Evaluation of SuffOil-X (paraffinic oil) for the management of thrips in greenhouse ornamentals

Project Code: BPR12-070

Project Lead

Janice Elmhirst  Elmhirst Diagnostics and Research

Robert Doell  Ag-Quest, Incorporated

Michael Brownbridge Vineland Research and Innovation Centre

Objective

To develop efficacy and crop tolerance data in support of a regulatory submission for SuffOil-X (mineral oil) for the management of thrips in greenhouse ornamentals

Summary of Results

Background

Thrips can cause major damage to many ornamental plants grown in greenhouses. Thrips species commonly found in Canada include Western flower thrips (WFT) (Frankliniella occidentalis), Eastern flower thrip (Frankliniella tritici), European flower thrips (F. intosa), greenhouse thrips (Heliothrips haemorrhoidalis), banded greenhouse thrips (Hercinothrips feoralis) and onion thrips (Thrips tabaci). Two new recent thrips identifications in British Columbia are Echinothrops americanus and Frankliniella intonsa. Thrips simplex are also a pest of gladiolus corms and damage their leaves. However, WFT are the most predominant species found across Canada and are known to be the most difficult of thrips to control. Thrips are currently managed through a variety of conventional insecticides, as well as biological controls in integrated pest management systems, and there is a need for additional tools. At the annual Biopesticides Priority Setting workshop in March 2011, SuffOil-X (mineral oil) was selected as the priority biopesticide solution for the management of thrips in ornamental plants grown in greenhouses.

Approaches

Three efficacy trials were conducted on chrysanthemums in British Columbia, Manitoba and Ontario during 2012. The trials were laid out in a randomized complete block (RCB) design, with 4 replicates of each treatment and 4 plants in each plot. Thrips were introduced to the chrysanthemums once or twice depending on the trial location. Three or four applications were carried out, with assessments made prior to each application, at 3 days after each application and at 7 and 14 days after the last application of SuffOil-X. Assessments were made by hand-tapping/brushing each plant 20 times onto a white paper sheet, and counting the number of adult and nymphs of each species. A commercial standard, Success 480 EC was also tested for comparison.

After thrips were counted, they were returned to their respective plant. Damage severity (thrips feeding scars) was assessed on 5 blooms and 5 leaves per plant at each assessment. Percent damage was assessed by two methods: (i) a direct estimate of area damaged on a scale of 0 to 100 percent (%) and (ii) on a scale of 0 to 5, where 0 equals 0 to 1%, 1 equals 2 to 5%, 2 equals 6 to 10%, 3 equals 11 to 20%, 4 equals 21 to 30%, 5 equals more than 30%. Crop tolerance was assessed on a scale of 0 to 100%.

Results

Results of this project showed that SuffOil-X applied at the rates of 10 and 20 millilitres of product per litre on chrysanthemums provided reduction of thrips populations (nymphs and adults of F. occidentalis and T. tabaci). Results varied across trial locations, with the level of control ranging from 13 to 70% compared to the water check. Results also showed that SuffOil-X performed as well as the commercial standard, Success 480 EC within these trials.

The data generated in this project conducted on chrysanthemum is sufficient to support the use of SuffOil-X in management of thrips in greenhouse raised chrysanthemum.

The Pesticide Risk Reduction program is working through its regulatory support team with the registrant toward the first time registration of this promising product in Canada.

Date modified:

Évaluation de l'efficacité du SuffOil-X (huile paraffinique) contre le thrips dans les cultures en serre de plantes orenementales

Code de projet BPR12-070

Chef de projet

Janice Elmhirst  Elmhirst Diagnostics and Research

Robert Doell  Ag-Quest, Incorporated

Michael Brownbridge Vineland Research and Innovation Centre

Objectif

Produire des données sur l'efficacité du produit et la tolérance des plantes traitées, à l'appui d'une demande d'homologation du SuffOil-X (huile minérale) pour la lutte contre les thrips dans les cultures de plantes ornementales de serre

Sommaire de résultats

Contexte

Les thrips peuvent causer de graves dommages à des nombreuses plantes ornementales cultivées en serre. Les espèces de thrips courantes au Canada comprennent le thrips des petits fruits (Frankliniella occidentalis), le thrips des fleurs (Frankliniella tritici), le F. intonsa, le thrips des serres (Heliothrips haemorrhoidalis), le thrips rayé des serres (Hercinothrips feoralis) et le thrips de l’oignon (Thrips tabaci). L’Echinothrops americanus et le Frankliniella intonsa sont deux espèces de thrips qui ont récemment été découvertes en Colombie Britannique. Le Thrips simplex s’attaque aux cormes de glaïeuls (Gladiolus) et endommage leurs feuilles. Le thrips des petits fruits est toutefois l’espèce de thrips que l’on trouve le plus souvent au Canada et celle qui est la plus difficile à combattre. On combat actuellement les thrips en utilisant divers insecticides classiques, ainsi que des agents de lutte biologique dans le cadre de systèmes de lutte intégrée, mais il faudrait d’autres moyens pour lutter contre ces insectes. Lors de l’Atelier annuel sur l’établissement des priorités en matière de biopesticides tenu en mars 2011, on a retenu le SuffOil-X (huile minérale) comme produit prioritaire pour la lutte contre les thrips dans les cultures de plantes ornementales en serre.

Méthodes

Trois essais sur l’efficacité du SuffOil-X ont été réalisés sur des chrysanthèmes en Colombie Britannique, au Manitoba et en Ontario en 2012. Les essais ont été menés selon un plan en blocs aléatoires complets avec quatre répétitions pour chaque traitement et quatre chrysanthèmes par parcelle. On a placé des thrips sur les chrysanthèmes une ou deux fois selon le lieu de l’essai. Le SuffOil-X a été appliqué trois ou quatre fois, et on a évalué la densité des thrips (dénombrement) et les dommages qu’ils ont causés aux chrysanthèmes avant chaque application et trois, sept et 14 jours après. On a effectué le dénombrement en tapotant ou en brossant chaque chrysanthème 20 fois au dessus d’une feuille de papier blanc, puis en comptant le nombre d’adultes et de larves de chaque espèce. On a également effectué des traitements à l’insecticide commercial de comparaison Success 480 EC.

On a remis les thrips sur leur chrysanthème après les avoir dénombrés. On a évalué la gravité des dommages qu’ils ont causés (cicatrices laissées par leur activité d’alimentation) sur cinq fleurs et cinq feuilles par chrysanthème à chaque évaluation. Les dommages ont été évalués en estimant le pourcentage de la surface endommagée exprimé de deux façons : 1) sur une échelle de 0 à 100 % et 2) sur une échelle de 0 à 5 où 0 égaux 0 à 1 %, 1 égaux 2 à 5 %, 2 égaux 6 à 10 %, 3 égaux 11 à 20 %, 4 égaux 21 à 30 % et 5 égaux plus de 30 %. La tolérance des chrysanthèmes au SuffOil-X a été évaluée sur une échelle de 0 à 100 %.

Résultats

Les essais ont montré que le SuffOil-X appliqué sur des chrysanthèmes aux doses proposées de 10 et de 20 millilitres par litre a réduit les populations de thrips (larves et adultes du F. occidentalis et du T. Tabaci). Les résultats ont varié selon les lieux des essais, la réduction du nombre de thrips variant de 13 à 70 % par rapport aux traitements témoins où de l’eau était appliquée aux chrysanthèmes. Les résultats montrent que le SuffOil-X était aussi efficace que l’insecticide commercial de comparaison Success 480 EC.

Les données obtenues dans le cadre de ce projet sont suffisantes pour appuyer l’utilisation du SuffOil-X afin de combattre les thrips sur les chrysanthèmes cultivés en serre.

L’équipe responsible du soutien en matière de réglementation des pesticides du Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides collabore avec le fabricant du SuffOil-X en vue de la première homologation de ce produit prometteur au Canada.

 

Date de modification: