Language selection

Search

Canadian Animal Genetic Resources

Canadian Animal Genetic Resources (CAGR) is a joint initiative of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) and the University of Saskatchewan (U of S), to preserve the genetic diversity of Canadian livestock and poultry breeds, and to develop new techniques to conserve germplasm.

Objectives

To ensure the genetic diversity of Canadian livestock and poultry, support environmentally friendly livestock and poultry production, and maintain food security, by acquiring, evaluating, and cryopreseving tissue and germplasm (sperm cells and embryos).

Key Mandates

Program Delivery

CAGR relies on donations of germplasm and DNA from the livestock and poultry industries, veterinarians, animal breeders and producers, as well as Canadian universities and conservation agencies. If you wish to participate and contribute to the conservation of Canada’s animal genetic resources, please do not hesitate to contact, Dr. Carl Lessard, (306) 956-7221, or email: carl.lessard@canada.ca. Your support is important and appreciated. Without your support, it will not be possible to preserve our precious Canadian animal resources. Looking forward to hear from you!

Contact Information

Dr. Carl Lessard,
Curator of Canadian Animal Genetic Resources
National Coordinator of Animal Genetic Resources of Canada
Email: carl.lessard@canada.ca
Telephone: 1-306-956-7221

Dr. Anissa Lybaert,
Associate Director of Biodiversity and Collections
Email: anissa.lybaert@canada.ca
Telephone: 1-613-759-1253
TDD/TTY: 613-773-2600

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Programme canadien des ressources génétiques animales

Le Programme canadien des ressources génétiques animales est une initiative conjointe d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) et de l’Université de la Saskatchewan. Il vise à préserver la diversité génétique des races de bétail et de volaille du Canada et à mettre au point de nouvelles techniques pour conserver le matériel génétique.

Objectifs

Assurer la diversité génétique du bétail et de la volaille du Canada, favoriser des méthodes de production écologiques pour le bétail et la volaille et maintenir la sécurité des aliments par l'acquisition, l'évaluation et la cryopréservation de tissus et de matériel génétique génétique (cellules spermatiques et embryons).

Principaux mandats

Prestation de programme

Le PCRGA compte sur les dons de matériel génétique et d'ADN provenant des industries du bétail et de la volaille, des vétérinaires, des sélectionneurs et des producteurs, ainsi que des universités canadiennes et des organismes voués à la conservation. Si vous désirez participer et contribuer à la conservation des ressources génétiques animales du Canada, veuillez communiquer avec Dr. Carl Lessard, au (306) 956-7221 ou par courriel à carl.lessard@canada.ca. Sans votre support, il ne sera pas possible de préserver notre précieuse ressources génétiques animales. Nous attendons votre appel.

Coordonnées

Dr. Carl Lessard
Curator of Canadian Animal Genetic Resources
National Coordinator of Animal Genetic Resources of Canada
Courriel : carl.lessard@canada.ca
Téléphone : 1-306-956-7221

Dr. Anissa Lybaert
Associate Director of Biodiversity and Collections
Courriel : anissa.lybaert@canada.ca
Numéro de téléphone : 1-613-759-1253
ATME/ATS : 613-773-2600

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :
Date de modification :