Reduced-Risk Strategy for Fire Blight Management

The Canadian Horticultural Council's Apple Working Group identified fire blight as a priority issue to be dealt with through the Pesticide Risk Reduction Program (PRRP).

Initially, funding was provided by the program for a literature search and the writing of a review. The review included information on how the disease is controlled throughout the world along with lists of products registered for the control of fire blight in countries around the world. Following the completion of the literature review in February, 2005, a workgroup was established to develop a strategy to implement reduced risk solutions to the problem.

The actions taken (outlined below) have resulted in growers’ adoption of an integrated fire blight management system, incorporating new tools and a sustainable approach to the use of streptomycin.

Actions taken to meet the goals set by the group include the following:

1. Develop information for growers (fact sheet on the integrated control of the disease, workshops for growers, CD with risk estimation model)

The PRRP funded the writing and production of a fact sheet on the integrated management of fire blight in Canada, which was published in December 2005 and distributed to provincial apple grower associations for distribution to apple growers across the country. An electronic version of the fact sheet is available here for download.                                                                                      

Fact Sheet - Integrated management of fire blight

An electronic version of the fire blight daily risk estimation model for blossom blight developed by Dr. Tim Smith (Washington State University) was developed. This model and other information developed through the fire blight strategy was published and distributed to provincial grower associations. The spreadsheet and instructions are also available for download here.                                     

Fire Blight Daily Risk Estimation Model for Blossom Blight

Funding was provided by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada for the facilitation of workshops held across the country on the integrated control of fire blight in Canada. These workshops were based on the developed fact sheet and involved invited guest speakers with expertise in the control of the disease.

2. Encourage the registration of biological controls in Canada 

Letters of support were written by the Canadian Horticultural Council's Apple Working Group and the Pesticide Risk Reduction Program to encourage biopesticide companies to register their products in Canada. In addition, the PRRP and Health Canada’s PMRA provided regulatory support for the registration of a number of these reduced risk products. As a result of these efforts, the toolbox of disease management options has expanded from just two products in 2003 (copper salts, and streptomycin) to eight products registered for use in fire blight management as of 2012, including five biopesticides: Bloomtime, BlightBan C9-1, Serenade, BlightBan A506, BlossomProtect.

3. Prolong the registration of streptomycin

The registration of streptomycin was a concern for the group, as the product had only a temporary registration from year to year. As a result of the establishment of an integrated management plan for fire blight in Canadian orchards, and reduced reliance on streptomycin, and thus lower likelihood of resistance of the fire blight pathogen arising, the antibiotic was granted a full registration.

Date modified:

Stratégie de lutte à risque réduit contre le feu bactérien

Le Groupe de travail sur la pomme du Conseil canadien de l'horticulture a déterminé que le feu bactérien constituait une priorité nationale dans le cadre du Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides (PRRP).

Au début, des fonds du programme ont été consacrés au dépouillement de la documentation et à la rédaction d'un rapport d'analyse. Le rapport contenait de l'information sur les méthodes de lutte, ainsi que des listes des produits homologués pour combattre le feu bactérien dans le monde. À la suite de l’analyse documentaire, qui a pris fin en février 2005, un groupe de travail a été créé et chargé d'élaborer une stratégie pour mettre en œuvre des solutions à risque réduit.

Les mesures prises (décrites ci-dessous) ont incité les producteurs à adopter un système de lutte intégrée contre le feu bactérien, comprenant de nouveaux outils et une approche durable à l’égard de l’utilisation de la streptomycine.

Voici des mesures prises pour atteindre les objectifs fixés par le groupe :

1. Production de renseignements à l'intention des producteurs (fiche technique sur la lutte intégrée contre la maladie, ateliers à l'intention des producteurs, CD contenant un modèle d'estimation du risque)

Le PRRP a financé la rédaction et la production d'une fiche de renseignements sur la lutte intégrée contre le feu bactérien au Canada. La fiche de renseignements a été publiée en décembre 2005 et distribuée aux associations de pomiculteurs provinciales afin qu'elles la distribuent aux producteurs de pommes du pays. Il est également possible de télécharger ici une version électronique de la fiche de renseignements.

Fiche de renseignements - Lutte intégrée contre le feu bactérien

Une version électronique du modèle d'estimation du risque quotidien de feu bactérien pour la brûlure des fleurs, mis au point par Tim Smith Ph.D. (Washington State University), a été élaborée. Le modèle, ainsi que d'autres données produites tout au long de la stratégie de lutte contre le feu bactérien, a été publié et distribué aux associations provinciales de producteurs. Il est également possible de télécharger ici le tableur et les instructions.

Modèle d'évaluation des risques quotidiens de feu bactérien pour la brûlure des fleurs

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada a versé un financement en vue de faciliter la tenue d'ateliers partout au pays sur la lutte intégrée contre le feu bactérien au Canada. Ces ateliers reposent sur la fiche de renseignements et sur la participation de conférenciers, experts de la lutte contre cette maladie.

2. Encourager l'homologation d'agents de lutte biologique au Canada

Le Groupe de travail sur la pomme du Conseil canadien de l'horticulture et les responsables du Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides ont écrit aux sociétés de production de biopesticides pour les encourager à homologuer leurs produits au Canada. De plus, les responsables du PRRP et de l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) se sont prononcés en faveur de l’homologation d’un certain nombre de produits à risque réduit. Grâce à ces efforts, la trousse des options de lutte contre la maladie qui comptait à peine deux produits en 2003 (sels de cuivre et streptomycine) est passée à huit produits homologués pour lutter contre le feu bactérien en 2012, dont cinq biopesticides : Bloomtime, BlightBan C9-1, Serenade, BlightBan A506, BlossomProtect.

3. Prolonger l'homologation de la streptomycine

La situation concernant l'homologation de la streptomycine préoccupait le groupe, car ce produit n'était visé que par une homologation provisoire renouvelable d'année en année. En raison de l’établissement d’un plan de lutte intégrée contre le feu bactérien dans les vergers canadiens et d’une utilisation réduit de streptomycine et par conséquent, d’une plus faible probabilité de résistance de l’agent pathogène du feu bactérien, l’antibiotique a obtenu une pleine homologation.

 

Date de modification: