiatives developed under the AgriRecovery Framework is to help Canada’s agricultural producers recover by providing financial assistance for the extraordinary costs necessary for recovery.

Extraordinary costs are those which producers would not incur under normal circumstances, but which are necessary to:

  • Mitigate the impacts of the disaster; and/or
  • Resume farming operations as quickly as possible following a disaster.

AgriRecovery does not cover production or revenue declines, including those resulting from disasters. The core BRM programs, which are AgriInsurance, AgriStability and AgriInvest, are available to help producers who are faced with production and revenue declines.

What is the role of existing programming in disaster situations and how does this affect the AgriRecovery process?

AgriRecovery is not the first, nor the only, source of assistance when disasters occur. Where there is need for assistance beyond what is available through the core BRM programs, the Framework is intended to work together with these programs to help producers recover.

As such, the assistance available through the core BRM programs, as well as other available assistance programming, is considered when assessing whether or not an AgriRecovery response is warranted. Further, initiatives developed under the Framework must complement rather than replace or duplicate the assistance available through other programs.

As the core BRM programs will be the primary source of assistance in disaster situations, agricultural producers are encouraged to participate in these programs.

The three core FPT BRM programs are:

  • AgriInsurance is an insurance-based program designed to assist producers experiencing production losses due to eligible perils, including severe losses resulting from disaster events;
  • AgriStability is a whole-farm, margin-based program that assists producers when they are facing severe margin (income) declines caused by circumstances such as low prices, rising input costs, and production losses; advances (interim payments) are available under the program to help with cash flow; and
  • AgriInvest is a savings account-based program where producer deposits are matched by governments; the funds in accounts are available to offset losses, help with cash flow needs, or support investments to help with managing business risks.

In addition, the Advance Payments Program is a federal loan program which is available to help crop and livestock producers meet their financial obligations through improved cash flow and better opportunities to market their agricultural products. Loans of up to $400,000 are available under the program, with the federal government covering the interest on the first $100,000.

There are other government programs which may provide assistance to producers who find themselves faced with a disaster event. For example, in disaster situations involving a disease or pest, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) may provide disaster-related compensation under the Health of Animals Act or the Plant Protection Act. Assistance may also be available to support recovery through provincial disaster assistance programming, which may be partially funded through Public Safety Canada’s national Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements.

What types of disaster events can be considered for assistance under AgriRecovery?

Those associated with natural disaster events such as:

  • Disease (e.g., Bovine Tuberculosis, Potato Wart);
  • Pest infestation (e.g., Potato Cyst Nematodes, Grasshoppers);
  • Extreme weather (e.g., drought, flooding, tornado); and/or
  • Contamination of the natural environment (e.g., chemical event).

What kinds of events cannot be considered?

Examples of events that cannot be considered for assistance under AgriRecovery include:

  • Disaster events where there are no extraordinary costs producers must incur in order to recover;
  • Disasters that can be effectively managed with assistance from existing programming;
  • Cyclical market trends that result in income/revenue losses;
  • Long-term market trends;
  • Destruction of an individual’s property where there is no impact on the sector;
  • Cancellation of a contract or market loss not related to a disaster event;
  • Trade actions that are not directly related to a disease or pest event;
  • Situations that are market-driven (e.g., the closing of a processing plant in an area); and
  • Recurring events which can be effectively addressed in the longer-term through changes to the existing BRM programs (e.g., changes to insurance plans), other federal or provincial assistance mechanisms, or private sector risk management tools.

How does AgriRecovery work?

The AgriRecovery Framework provides a process for FPT governments to jointly respond to disasters affecting Canada’s agricultural producers.

The AgriRecovery process includes a number of key steps, including:

  • Step One - Request for an Assessment: A request for a disaster event to be assessed under the AgriRecovery Framework to determine whether an AgriRecovery response is warranted. Requests are typically made by a province or territory to the federal government as provincial/territorial governments are usually closer to the disaster event, its impacts, and affected producers.

  • Step Two - Assessment: A joint assessment is undertaken to:
    • Examine the disaster event and its impacts;
    • Determine whether there are extraordinary costs producers must incur in order to recover; and
    • Measure the capacity of existing programs to help producers recover.
    To this end, a number of key criteria must be met. These key criteria are described in the following section and illustrated in the AgriRecovery Assessment Flow Chart.

    During the assessment process, governments may consult with producers and/or sector organizations to gain a better understanding of the disaster, its impacts, and the needs of affected producers with respect to recovery.

  • Step Three - Decision & Authorities: The findings and conclusions of the assessment form the basis on which FPT governments then decide whether or not to proceed with an AgriRecovery response.

  • Step Four - Agreement on the Technical Details: Participating governments work together to finalize the technical details of the initiative. These details are typically set out in a funding agreement between governments.

    AgriRecovery initiatives are typically joint programs which are administered by the provincial or territorial government, or its delivery agent. Initiatives are typically cost-shared on a 60:40 basis between federal and provincial/territorial governments, respectively.

  • Step Five - Launch of the Initiative: The initiative is announced, or targeted producers are notified, and program materials are made available (e.g., the terms and conditions for the initiative, application forms, etc.).

  • Step Six - Payments: Submitted applications are processed and AgriRecovery payments are made.

As assistance under the AgriRecovery Framework is made available through individual, disaster-specific initiatives, each initiative will have its own name (e.g., 2013 Canada-Nova Scotia Strawberry Assistance Initiative).

What are the key considerations in assessing disasters and designing initiatives under AgriRecovery

FPT governments have agreed on a set of principles and criteria to guide the assessment of disaster events and the development of AgriRecovery initiatives. As each disaster situation will be assessed on a case-by-case basis, differences in the circumstances of each disaster will lead to different types and levels of AgriRecovery assistance.


  • Assess each disaster situation and response individually;
  • Complement, but not substitute or replace, assistance available through the core BRM programs, other government programs, or private sector tools;
  • Consider the financial position of affected producers in determining whether disaster assistance is needed;
  • Design initiatives that do not result in affected producers being brought back to a better financial position than they would have been in had the disaster not occurred;
  • Ensure that producers share in the costs and are not indemnified twice for the same costs; and
  • Encourage mitigating actions.

In order to ensure producers are not compensated twice for the same costs, payments under AgriRecovery for extraordinary costs that are eligible under AgriStability will be included as eligible income in the program year for AgriStability purposes.

Assessment Process and Criteria

The AgriRecovery Assessment Processconsists of two-stages to evaluate a disaster event and its impacts on agricultural producers against the Framework’s criteria:

Preliminary Assessment Criteria:

The disaster event must:

  • Not be a recurring event;
    • A recurring event is defined as one which AgriRecovery has responded to previously in a province;
    • Potential Exceptions: An event AgriRecovery has responded to previously in a province where either:
      • FPT governments are in the process of completing work to determine if there is an alternative longer-term solution (may respond a second time), or
      • FPT governments have completed the work to determine if there is an alternative long-term solution and it is deemed to be uninsurable or unable to be effectively addressed through existing or new government or private sector programming (may respond again).
  • Be an abnormal event and therefore something that producers could not have foreseen and prepared for; and
  • Result in extraordinary costs to producers, which are costs producers would not normally incur resulting from actions they must take in order to mitigate the impacts and/or resume production as quickly as possible.

If any one of the Preliminary Assessment criteria is not met, the assessment process stops and governments cannot provide assistance through the AgriRecovery Framework. If all three criteria are met, governments can proceed to the Formal Assessment stage.

Formal Assessment Criteria:

The disaster event should:

  • Be a collective experience, affecting a large enough number of producers in a region that it has impacts for the sector in that region;
  • Result in significant negative impacts on affected producers’ capacity to produce or market agricultural product;
  • Result in significant extraordinary costs, meaning extraordinary costs that have a substantial impact on producers’ income and are large enough that it makes sense for governments to help with these costs; and
  • Be beyond producers’ capacity to manage, even with the assistance available through existing programs.

The results of the analysis for the four Formal Assessment Criteria will be taken together to conclude whether or not an AgriRecovery response may be warranted.


Where, based on the findings and conclusions of an assessment, participating governments agree to proceed with an AgriRecovery response, an initiative is then developed to compensate affected producers for up to 70% of the extraordinary costs.

Examples of extraordinary costs covered by previous AgriRecovery initiatives include:

  • Repairing/re-establishing crop and forage land damaged by flooding or drought;
  • Re-establishing fruit trees damaged by a tornado;
  • Cleaning and disinfection of buildings and property;
  • Destruction/replacement of infected plants not covered by the Plant Protection Act to prevent the spread of a disease; and
  • Carrying costs for animals unable to be sold due to quarantine.

Exceptions for Disease and Pest Events with a High Risk of Spread

The AgriRecovery Framework includes provisions which provide greater flexibility to respond to situations where actions must be taken to prevent the spread of a disease or pest.

These provisions include the ability to:

  • Respond where there are relatively few operations affected, but the risk of spread to other operations is high;
  • Respond where a disease or pest event has not yet significantly impacted producers’ ability to produce or market their commodities, but where, if left unchecked, it could have significant impacts; and
  • Respond with a higher level of assistance where it is necessary in order to limit the spread of the disease or pest.

How can I apply to AgriRecovery?

AgriRecovery is not a program. It is a disaster relief framework which defines the principles and criteria under which FPT governments can work together to help agricultural producers recover from the impacts of disaster events.

Once an initiative has been developed under the AgriRecovery Framework, the program details of that initiative, such as the initiative’s terms and conditions and application process, will be made available.

Where can I go for answers to my questions about AgriRecovery and how it may help me recover from a disaster?

Additional information on the FPT AgriRecovery Framework, including information and links to current AgriRecovery initiatives, can be found on AAFC’s website. Information can also be obtained by contacting the Department at 1-855-773-0241.

Annex – AgriRecovery Assessment Flow Chart

Description of this image follows
Description – AgriRecovery Assessment Flow Chart

Preliminary Assessment Questions:

  1. Is this event considered to not be a Recurring Event?
  2. Is this an Abnormal Event?
  3. Are there Extraordinary Costs necessary for recovery?

If any one of the Preliminary Assessment criteria is not met, the assessment process stops and governments cannot provide assistance through the AgriRecovery Framework. If all three criteria are met, governments can proceed to the Formal Assessment stage.

Formal Assessment Measures:

  1. Is it a Collective Experience?
  2. Are there Significant Negative Impacts?
  3. What are the Extraordinary Costs associated with recovery and are they significant?
  4. Capacity to Manage: With the help of existing programs, are Extraordinary Costs beyond the capacity of producers to manage?

The results of the analysis for the four Formal Assessment Criteria will be taken together to conclude whether or not an AgriRecovery response may be warranted.

Alternative Formats

Help with Alternative Formats

A Guide to AgriRecovery (PDF Version, 709  KB)
Date modified:

Guide sur Agri-relance

Cadre fédéral-provincial-territorial d’aide en cas de catastrophe

Qu’est-ce qu’Agri-relance?

Agri-relance est un cadre d’aide en cas de catastrophe qui s’inscrit dans une série de programmes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux (FPT) de gestion des risques de l’entreprise (GRE) en vertu de Cultivons l’avenir 2. Conjointement avec les programmes de base de GRE, son but est d’aider les producteurs agricoles à se remettre des catastrophes naturelles.

Agri-relance n’est pas un programme, c’est un cadre qui facilite la collaboration entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux pour évaluer les répercussions des catastrophes sur les producteurs agricoles et d’y réagir par des initiatives conjointes lorsqu’ils ont besoin d’aide au-delà de ce qui leur est offert par les programmes existants.

Objectif

L’objectif des initiatives mises en œuvre en vertu du cadre Agri-relance est d’aider les producteurs agricoles du Canada à se remettre en leur accordant une aide financière pour compenser les coûts exceptionnels nécessaires à la reprise de leurs activités.

Les coûts exceptionnels sont ceux que les producteurs ne subissent pas en temps normal, mais qui sont indispensables :

  • pour atténuer les répercussions de la catastrophe;
  • pour reprendre les opérations agricoles le plus rapidement possible après une catastrophe.

Agri-relance ne couvre pas les baisses de production ou de revenu, notamment celles qui résultent de catastrophes. Les programmes de base de GRE disponibles pour aider les producteurs à confronter les baisses de production ou de revenu sont : Agri-Protection, Agri-Stabilité et Agri-Investissement.

Quel est le rôle des programmes actuels lors de catastrophes et en quoi cela touche-t-il le processus d’Agri-relance?

Agri-relance n’est pas la première ni la seule source d’aide en cas de catastrophe. Lorsqu’un producteur a besoin d’aide au-delà de ce qu’offrent les programmes de base de GRE, Agri-relance est censé s’associer à ces programmes pour aider les producteurs à rétablir leurs opérations.

C’est la raison pour laquelle on tient compte de l’aide offerte par les programmes de base de GRE, ainsi que des autres programmes d’aide existants au moment de déterminer si oui ou non une intervention sous Agri-relance est justifiée. En outre, les initiatives élaborées en vertu d’Agri-relance doivent compléter plutôt que remplacer ou reproduire l’aide accessible par le biais d’autres programmes.

Étant donné que les programmes de base de GRE sont la principale source d’aide en cas de catastrophe, il est vivement conseillé aux producteurs agricoles de se prévaloir de ces programmes.

Les trois programmes de base de GRE sont :

  • Agri-protection est un programme d’assurance dont le but est d’aider les producteurs qui essuient des pertes de production à cause de risques admissibles, notamment des pertes sérieuses résultant de catastrophes;
  • Agri-stabilité est un programme fondé sur les marges qui vient en aide aux producteurs quand ils subissent une baisse importante de revenus ou une hausse importante des dépenses agricoles (marge) résultant de situations comme la faiblesse des prix, la hausse des coûts de production, et les pertes de production; des avances (paiements provisoires) sont accordées en vertu du programme pour améliorer le flux de trésorerie;
  • Agri-investissement est un programme fondé sur un compte d’épargne en vertu duquel les dépôts des producteurs donnent droit à des contributions de contrepartie des gouvernements; l’argent dans les comptes est là pour contrebalancer les faibles pertes, pour combler une partie des besoins de liquidités ou pour appuyer des investissements dans le but d'atténuer les risques à la ferme;

En outre, le Programme de paiements anticipés est un programme fédéral de garantie d’emprunt qui vise à aider les producteurs à s’acquitter de leurs obligations financières grâce à une amélioration de leur flux de trésorerie et à de meilleures occasions d’écouler leurs produits agricoles sur le marché. Des prêts allant jusqu’à 400 000 $ sont consentis dans le cadre du programme. Le gouvernement fédéral paie l’intérêt sur la première tranche de 100 000 $ avancée.

Il existe d’autres programmes gouvernementaux qui peuvent apporter une aide aux producteurs confrontés à une catastrophe. Par exemple, en cas de catastrophe attribuable à une maladie ou à un ravageur, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) peut accorder une indemnisation en vertu de la Loi sur la santé des animaux ou de la Loi sur la protection des végétaux. Une aide peut également être disponible pour faciliter la relance par le biais des programmes provinciaux d’aide en cas de catastrophe, qui peuvent être partiellement financés par les Accords d’aide financière en cas de catastrophe de Sécurité publique Canada.

Quels types de catastrophes donnent droit à une aide en vertu d’Agri-relance?

Les catastrophes naturelles comme :

  • une maladie (p. ex. tuberculose bovine, galle verruqueuse de la pomme de terre);
  • une infestation de ravageurs (p. ex. nématode à kyste de la pomme de terre, sauterelle);
  • des phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes (p. ex. sécheresse, inondation, tornade); et/ou
  • la contamination du milieu naturel (p. ex. un accident chimique).

Quels types d’évènement ne sont pas admissibles?

Parmi les catastrophes qui ne donnent pas droit à l’aide du cadre Agri-relance, mentionnons :

  • les catastrophes pour lesquelles les producteurs n’ont pas à assumer de coûts exceptionnels pour rétablir leurs opérations;
  • les catastrophes qui peuvent être gérées de manière efficace grâce à l’aide des programmes existants;
  • les tendances cycliques du marché qui entraînent des pertes de revenu;
  • les tendances du marché à long terme;
  • la destruction des biens d’un particulier sans que cela ait d’incidence sur le secteur;
  • la résiliation d’un contrat ou une baisse de la valeur du marché sans rapport avec une catastrophe;
  • les sanctions commerciales qui n’ont pas de rapport direct avec une maladie ou une infestation de ravageurs;
  • les situations dictées par le marché (p. ex. la fermeture d’une usine de transformation dans un secteur); et/ou
  • les événements récurrents auxquels il est possible de remédier à plus long terme en modifiant les programmes existants de GRE (p. ex. les modifications des régimes d’assurance), d’autres instruments d’aide fédéraux ou provinciaux ou les outils de gestion des risques du secteur privé.

Comment fonctionne Agri-relance?

Le cadre Agri-relance est un processus qui permet aux gouvernements FPT de réagir conjointement face aux catastrophes qui affectent les producteurs agricoles du Canada.

Le processus Agri-relance comporte un certain nombre d’étapes bien définies, notamment :

  • Étape 1 – Demande d’évaluation : Demande d’évaluation d’une catastrophe en vertu du cadre Agri-relance pour déterminer si une intervention est justifiée. Les demandes sont généralement présentées par une province ou un territoire au gouvernement fédéral car les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux sont en général plus proches du lieu de la catastrophe, de ses effets et des producteurs touchés.

  • Étape 2 – Évaluation : On procède à une évaluation conjointe pour :
    • examiner la catastrophe et ses conséquences;
    • déterminer si les producteurs doivent engager des coûts exceptionnels pour se rétablir;
    • mesurer la capacité des programmes actuels à stimuler la reprise des activités des producteurs.
    À cette fin, il faut respecter un certain nombre de critères essentiels. Ceux-ci sont décrits dans la section qui suit et sont illustrés dans le diagramme du processus Agri-relance.

    Au cours du processus d’évaluation, les gouvernements peuvent tenir des consultations avec les producteurs et/ou les associations sectorielles pour mieux comprendre la catastrophe, ses répercussions et les besoins des producteurs touchés pour ce qui est de la relance.

  • Étape 3 – Décision et pouvoirs : Les résultats et les conclusions de l’évaluation sont le fondement sur lequel les gouvernements FPT se basent pour décider de mettre en œuvre ou non une initiative sous Agri-relance.

  • Étape 4 – Entente sur les détails techniques : Les gouvernements participants mettent la dernière touche aux détails techniques de l’initiative. Ces détails sont généralement énoncés dans l’entente de financement entre les gouvernements.

    Les initiatives Agri-relance sont en général des programmes conjoints qui sont administrés par un gouvernement provincial ou territorial ou par un agent d’exécution. Les initiatives sont habituellement des initiatives à frais partagés dans une proportion de 60/40 entre le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements provinciaux/territoriaux.

  • Étape 5 – Lancement de l’initiative : L’initiative est annoncée ou les producteurs ciblés sont avisés et les documents sur le programme sont mis à leur disposition (p. ex. les modalités de l’initiative, les formulaires d’application).

  • Étape 6 – Paiements : On procède au traitement des demandes présentées et on verse les paiements d’Agri-relance.

Étant donné que l’aide en vertu du cadre Agri-relance est accordée par le biais d’initiatives individuelles propres à chaque catastrophe, chaque initiative a son propre nom (p. ex. l’Initiative Canada-Nouvelle-Écosse 2013 d’aide à l’industrie de la fraise).

Quels sont les principaux paramètres qui entrent en jeu dans l’évaluation des catastrophes et la conception des initiatives en vertu d’Agri-relance?

Les gouvernements FPT se sont entendus sur un ensemble de principes et de critères afin d’orienter l’évaluation des catastrophes et le développement des initiatives en vertu d’Agri-relance. Étant donné que chaque catastrophe est évaluée au cas par cas, les situations propres à chaque catastrophe aboutiront à différents types et niveaux d’aide.

Principes

  • évaluer individuellement chaque intervention;
  • compléter, mais ne pas remplacer l’aide accessible par l’entremise des programmes de base de GRE, d’autres programmes publics ou des outils du secteur privé;
  • tenir compte de la situation financière des producteurs touchés pour déterminer l’aide en cas de catastrophe dont ils ont besoin;
  • concevoir des initiatives qui n’ont pas pour effet de placer les producteurs en meilleure situation financière que si la catastrophe ne s’était pas produite;
  • s’assurer que les producteurs prennent en charge une partie des coûts et ne sont pas indemnisés deux fois au titre des mêmes coûts;
  • encourager des mesures d’atténuation.

Pour éviter que les producteurs ne soient indemnisés deux fois au titre des mêmes coûts, les paiements versés par Agri-relance pour des coûts exceptionnels admissibles sous Agri-stabilité seront considérés comme un revenu admissible pour l’année de programme aux fins d’Agri-stabilité.

Processus et critères d’évaluation

Le processus d’évaluation d’Agri-relance comporte deux étapes (l’évaluation préliminaire et l’évaluation officielle) pour déterminer la portée de la catastrophe et ses répercussions sur les producteurs agricoles par rapport aux critères établis :

Critères de l’évaluation préliminaire :

La catastrophe :

  • ne doit pas être un phénomène récurrent
    • On entend par phénomène récurrent un phénomène pour lequel Agri-relance est intervenu au préalable dans une province.
    • Exceptions possibles : un type de catastrophe pour lequel Agri-relance est intervenu au préalable dans une province où :
      • les gouvernements FPT sont en train de terminer les travaux visant à déterminer s’il y a une solution de rechange à long terme (possibilité de deuxième intervention), ou
      • les gouvernements FPT ont terminé les travaux visant à déterminer s’il y a une solution de rechange à long terme et la catastrophe n’est pas réputée assurable ou il est impossible d’y remédier par le biais des programmes actuels ou nouveaux des gouvernements ou du secteur privé (possibilité de deuxième intervention).
  • être un phénomène anormal et par conséquent un phénomène que les producteurs n’auraient pas pu prévoir ou auquel ils n’auraient pas pu se préparer;
  • entraîner des coûts exceptionnels pour les producteurs, c’est-à-dire des coûts que les producteurs n’auraient normalement pas à prendre en charge et associés à des mesures pour atténuer les répercussions et/ou reprendre leurs activités de production le plus vite possible.

Si l’un des critères d’évaluation préliminaires n’est pas respecté, le processus d’évaluation se termine et les gouvernements ne peuvent pas accorder d’aide en vertu du cadre Agri-relance. Si les trois critères sont réunis, les gouvernements peuvent passer à la deuxième étape, l’évaluation officielle.

Critères de l’évaluation officielle :

La catastrophe doit :

  • être une expérience collective, qui affecte un nombre suffisamment important de producteurs pour avoir des répercussions sur le secteur de la région visée;
  • avoir des répercussions négatives importantes sur la capacité des producteurs touchés à produire ou à commercialiser un produit agricole;
  • entraîner des coûts exceptionnels importants, c’est-à-dire des coûts exceptionnels qui affectent sérieusement le revenu des producteurs et sont suffisamment élevés pour justifier que les gouvernements en assument une part;
  • être au-delà de la capacité de gestion des producteurs, malgré l’aide qui leur est accessible grâce aux programmes existants.

Les résultats de l’analyse des quatre critères d’évaluation officielle seront regroupés pour déterminer si oui ou non une intervention sous Agri-relance est justifiée.

Couverture

Lorsque, selon les résultats et les conclusions de l’évaluation, les gouvernements participants conviennent qu’une intervention sous Agri-relance est requise, une initiative est alors élaborée pour indemniser les producteurs touchés jusqu’à concurrence de 70 % des coûts exceptionnels.

À titre d’exemple de coûts exceptionnels couverts par des initiatives Agri-relance préalables, mentionnons :

  • les frais de remise en état ou de rétablissement des terres cultivables et fourragères endommagées par une inondation ou une sécheresse;
  • les frais de rétablissement des arbres fruitiers endommagés par une tornade;
  • le nettoyage et la désinfection de bâtiments et d’équipements;
  • la destruction/le remplacement des plants contaminés non couverts par la Loi sur la protection des végétaux afin d’empêcher la propagation d’une maladie;
  • les coûts pour soigner des animaux qui ne peuvent pas être vendus en raison de leur mise en quarantaine.

Exceptions au titre des maladies et des infestations de ravageurs qui présentent de forts risques de propagation

Le cadre Agri-relance comporte des dispositions qui confèrent une plus grande souplesse pour réagir aux situations où il faut prendre des mesures pour empêcher la propagation d’une maladie ou d’une infestation de ravageurs.

Parmi ces dispositions, mentionnons la capacité à intervenir :

  • dans les situations où un nombre limité d’exploitations est touché, mais où le risque de propagation est élevé;
  • lorsqu’une maladie ou un parasite n’a pas encore affecté de façon significative la capacité des producteurs à produire ou à commercialiser des ressources agricoles, mais pourrait avoir une incidence profonde si aucune mesure n’est prise;
  • par un niveau d’aide plus élevé lorsque cela s’impose pour limiter la propagation de la maladie ou du ravageur.

Comment présenter une demande à Agri-relance?

Agri-relance n’est pas un programme, mais un cadre d’aide en cas de catastrophe qui définit les principes et les critères en vertu desquels les gouvernements FPT peuvent collaborer pour aider les producteurs agricoles à se remettre des conséquences d’une catastrophe.

Dès lors qu’une initiative est élaborée en vertu du cadre Agri-relance, les précisions sur cette initiative, comme les modalités de l’initiative et la procédure de présentation d’une demande, sont publiées.

Où puis-je trouver des réponses à mes questions sur Agri-relance et sur l’aide accordée suite à une catastrophe?

Vous trouverez d’autres renseignements sur le cadre Agri-relance FPT, notamment des renseignements et des hyperliens avec les initiatives Agri-relance en cours sur le site Web d’AAC. Vous pouvez également obtenir des renseignements en vous adressant au ministère au numéro 1-855-773-0241.

Annexe – Diagramme du processus Agri-relance

La description de cette image suit
Description – Diagramme du processus Agri-relance

Questions d’évaluation préliminaires :

  1. S’agit-il d’un phénomène non récurrent?
  2. S’agit-il d’un phénomène anormal?
  3. Faut-il engager des coûts exceptionnels pour la reprise?

Si l’un des critères d’évaluation préliminaires n’est pas respecté, le processus d’évaluation se termine et les gouvernements ne peuvent pas accorder d’aide en vertu du cadre Agri-relance. Si les trois critères sont réunis, les gouvernements peuvent passer à la deuxième étape, l’évaluation officielle.

Mesures d’évaluation officielle :

  1. S’agit-il d’une expérience collective?
  2. Y a-t-il des répercussions négatives importantes?
  3. Quels sont les coûts exceptionnels afférents à la reprise et sont-ils importants?
  4. Capacité de gestion : Avec l’aide des programmes existants, les coûts exceptionnels dépassent-ils la capacité des producteurs à les absorber?

Les résultats de l’analyse des quatre critères d’évaluation officielle seront regroupés pour déterminer si oui ou non une intervention sous Agri-relance est justifiée.


Formats de rechange

Aide sur les formats de rechange

Guide sur Agri-relance (Version PDF, 1053 Ko)
Date de modification: