AgriInnovation Program

Important Notices

The AgriInnovation Program is a five-year, up to $698 million initiative under the Growing Forward 2 policy framework. Of this, $468 million is available for funding projects based on applications from industry. The remaining funds go towards AAFC-led research, development and knowledge transfer activities, as well as program administration, that complement industry-directed initiatives. The program is designed to accelerate the pace of innovation by supporting research and development activities in agri-innovations and facilitating the demonstration, commercialization and/or adoption of innovative products, technologies, processes, practices and services. The aim is to enhance economic growth, productivity, competitiveness, adaptability and sustainability of the Canadian agriculture, agri-food and agri-based products sector and assist in capturing opportunities for the sector in domestic and international markets.

The AgriInnovation Program, announced under Growing Forward 2, brings together the pre-commercialization and commercialization stages of innovation. It builds on the Agricultural Innovation Program (ending March 31, 2013) which was created to maintain the innovation momentum until additional funding for activities became available under Growing Forward 2, as well as building on the Canadian Agri-Science Clusters initiative which will end on March 31, 2013.

The program will:

  • accelerate the creation, availability, application and transfer of knowledge and technologies to the sector; and
  • increase the successful demonstration, commercialization or adoption of agriculture, agri-food and agri-based innovations.

The Program is a five-year program ending March 31, 2018 and supports the following industry-led streams:

  • Industry-led Research and Development Stream
  • Enabling Commercialization and Adoption Stream

Objectives

Industry-led Research and Development:

The objective of the Industry-led Research and Development Stream is to support pre-commercialization research, development and knowledge transfer leading to innovative agriculture, agri-food and agri-based practices, processes and products. The Stream may provide non-repayable contributions to approved applicants, and/or support in the form of collaborative assistance given by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) research scientists and experts for knowledge transfer.

The Industry-led Research and Development stream provides non-repayable support for two types of projects:

Agri-science cluster: Support aims to mobilize and coordinate a critical mass of scientific expertise in industry, academia and government. The agri-science cluster would be national in scope, industry-led, and address components of the sector’s applied science plan under a single application. Hence, it would address several themes that are priorities to the industry and would request support toward several research activities across the country.

An agri-science cluster may be commodity based, or may be horizontal in nature where it addresses cross-cutting issues that are of interest to more than one commodity.

Agri-Science Project: A single agri-science project or a smaller set of agri-science projects that would be less comprehensive than an agri-science cluster. The scope may be national, regional or local.

Enabling Commercialization and Adoption Stream:

The objective of the Enabling Commercialization and Adoption Stream is to facilitate the pre-commercial demonstration, commercialization and adoption of innovative agri-based products, technologies, processes or services. The funding under this stream is designed to support, and reduce the financial risk associated with, these late-stage activities on the innovation continuum which is defined as the movement of innovation from research and development, through bench-scale testing, piloting, pre-commercial demonstration, to full commercialization.

The Enabling Commercialization and Adoption stream provides repayable contributions to approved industry-led pre-commercial demonstration, commercial or adoption projects. In order to be eligible under this stream, applicants must clearly demonstrate:

  • the innovative aspect of the proposed product, process, technology or service;
  • technical feasibility and readiness for market of the innovation;
  • sufficient evidence from the market to support the need and demand for the innovation;
  • the managerial capability to successfully complete the project; and,
  • the financial capacity to complete the project and to repay the contribution.

Types of projects under the Enabling Commercialization and Adoption Stream:

  • pre-commercial demonstration - projects involving the demonstration of an agri-innovation for which all necessary testing and piloting has been completed and the innovation is within 24 months of market or commercial operation; and
  • commercialization - projects in which agri-innovations will be introduced to the market at the successful completion of the projects.
  • adoption – projects involving the adoption of innovative agricultural, agri-food or agri-based products, technologies, processes or services where recent innovations are adopted and adapted into recipients operations.

Priority will be given to pre-commercial or commercialization projects that include one or more of the following:

  • involve recently proven innovations (within the last 5 years).
  • create or expand export markets.
  • are transformative to the agri-based sector.

Please note it is the responsibility of the applicant to demonstrate in the application proposal the innovative aspect of the proposed project.

Available Funding

The total maximum contribution to an applicant from all streams under the AgriInnovation Program cannot exceed $10 million per year.

Contact Information

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
AgriInnovation Program
1341 Baseline Road
Tower 7, Floor 8, Room 130
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0C5

Email: AIP-PAI@agr.gc.ca
Toll Free Number: 1-877-246-4682
Fax: 1-866-309-4255
TDD/TTY: 613-773-2600


Growing Forward 2
, a federal-provincial-territorial initiative

Date modified:

Programme Agri-innovation

Avis importants

Le Programme Agri-innovation est une initiative de 698 millions de dollars échelonnée sur cinq ans en vertu du cadre stratégique Cultivons l’avenir 2. De cette somme, 468 millions de dollars serviront à financer des projets découlant des demandes de l’industrie. Le solde sera consacré à des activités de recherche, de développement et de transfert de technologie dirigées par AAC, ainsi qu’à l’administration de programmes, activités qui viendront compléter les initiatives de l’industrie. Son but est d’accélérer le rythme de l’innovation en soutenant les activités de recherche et de développement et en facilitant la démonstration, la commercialisation ou l’adoption de produits, de technologies, de procédés, de pratiques ou de services novateurs. Le but est de favoriser la croissance économique, la productivité, la compétitivité, l’adaptabilité et la viabilité du secteur canadien de l’agriculture, de l’agroalimentaire et des produits agro-industriels et d’aider ce secteur à profiter des débouchés commerciaux qui sont offerts sur les marchés intérieur et internationaux.

Annoncé dans le cadre de Cultivons l’avenir 2, le Programme Agri-innovation regroupe les stades de précommercialisation et de commercialisation des innovations. Il s’inspire du Programme d’innovation en agriculture (qui doit prendre fin le 31 mars 2013) et qui a été créé pour maintenir l’impulsion de l’innovation jusqu’à ce que de nouveaux fonds permettant de financer les activités ne soient débloqués en vertu de Cultivons l’avenir 2, et s’inspire également de l’initiative de grappes agroscientifiques canadiennes qui doit prendre fin le 31 mars 2013.

Le programme a pour but :

  • d’accélérer la création, la disponibilité, l’application et la transmission de connaissances et de technologies au secteur;
  • d’accroître les possibilités de démonstration, de commercialisation ou d’adoption d’innovations dans le secteur de l’agriculture, de l’agroalimentaire et des produits agro-industriels.

Le programme en est un de cinq ans qui doit prendre fin le 31 mars 2018 et qui appuie les volets suivants dirigés par l’industrie :

  • Volet de recherche et développement dirigé par l’industrie
  • Volet de Commercialisation et adoption

Objectifs

Volet de recherche et développement dirigé par l’industrie

L’objectif du Volet de recherche et développement dirigé par l’industrie est d’appuyer la recherche et le développement avant la commercialisation et la transmission des connaissances qui aboutit à des pratiques, des processus et des produits de l’agriculture, de l’agroalimentaire et des produits agroindustriels novateurs. Le volet peut verser des contributions non remboursables aux demandeurs agréés et faire appel à des scientifiques et à des experts en recherche d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) pour la transmission de connaissances.

Le Volet de recherche et développement dirigé par l’industrie assure le financement non remboursable de deux types de projets :

Grappe agroscientifique : vise à mobiliser et à coordonner une masse critique d’experts scientifiques dans le secteur, le milieu universitaire et le gouvernement. La grappe agroscientifique est d’ampleur nationale, elle est dirigée par l’industrie et elle porte sur plusieurs composantes du plan des sciences appliquées du secteur en vertu d’une seule demande. Ainsi, elle porte sur plusieurs thèmes prioritaires pour l’industrie et la demande de financement porte sur plusieurs activités de recherche à travers le pays.

Une grappe agroscientifique peut être fondée sur des produits de base ou être de nature horizontale lorsqu’elle porte sur des questions intersectorielles qui présentent de l’intérêt pour plus d’un produit de base.

Projet agroscientifique : un projet agroscientifique unique ou un ensemble plus restreint de projets agroscientifiques qui sont moins détaillés qu’une grappe agroscientifique. L’ampleur peut être nationale, régionale ou locale.

Volet de Commercialisation et adoption

L’objectif du Volet de Commercialisation et adoption est de faciliter la démonstration précommerciale, la commercialisation proprement dite et l’adoption de produits agro-industriels, de technologies, de procédés ou de services novateurs. Le financement accordé en vertu de ce volet vise à soutenir les activités qui constituent les dernières étapes du continuum de l’innovation et à réduire le risque financier connexe. Le continuum de l’innovation se définit comme la dynamique qui va de la recherche et du développement à la commercialisation pleine et entière, en passant par les essais à petite échelle, les essais pilotes et la démonstration précommerciale.

Le volet de Commercialisation et adoption offre des contributions remboursables pour des projets de démonstration précommerciale menés par l’industrie ainsi que pour des projets de commercialisation ou d’adoption lorsque les demandeurs répondent aux critères suivants :

  • aspect novateur du produit, du procédé, de la technologie ou du service proposé;
  • faisabilité technique et état de préparation à la mise sur le marché de l’innovation;
  • données factuelles suffisantes émanant du marché quant au besoin et à la demande à l’égard de l’innovation;
  • capacité administrative de mener le projet à son terme;
  • capacité financière de mener le projet à son terme et de rembourser la contribution.

Types de projets dans le cadre du volet Commercialisation et adoption :

  • démonstration précommerciale – projets de démonstration d’une innovation agricole pour laquelle tous les essais nécessaires ont été réalisés et qui est à 24 mois ou moins d’être mise au marché ou exploitée commercialement;
  • commercialisation – projets qui aboutiront au lancement d’innovations agricoles sur le marché.
  • Adoption – projets d’adoption de produits, technologies, procédés et services agricoles, agroalimentaires ou agro-industriels innovateurs dont les innovations récentes sont adoptées et adaptées aux opérations des bénéficiaires.

La priorité sera accordée aux projets de démonstration précommerciale ou de commercialisation qui répondront à au moins l’un des critères suivants :

  • le projet touche une innovation dont l’efficacité a été récemment démontrée (au cours des cinq dernières années).
  • le projet porte sur la création ou l’élargissement de marchés d’exportation.
  • le projet porte sur une innovation qui contribue à la transformation du secteur.

Veuillez noter que le demandeur est responsable de démontrer l’aspect novateur du projet proposé dans sa proposition de demande.

Financement disponible

La contribution maximale total d’un demandeur provenant de tous les volets du Programme d’Agri-innovation ne peut pas dépasser 10 millions de dollars par an.

Coordonnées

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada
Programme Agri-innovation
1341, chemin Baseline
Tour 7, 8e étage, pièce 130
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0C5

Courriel : AIP-PAI@agr.gc.ca
Sans frais d'interurbain : 1-877-246-4682
Télécopieur : 1-866-309-4255
ATME/ATS : 613-773-2600


Cultivons l'avenir 2
, une initiative fédérale, provinciale et territoriale.

Date de modification: