AgriRecovery

Contact Information

The AgriRecovery Framework is part of a suite of federal-provincial-territorial (FPT) Business Risk Management (BRM) tools under Growing Forward 2. AgriRecovery is an FPT disaster relief framework intended to work together with the core BRM programs to help agricultural producers recover from natural disasters.

The core BRM programs (see side box) are, in part, designed to help producers deal with the income and production losses they experience when disasters occur. AgriRecovery cannot duplicate or replace the assistance provided by these programs.

The focus of AgriRecovery is the extraordinary costs producers must take on to recover from disasters. Extraordinary costs are costs which producers would not incur under normal circumstances, but which are necessary to mitigate the impacts of a disaster and/or resume farming operations as quickly as possible following a disaster. Further, AgriRecovery is intended to respond in situations where producers do not have the capacity to cover the extraordinary costs, even with the assistance available from other programs.

Natural disasters which may be considered under AgriRecovery are those resulting from a disease, pest or weather-related event, such as flooding or a tornado. Events which are cyclical, such as pricing cycles, or part of a long-term trend, such as a change in markets, cannot be considered under AgriRecovery.

AgriRecovery Process

AgriRecovery is not a program but a framework which forms the basis by which federal-provincial-territorial governments can work together when natural disasters occur to assess the impacts and determine whether there is need for an AgriRecovery initiative. When there is need, an initiative is put in place to provide targeted assistance to help with the extraordinary costs of recovery.

The main steps of the process for assessing disasters and developing initiatives under the AgriRecovery Framework include:

  1. A provincial or territorial government requests that an assessment of a disaster event be initiated.
  2. A joint assessment is undertaken by the federal and provincial/territorial governments to examine the impacts of the disaster; determine what actions producers must take in order to mitigate the impacts and/or resume production; assess whether producers are able to undertake the actions necessary for recovery with the assistance available through the core BRM programs; and determine whether further assistance is needed to help producers deal with the extraordinary costs of recovery.
  3. The findings from the assessment form the basis on which FPT governments then decide whether or not to implement an AgriRecovery initiative.
  4. If governments decide to proceed, a joint initiative is developed.
  5. The initiative is launched and program materials are made available (for example, terms and conditions, application forms).
  6. Payments are made to eligible producers.

AgriRecovery initiatives are cost-shared on a 60:40 basis between the federal government and participating provinces or territories.

Initiatives are typically delivered by the participating province/territory, or its delivery agent. However, in some cases initiatives have been delivered by the federal government.

Current Initiatives

2013 Canada-Nova Scotia Strawberry Assistance Initiative (external PDF)

  • Objective: To help Nova Scotia strawberry producers with up to 70% of the costs of pulling and replacing strawberry plants to help manage a virus complex.
  • Administrator: Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture, 902-424-4560
  • Application Deadline: May 1, 2014

Contact Information

For more information about the AgriRecovery Framework, please contact us at 1-855-773-0241.

For information about individual AgriRecovery initiatives, please contact the applicable administrators.

TDD/TTY: 613-773-2600

Initiatives Agri-relance

Coordonnées

Programmes de base de gestion des risques de l'entreprise

Les programmes de base de GRE visent à aider les producteurs à protéger leur revenu et à gérer des risques tels que ceux associés aux catastrophes.

Communiqués - Initiatives Agri-relance

Le cadre Agri-relance fait partie de la série de programmes de gestion des risques de l'entreprise (GRE) offerts par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux (FPT) sous Cultivons l'avenir 2. Agri-relance, un cadre FPT d'aide en cas de catastrophe, est destiné à aider les producteurs à reprendre leurs activités après une catastrophe naturelle, de concert avec les programmes de base de GRE.

Les programmes de base de GRE (voir l'encadré sur le côté) visent, en partie, à aider les producteurs à protéger leur revenu et à gérer des risques tels que ceux associés aux catastrophes naturelles. Agri-relance n'a pas pour objectif de dupliquer ou de remplacer l'aide offerte par ces programmes.

Agri-relance cible les coûts exceptionnels que doivent assumer les producteurs suite à une catastrophe. Les coûts exceptionnels correspondent à des dépenses que les producteurs n'effectueraient pas dans des circonstances normales, mais qui s'avèrent essentielles pour l'atténuation des effets d'une catastrophe ou la reprise des activités agricoles dans les meilleurs délais. Agri-relance a pour objet de répondre seulement aux situations où les producteurs n'ont pas la capacité de gérer ces coûts exceptionnels, une fois l'aide offerte par les autres programmes considérée.

Les catastrophes naturelles attribuables à l'éclosion d'une maladie, à la présence de ravageurs ou à des conditions climatiques, notamment une inondation ou une tornade, sont susceptibles d'être prises en considération dans le cadre d'Agri-relance. Ce dernier ne vise pas les événements cycliques comme les cycles de prix ou les phénomènes liés à une tendance à long terme tel un changement dans les conditions du marché.

Processus d'Agri-relance

Agri-relance n'est pas un programme en soit, mais plutôt un cadre grâce auquel les gouvernements FPT peuvent travailler ensemble lorsqu'une catastrophe naturelle survient pour en évaluer les effets et déterminer s'il y a nécessité de développer une initiative Agri-relance. En cas de besoin, une initiative est mise en place pour intervenir en offrant aux producteurs une aide financière ciblée afin de les aider à payer les coûts exceptionnels associés à la relance de leurs activités.

Voici les principales étapes du processus d'évaluation des catastrophes et d'élaboration d'initiatives sous Agri-relance :

  1. Un gouvernement provincial ou territorial demande l'évaluation d'une catastrophe.
  2. Le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement provincial ou territorial concerné procèdent à une évaluation conjointe de la catastrophe aux fins suivantes : examiner les conséquences de la catastrophe; déterminer ce que doivent faire les producteurs pour atténuer les impacts de la catastrophe ou pour relancer leur production; évaluer si les producteurs sont apte à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour la reprise de la production avec l'aide offerte par les programmes de base de GRE; déterminer si les producteurs ont besoin d'aide supplémentaire pour assumer les coûts extraordinaires associés à la relance.
  3. À partir des résultats de l'évaluation, les gouvernements concernés décident de mettre en œuvre ou non une initiative sous Agri-relance.
  4. Dans l'affirmative, ils élaborent une initiative conjointe.
  5. L'initiative est ensuite lancée, et les documents du programme sont mis à la disposition du public (par exemple les modalités et les formulaires de demande).
  6. Des paiements sont alors versés aux producteurs admissibles.

Le gouvernement fédéral ainsi que les provinces et les territoires concernés se partagent les frais des initiatives sous Agri-relance selon le ratio 60:40.

Une initiative est généralement mise en œuvre par une province ou un territoire, ou par son agent d'administration. Toutefois, dans certains cas, c'est le gouvernement fédéral qui s'en charge.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements dans le Guide du Cadre Agri-relance.

Coordonnées

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le cadre Agri-relance, communiquez avec nous au 1-855-773-0241

Pour plus d’information sur des initiatives spécifiques élaborées sous Agri-relance, communiquez avec les administrateurs concernés.

Date de modification: