Efficacy trials to demonstrate the performance of Facin on ornamentals in greenhouses

Project BPI06-010

Project Lead

Noubar Bostanian - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.

Objective

To demonstrate the effectiveness of a biopesticide, FacinTM against three key pests of ornamentals in greenhouse production: western flower thrips, fungus gnat larvae, and aphids.

Summary of Results

Background

Traditionally, producers have relied on broad spectrum, conventional pesticides to control greenhouse pests, but resistance to a number of these compounds has developed within pest populations. Newer chemistries provide promising alternative modes of action, but some are persistent and can be harmful to beneficial insects used in greenhouse production systems. The intent of this project was to evaluate the value of the biopesticide FacinTM as a long term, reduced-risk tool for use in integrated management systems for aphids, thrips, and fungus gnats in greenhouse ornamentals.

Approaches

Trials were conducted in St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec from 2006 to 2008, to assess the efficacy of the biopesticide FacinTM in controlling green peach aphids (Myzus persicae) infesting fuchsia or marigold plants in an experimental greenhouse. The spraying schedule was 3 applications at 7-day intervals followed by 2 applications at 14-day intervals, with one of 4 or 5 treatments: 2 different concentrations of FacinTM, industry standard (Marathon II), or negative control(s) (tap water and/or untreated control). Pest populations were evaluated before each application, as well as 24 hrs and 6/7 days following treatment. Due to unforeseen difficulties, data regarding efficacy against thrips and fungus gnats could not be provided in the project.

Results

Results from the first year of the study on aphids were inconclusive. In the second year, there was a significant decrease in aphid populations in the FacinTM-treated groups when compared with the untreated check at 24h and six days after treatment. However, two treatments of FacinTM six days apart were required to reduce aphid counts to be almost on par with the industry standard, Marathon II. In addition, relatively high levels of bud infestation were still observed after two FacinTM treatments; these levels may be unacceptable for commercial growers, but perhaps suitable for home and garden users. This project did not provide the results which were hoped for, and the likelihood of submissions for registration of this active ingredient in Canada is uncertain at this time.

Date modified:

Essais d’efficacité pour démontrer le rendement du biopesticide Facin sur les plantes ornementales cultivées en serre

Code de projet BPI06-010

Chef de projet

Noubar Bostanian - Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Objectif

Démontrer l'efficacité du biopesticide FacinMC contre trois principaux ravageurs des plantes ornementales de serre, soit les thrips des petits fruits, les larves de sciarides et les pucerons

Sommaire des résultats

Contexte

Traditionnellement, les producteurs ont eu recours à des pesticides classiques à large spectre pour lutter contre les insectes nuisibles dans les serres, mais au fil du temps, les populations d'insectes nuisibles ont acquis une résistance à plusieurs de ces produits. Certains pesticides plus récents offrent des modes d'action de remplacement prometteurs, mais ils sont parfois aussi persistants et peuvent nuire aux insectes utiles dans les systèmes de production de serre. Le but de ce projet était d'évaluer la valeur du biopesticide FacinMC en tant qu'outil à long terme et à risque réduit dans les systèmes de gestion intégrée des pucerons, des thrips et des sciarides qui attaquent les plantes ornementales cultivées en serre.

Méthodes

Les essais ont été menés à St-Jean-sur-Richelieu au Québec, de 2006 à 2008, en vue d'évaluer l'efficacité du biopesticide FacinMC dans la lutte contre le puceron vert du pêcher (Myzus persicae) infestant le fuchsia ou l'œillet d'Inde dans une serre expérimentale. Le calendrier de pulvérisation était le suivant : 3 applications à 7 jours d'intervalle suivi de 2 applications à 14 jours d'intervalle, d'un des 4 ou 5 traitements suivants : deux concentrations différentes de FacinMC, un produit de norme industrielle (Marathon II) ou un des deux contrôles négatifs (eau du robinet et/ou contrôle non traité). Les populations de ravageurs ont été évaluées avant chaque application, ainsi que 24 heures et 6/7 jours après le traitement. En raison de difficultés imprévues, les données au sujet de l'efficacité du produit contre les thrips et les sciarides n'ont pas pu être produites.

Résultats

Les résultats de la première année de l'étude sur les pucerons n'ont pas été concluants. Au cours de la deuxième année, il y a eu une diminution importante des populations de pucerons dans le groupe traité avec FacinMC comparativement au contrôle non traité, 24 heures et six jours après le traitement. Cependant, deux traitements de FacinMC à six jours d'intervalle ont été requis pour réduire le nombre de pucerons à un niveau comparable au traitement avec le produit de norme industrielle Marathon II. De plus, des niveaux relativement élevés d'infestation sur les boutons floraux étaient encore observés après deux traitements de FacinMC; ces niveaux sont probablement inacceptables pour les producteurs commerciaux, mais pourraient peut être convenir aux utilisateurs à la maison et dans le potager. Ce projet n'a pas livré les résultats escomptés et la possibilité d'une demande d'homologation de cet ingrédient actif au Canada est incertaine pour le moment.

Date de modification: