Use of trap plants as a risk reduction control option for thrips on greenhouses ornamentals

Project Code : MUR06-090

Project Lead

Les Shipp - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Objective

To investigate the use of trap plants treated with and without the application of a pesticide (Spinosad) for control of Western flower thrips (WFT) on potted chrysanthemum

Summary of Results

Western flower thrips (WFT), Frankliniella occidentalis Pergande (Thysanoptera: Thripidae), are a major pest of greenhouse ornamentals. Chemical pesticides are the main control measure used for WFT control on ornamentals and their use impedes the implementation of biological control. Indeed, in potted chrysanthemum production, 68% of all insecticide treatments were for control of WFT. The use of trap plants (i.e. plants more attractive to a pest than the crop) is new in greenhouse production and can be a useful addition to ornamental IPM and risk reduction strategies.

In this project, several aspects that can influence the efficacy of the trap plant strategy were investigated. In choice trials, yellow flowering chrysanthemums were more attractive to adult WFT than gerbera or eggplants. WFT preferred flowering chrysanthemums as compared to vegetative, bud or crack-bud chrysanthemum stages, which means that they can be used as trap plants in chrysanthemum production for almost the whole crop production cycle. Trap plants were most effective to attract dispersing thrips. Thrips that were already on a plant were less likely to move to the trap plants. Thus, it is important to place trap plants in sites where thrips are dispersing or moving around the greenhouse such as vents and doorways or between flowering and non-flowering crops. Large cage greenhouse trials demonstrated that flowering chrysanthemums as trap plants can suppress populations of WFT in a vegetative chrysanthemum crop and reduce crop damage. A commercial trial in potted chrysanthemum showed that trap plants reduced thrips populations under commercial growing practices and natural thrips infestations. Treating the trap plants with a reduced-risk insecticide like spinosad (Success) did not improve their efficacy as compared to replacing the trap plants every week. These findings suggest that thrips stay on the trap plants and do not move back into the crop. Another aspect of the project looked at combining the trap plant strategy with application of biological control agents (the entomopathogenic fungus Beauveria bassiana or the predatory mite Amblyseius swirskii). These experiments were not conclusive, however, and further investigation will be required.

Results of the project indicate that whole greenhouse sprays of insecticides against WFT can potentially be reduced by 85-100% in ornamentals production by employing a trap plant strategy. Elimination of these chemical sprays will enable growers to make use of more biological control agents against other greenhouse pests, resulting in a further reduction in the amount of chemical pest control required to product the crop. Results of this study have been published in the industry magazine "Greenhouse Canada", and in the scientific journal Environmental Entomology.

Date modified:

Utilisation de plantes pièges comme option de lutte à risque réduit contre les thrips dans les serres ornamentales

Code de projet : MUR06-090

Chef de projet

Les Shipp - Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Objectif

Évaluer l'efficacité de plantes pièges traitées ou non avec un pesticide (Spinosad) contre le thrips des petits fruits dans les cultures de chrysanthèmes en pot

Sommaire de résultats

Le thrips des petits fruits (Frankliniella occidentalis Pergande) (Thysanoptera: Thripidae) est un important ravageur des plantes ornementales cultivées en serre. Dans les serres ornementales, la lutte contre ce ravageur repose principalement sur l'utilisation de pesticides chimiques, mais cette stratégie empêche l'introduction de méthodes de lutte biologique. Le thrips des petits fruits était en effet la cible de 68 % de tous les traitements insecticides réalisés par les producteurs de chrysanthèmes en pot. L'utilisation de plantes pièges (c.-à-d. plantes plus attractives pour le ravageur que les plantes cultivées) constitue une nouvelle option de lutte en serriculture ornementale et une précieuse addition aux stratégies existantes de lutte intégrée et de réduction des risques.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous avons étudié plusieurs facteurs qui peuvent influer sur l'efficacité des plantes pièges. Dans des essais avec choix, les chrysanthèmes à fleurs jaunes se sont révélés plus attractifs pour les thrips adultes que les gerberas ou les aubergines. Les chrysanthèmes en fleur ont également été préférés aux chrysanthèmes sans fleurs, en bouton ou en bouton en train d'éclater. Les chrysanthèmes en fleur peuvent donc être utilisés comme plantes pièges pendant presque tout le cycle de production. Les plantes pièges se sont révélées particulièrement attractives pour les thrips en dispersion, les thrips déjà installés sur une plante étant moins portés à se déplacer. Il est donc important de placer les plantes pièges dans des sections de la serre où les thrips se dispersent ou se déplacent activement, comme devant les panneaux de ventilation ou dans les entrées de porte ou encore entre des groupes de plantes en fleur et des groupes de plantes au stade végétatif. Des essais menés en serre dans de grandes cages ont montré que l'utilisation de chrysanthèmes en fleur comme plantes pièges peut entraîner l'élimination des populations de thrips dans les cultures de chrysanthèmes au stade végétatif et ainsi contribuer à réduire les dommages causés aux cultures. Un essai commercial réalisé chez un producteur de chrysanthèmes en pot appliquant des pratiques horticoles commerciales a montré que l'utilisation de plantes pièges permet de réduire les populations de thrips et les infestations naturelles de thrips. La pulvérisation d'un insecticide à risque réduit comme le spinosad (Success) sur les plantes pièges n'a pas donné de meilleurs résultats que le remplacement des plantes pièges chaque semaine. Ces résultats donnent à croire que les thrips demeurent sur les plantes pièges et ne retournent pas sur les plantes cultivées. Nous avons également évalué l'efficacité d'une stratégie alliant l'utilisation de plantes pièges à l'application d'un agent de lutte biologique (le champignon entomopathogène Beauveria bassiana ou l'acarien prédateur Amblyseius swirskii). Ces expériences se sont cependant révélées peu concluantes, et des essais plus poussés devront être entrepris.

Les résultats obtenus dans le cadre de ce projet indiquent que l'utilisation de plantes pièges pourrait permettre de réduire de 85 à 100 % les pulvérisations d'insecticides contre le thrips des petits fruits dans les serres ornementales. Une telle réduction permettrait aux producteurs d'utiliser un plus grand nombre d'agents de lutte biologique contre les autres ravageurs serricoles et d'ainsi réduire encore davantage les quantités de pesticides chimiques requises pour la production des cultures. Les résultats de cette étude ont été publiés dans la revue commerciale Greenhouse Canada et la revue scientifique Environmental Entomology.

Date de modification: