Essential oils formulations for the control of mites, insects, and diseases on greenhouse ornamental and vegetable crops

Project Code : BPI06-120

Project Lead

André Bélanger - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Objective

To optimize and field test terpene formulations for use as broad spectrum control agents against key pests and diseases in tomato, cucumber, green pepper, lettuce and grapes

Summary of Results

Terpenes, like pyrethroids are natural defence components of botanical essential oils. Pure synthetic terpenes are highly effective against a wide range of plant pests and diseases although synergistic mixtures are most effective.

The greenhouse vegetable and ornamental industry is an important growing segment of the Canadian agri-food industry. One of the few insecticides available for use on vegetable crops in greenhouses is the spinosad-based insecticide Success which is effective against Lepidopterans, and thrips, but not against aphids, whiteflies or spider mites. Recently, insecticides based on plant essential oils have been developed in the USA. Plant essential oils have been long been used in perfumes and foods, and are now being used for the development of reduced risk pesticides. Essential oil-based insecticides are considered relatively safe to humans and mixtures of essential oil constituents have been proven to be effective against many insects. EcoTrol EC® is one such broad-spectrum insecticide based on rosemary oil as the active ingredient.

Tests were performed in BC greenhouse vegetable crops (tomato, peppers and cucumber) to examine the effect of a EcoTrol EC® against the greenhouse whitefly (Trialeurodes vaporariorum), green peach aphid (Myzus persicae), two spotted spider mite (Tetranychus urticae) and cabbage looper (Trichoplusia ni) on tomato, pepper and cucumber crops in British Colombia. The efficacy of three concentrations of EcoTrol EC® was compared to a blank formulation of EcoTrol EC®, a water control, and the insecticide, Success. EcoTrol EC® showed some efficacy against aphids and mites on tomato and pepper plants, however, its effect was no better than the spinosad product. Furthermore, when tested against cabbage loopers and whitefly eggs, EcoTrol EC® showed little or no effect whereas Spinosad proved to be efficacious, as expected.

Greenhouse tests were also performed in Québec on ornamental plants against the greenhouse whitefly and green peach aphid on Petunia, the two spotted spider mite on New Guinea impatiens and hibiscus, and on two species of thrips, Frankliniella occidentalis Pergande on chrysanthemum and Echinothrips americanus Morgan on hibiscus. As in the case of the BC studies, the three concentrations of EcoTrol EC® showed some efficacy against aphids and mites, however, its effect was not greater than that of Spinosad. Furthermore, there was no significant difference among treatments on the egg development of the greenhouse whitefly. EcoTrol EC® showed little or no effect whereas Spinosad proved to be effective. The effect of the treatments on nymphs and adults of the two-spotted mite on New Guinea impatiens plants varied among trials and are not significant. On hibiscus plants, it was observed that among all the treatments on the two-spotted mite, the highest concentration of EcoTrol EC® (10ml/L) provided the highest mortality 48 and 96h after the treatments. The two most effective treatments to reduce the abundance of the Western flower thrips were Spinosad and EcoTrol EC® at a dose of 10ml/L.

In conclusion, EcoTrol EC® was found to be somewhat effective against aphids and mites on tomato and pepper plants, and on some ornamentals, although some phytotoxic effects were observed at the highest rate of EcoTrol EC® on chrysanthemums. No efficacy against cabbage loopers and whiteflies was demonstrated by these trials.

Date modified:

Préparation d'huiles essentielles pour la lutte contre les acariens, les insectes et les maladies dans les serres ornementales et les cultures de légumes

Code de projet : BPI06-120

Chef de projet

André Bélanger - Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.

Objectif

Optimiser et mettre à l'essai au champ des formulations de terpènes comme agents de lutte à large spectre contre les principaux ravageurs et maladies de la tomate, du concombre, du poivron vert, de la laitue et du raisin.

Sommaire de résultats

Les terpènes, comme les pyréthroïdes, sont des composés des huiles essentielles que les plantes fabriquent naturellement pour se défendre. Les terpènes synthétiques purs sont hautement efficaces contre un grand éventail de ravageurs et de maladies des végétaux, bien que les mélanges synergiques soient très efficaces.

Le secteur des plantes ornementales et des légumes de serre est un segment important, et en croissance, de l'industrie agroalimentaire canadienne. L'insecticide Success, à base de spinosad, qui est efficace contre les lépidoptères et les thrips, mais non contre les pucerons, les aleurodes et les tétranyques, est l'un des rares insecticides existant pour les légumes de serre. Des insecticides à base d'huiles essentielles ont récemment été créés aux États-Unis. Les huiles essentielles sont depuis longtemps utilisées dans les parfums et les aliments, et servent maintenant à la création de pesticides à risques réduits. Les insecticides à base d'huiles essentielles sont considérés comme relativement sécuritaires pour l'être humain et les mélanges de constituants d'huiles essentielles se sont révélés efficaces contre de nombreux insectes. EcoTrol EC® est l'un de ces insecticides à large spectre, dont l'ingrédient actif est l'huile de romarin.

Des essais visant à examiner l'effet d'EcoTrol EC® contre la mouche blanche des serres (Trialeurodes vaporariorum), le puceron vert du pêcher (Myzus persicae), le tétranyque à deux points (Tetranychus urticae) et la fausse-arpenteuse du chou (Trichoplusia ni) sur la tomate, le poivron et le concombre ont été effectués dans des serres de Colombie-Britannique. L'efficacité de trois concentrations d'EcoTrol EC® a été comparée à celle d'une formulation sans ingrédient actif d'EcoTrol EC®, d'un témoin aqueux et de l'insecticide Success. EcoTrol EC® a fait preuve d'une certaine efficacité contre les pucerons et les tétranyques sur les plants de tomate et de poivron, mais son effet n'a pas été meilleur que celui du produit à base de spinosad. De plus, mis à l'essai contre la fausse-arpenteuse du chou et les oeufs d'aleurodes, EcoTrol EC® n'a pas eu d'effet, où très peu, alors que spinosad s'est révélé efficace, tel qu'il a été prévu.

Des essais en serre ont aussi été réalisés au Québec sur des plantes ornementales, contre la mouche blanche des serres et le puceron vert du pêcher sur les pétunias, le tétranyque à deux points sur les hibiscus et les impatiens de Nouvelle-Guinée, et deux espèces de thrips, Frankliniella occidentalis, Pergande sur les chrysanthèmes et Echinothrips americanus Morgan sur les hibiscus. Comme dans le cas des études de Colombie-Britannique, les trois concentrations d'EcoTrol EC® ont été quelque peu efficaces contre les pucerons et les tétranyques, mais leur effet n'a pas été supérieur à celui de spinosad. De plus, il n'y a pas eu de différences significatives entre le développement des oeufs de la mouche blanche des serres selon le traitement. EcoTrol EC® n'a pas eu d'effet, ou en a eu peu, alors que spinosad s'est avéré efficace. Les effets du traitement sur les nymphes et les adultes des tétranyques à deux points sur les plants d'impatiens de Nouvelle-Guinée ont varié selon les essais et n'étaient pas significatifs. Sur les plants d'hibiscus, on a constaté que, parmi tous les traitements pour le tétranyque à deux points, la plus forte concentration d'EcoTrol EC® (10 ml/L) a entraîné la plus forte mortalité 48 heures et 96 heures après les traitements.

Les deux traitements les plus efficaces pour réduire l'abondance des thrips des petits fruits ont été spinosad et EcoTrol EC® à une dose de 10 ml/L.

En conclusion, EcoTrol EC® s'est avéré un peu efficace contre les pucerons et les tétranyques sur les plants de tomate et de poivron, et sur certaines plantes ornementales, mais certains effets phytotoxiques ont été observés chez les chrysanthèmes lorsque la plus forte concentration a été utilisée. Ces essais n'ont permis de déceler aucune efficacité contre la fausse-arpenteuse du chou et les aleurodes.

Date de modification: