Formulation of Clonostachys rosea biocontrol agent for efficacy against fusarium disease in wheat and soybean

Project Code BPI09-050

Project lead

Gordon Genge - ICUS Canada

Objectives

To produce a basic formulation of C. rosea strain ACM941 for 2009 field testing against Fusarium Head Blight in wheat and root rot in soybeans; and produce and deliver five refined prototype commercial formulations of the same biocontrol organism for evaluation in greenhouse and field crops

Summary of Results

Background

Fusarium head blight (FHB), caused by Gibberella zeae(syn. Fusarium graminearum), is one of the most important wheat diseases in Canada. The infection of wheat by the pathogen results in grain yield loss, quality reduction, and kernel contamination with deoxynivalenol (DON) and other mycotoxins. Current management of this disease relies on fungicides in most wheat production areas. Multiple fungicide applications have increased the economic cost to growers and public concerns regarding pesticide risks and pathogen resistance to fungicides. Clonostachys rosea ACM941 is a mycoparasite biopesticide developed by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada scientist Dr Allen Xue, and its efficacy for the control of Fusarium head blight has been demonstrated in several greenhouse and field trials supported by the Pest Management Centre (PMC; Project codes BPI07-110, BPI08-020, BPI09-040 and BPI09-070). In addition, preliminary laboratory and greenhouse experiments also showed that ACM941 significantly suppresses root rot, a major soybean disease caused by members of the Fusarium complex including F. graminearum, F. oxysporum, and F. solani. The aim of this project was to develop various ACM941 formulations and provide different formulation prototypes for subsequent efficacy trials assessing the control of FHB in wheat and root rot in soybean. The efficacy trials will help identify an appropriate formulation for commercialization.

Approaches

To formulate Clonostachys rosea ACM941, ICUS developed a commercial production and formulation system. The ACM941 commercial formulation prototypes, designated as CLO-1, were produced by the facility and made available for a related project assessing the efficacy of the biopesticide against FHB and soybean root rot (BPI10-020).

Results

Five CLO-1 formulation prototypes were prepared by ICUS in collaboration with Cornell University and provided to project BPI10-020 for an evaluation of their efficacy in the control of FHB and soybean root rot. A requirement of the PMC project BP109-050 with ICUS was the development of a commercial production and formulation system for Clonostachys rosea strain ACM941. ICUS invested approximately $1.5 million to build a commercial production facility for agricultural microbial fermentation in a leased facility in Mount Pearl, Newfoundland.

ICUS prepared formulations for the project using a modified version of a bench top system developed at Cornell University. ICUS is presently developing a more efficient commercial system where a 270 litre pilot scale fermentation vessel will be modified for the production of ACM941 using a liquid to semi-solid fermentation process. Formulating procedures developed as part of this PMC project with ICUS were transferred to ICUS by Dr. Gary Harman at Cornell University so that both production and formulation can be tested at pilot scale in the commercial plant in 2011/2012. ICUS has a 3000 litre vessel on site for the commercial production of the biopesticide CLO-1 in the future.

The five prototype formulations have been tested against FHB in wheat in project BPI10-020. All prototypes showed significant efficacy for the control of FHB and a reasonable shelf life at 4°C. Among them prototype 3 was numerically superior to the others, reducing the area under the disease progress curve by 82.9%, infected spikelet by 81.9% and Fusarium-damaged kernels by 72.7%; and increasing wheat yield by 55.7% and thousand kernel weight by 26.0% (see BPI10-020 web summary for more details).

The commercial production and formulation system, along with efficacy and other data, will enable the company to register and sell a final commercial formulation of CLO-1.

Next steps

ICUS plans to complete pilot scale-up of the production and formulation system by October 2012 and then transfer to full scale commercial production so that the company will start commercial production in 2013 to meet the demand for the 2014 growing season.

The 3000 litre vessel is expected to be installed by the middle of 2013 in preparation for the commercial introduction of CLO-1. The 270 litre scale-up vessel will then be used as a seed fermenter for the 3000 litre production system.

In 2011, ICUS worked with Centre de recherche sur les grains French only in Quebec on a project submission for new trials with commercial growers in the province, to build market acceptance prior to commercial introduction of the registered product in 2014. In addition, ICUS continues to work with Dr. Allen Xue on efforts to the same end in Ontario.

Date modified:

Formulation de l'agent de lutte biologique Clonostachys rosea pour combattre efficacement les maladies causées par le fusarium dans le blé et le soja

Code de projet BPI09-050

Chef de projet

Gordon Genge - ICUS Canada

Objectif

Produire une structure (formule) de base a partir de la souche ACM941 de C. rosea pour un contrôle de Fusarium d’épis de blé et de la pourriture racinaire de soya in situ en 2009, produire et rendre disponible cinq prototypes commerciaux contenant ce même organisme afin d’évaluer leur efficacité sur les cultures en serre et en plein champ

Sommaire de résultats

Contexte

La fusariose causée par Gibberella zeae (syn. Fusarium graminearum) est l’une des plus importantes maladies du blé au Canada. L’infection du blé par l’agent pathogène entraîne des pertes de rendement, une diminution de la qualité de la récolte et la contamination des grains par le désoxynivalénol (DON) et des mycotoxines. La plupart des régions productrices de blé combattent actuellement la maladie au moyen de fongicides dont les nombreuses applications augmentent le coût de production des producteurs et suscitent des préoccupations dans la population, notamment en ce qui concerne les risques liés aux pesticides et la résistance des agents pathogènes aux fongicides. La souche ACM941 de Clonostachys rosea est un biopesticide mycoparasite qui a été développé par Allen Xue, chercheur à Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada. Son efficacité à combattre la fusariose du blé a été démontrée par plusieurs essais en serre et au champ menés par le Centre de la lutte antiparasitaire (CLA; codes de projet BPI07-110, BPI08­020, BPI09-040 et BPI09-070). De plus, des essais préliminaires en laboratoire et en serre ont aussi démontré que la souche ACM941 supprime de manière significative le pourridié des racines, importante maladie du soya causée par diverses espèces de Fusarium comme F. graminearum, F. oxysporum et F. solani. Le présent projet visait à développer diverses formulations à base de la souche ACM941 et à fournir divers prototypes de formulations qui feront l’objet d’essais subséquents sur leur efficacité contre la fusariose du blé et le pourridié des racines du soya. Les essais sur l’efficacité du produit permettront de trouver une formulation susceptible d’être commercialisée.

Approches

Afin de préparer des formulations à base de la souche ACM941 de Clonostachys rosea, la société ICUS a développé un système de production et de formulation commerciales. Elle a élaboré des prototypes de formulations commerciales à base de la souche ACM941, nommés CLO-1, qui seront utilisés dans un projet connexe (BPI10-020) dont l’objectif est d’évaluer l’efficacité du biofongicide contre la fusariose du blé et le pourridié des racines du soya.

Résultats

ICUS, en collaboration avec l’Université Cornell, a élaboré cinq prototypes de formulations du CLO-1 qu’elle a ensuite soumis aux responsables du projet BPI10-020 pour qu’ils en évaluent l’efficacité à lutter contre la fusariose du blé et le pourridié des racines du soya.

Une des exigences du projet BP109-050 du CLA était qu’ICUS développe un système de production et de formulation commerciales d’un biofongicide agricole à base de la souche ACM941 de Clonostachys rosea. La société a investi près de 1,5 million de dollars dans l’aménagement d’une infrastructure de production commerciale du produit par fermentation microbienne sur un site loué à Mount Pearl (Terre-Neuve).

La société ICUS a réalisé les formulations aux fins du projet au moyen d’une version modifiée d’un système de table développé par l’Université Cornell. Elle s’emploie actuellement à développer un système plus efficace de production commerciale de la souche ACM941 au moyen d’une cuve de fermentation de 270 litres à échelle réduite qui fera appel à un processus de fermentation dans un milieu liquide à semi-solide. Gary Harman de l’Université Cornell a transmis à ICUS les procédures de formulation développées dans le cadre de ce projet du CLA afin que les systèmes de production et de formulation soient tous les deux testés à une échelle réduite dans les installations commerciales en 2011-2012. ICUS possède sur place une cuve de 3000 litres pour la production commerciale future du CLO-1.

Le projet BPI10­020 a permis de tester l’efficacité des cinq prototypes de formulations contre la fusariose du blé. Tous les prototypes ont démontré une efficacité significative contre la fusariose du blé et une durée de conservation raisonnable à 4°C. Le prototype 3 a donné des résultats supérieurs aux autres, on a observé notamment une réduction de la surface sous la courbe de la progression de la maladie de 82,9 %, des épillets infectés de 81,9 % et des grains fusariés de 72,7 %, ainsi qu’une augmentation du rendement du blé de 55,7 % et du poids de mille grains de 26,0 % (pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le sommaire du projet BPI10-020 qui est affiché sur le web).

Le système de production et de formulation commerciales ainsi que les données sur l’efficacité recueillies permettront à ICUS de faire homologuer le biofongicide et de commercialiser une formulation finale du CLO-1.

Prochaines étapes

ICUS prévoit avoir finalisé son système de production et de formulation à échelle réduite en octobre 2012. La société passera ensuite à la production commerciale à grande échelle en 2013 afin de répondre à la demande de la campagne agricole de 2014.

La cuve de 3000 litres devrait être installée au milieu de 2013 en prévision de la mise en marché du CLO-1. La cuve de 270 litres à échelle réduite servira alors de fermenteur de semence dans le système de production de 3000 litres.

En 2011, ICUS a collaboré avec le Centre de recherche sur les grains au Québec pour soumettre un projet visant à effectuer de nouveaux essais chez des producteurs commerciaux de la province, afin que le produit homologué soit bien accueilli lors de sa mise en marché en 2014. De plus, ICUS continue de collaborer avec Allen Xue dans la poursuite des mêmes objectifs en Ontario.

Date de modification: