Management of Fusarium diseases in field crops with a new biopesticide

Project Code BPI10-020

Project Lead

Allen Xue - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Objectives

To determine optimal application rates and generate regulatory efficacy data with formulated Clonostachys rosea ACM941 for the management of Fusarium Head Blight in wheat and root rots in soybean

Summary of Results

Background

Fusarium head blight (FHB), caused by Gibberella zeae (syn. Fusarium graminearum), is one of the most important wheat diseases in Canada. Infection of wheat by the pathogen results in grain yield loss, quality reduction, and kernel contamination with deoxynivalenol (DON) and other mycotoxins. Current management of this disease relies on fungicides in most wheat production areas. Multiple fungicide applications have increased the economic cost to growers and public concerns over pesticide risks and the development of pathogen resistance. Biocontrol methods represent an alternative to conventional management that can reduce pesticide risks and resistance development.

Clonostachys rosea CLO-1, a biopesticide developed by the Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) scientist Dr Allen Xue, was identified by growers as the biopesticide priority for the control of FHB at the Canadian Biopesticides Priority Setting Workshop in 2009. The effectiveness of this strain for the management of FHB in wheat has been evaluated in previous greenhouse and field trials in several projects supported by the Pest Management Centre (PMC; project codes BPI07-110, BPI08-020, BPI09-040 and BPI09-070). Recently, a commercial experimental formulation designated as CLO-1 was developed under project BPI09-050, in collaboration with the AAFC-PMC, ICUS Canada (a biopesticide company) and Cornell University. The aim of this project was to evaluate the efficacy of this formulated product in controlling FHB under greenhouse and field conditions.

In addition, preliminary laboratory and greenhouse experiments showed that CLO-1 significantly suppresses root rot pathogens such as F. graminearum, F. oxysporum, and F. solani all three in soybean. Therefore, the efficacy of CLO-1 was also tested against Fusarium root rot, a serious soybean disease caused by Fusarium species complex.

Approaches

The current project consisted of 19 trials conducted at the Central Experimental Farm in Ottawa and trial fields in Harrow. These trials included (i) evaluation of five CLO-1 prototypes for their efficacy in greenhouse in comparison with the registered fungicide Folicur® (tebuconazole); (ii) identification of a range of concentrations of CLO-1 for the control of FHB under greenhouse and field conditions; (iii) evaluation of the effects of alternating sprays of CLO-1 with a low rate of Folicur (50% commercial rate) or BM 608 bioagent (i.e. CLO-1-Folicur, BM 608-Folicur, and Folicur-CLO-1) on control of FHB in greenhouse and fields; (iv) evaluation of the effect of wheat cultivars on the efficacy of CLO-1 in controlling FHB using five spring wheat cultivars (AC Brio, AC Foremost, AC Nass, Quantum, and Superb) representing a range of reactions to FHB from highly susceptible to moderately resistant in field trials; and (v) evaluation of the efficacy of CLO-1 in inhibiting perithecial production of G. zeae ß on residues of corn, soybean and wheat compared to Folicur under field conditions.

For all efficacy trials, the biopesticide CLO-1 was applied on plants when 50% of plants were blossoming and efficacy was evaluated against the area under the disease progress curve (AUDPC), percentage of infected spikelet (IS), Fusarium-damaged kernels (FDK), thousand kernel weight (TKW), and yield. In addition, field trials were conducted in Ottawa and Harrow to evaluate the efficacy of CLO-1 seed treatment for the control of soybean root rot caused by artificial inoculation of Fusarium graminearum (Fg), F. oxysporum (Fo), and F. solani (Fs), in comparison with the fungicide Vitaflo-280. In the assessment of CLO-1 control of Fusarium root rot, a field trial was performed to examine the proliferation and population dynamics of CLO-1 on soybean roots after soybean seed treatment.

Results

Comparison of CLO-1 prototype efficacies

All five prototypes effectively controlled FHB, but Prototype-5 also showed a low level of phytotoxicity. There were no statistically significant differences among the 5 prototypes, but prototype-3 was numerically superior to the others, reducing the AUDPC by 82.9%, IS by 81.9% and FDK by 72.7%; and increasing wheat yield by 55.7% and TKW by 26.0%, as compared with the untreated control. These effects were less pronounced than, but not statistically different from those obtained with Folicur treatments. 

Effects of varying concentrations on efficacy

Consistent and significant concentration effects were observed in both greenhouse and field trials. In the greenhouse, CLO-1 at concentrations of 8 × 106 to 1 × 108 cfu/mL significantly reduced the AUDPC by 65.4-83.2%, IS by 6.6-8.9%, FDK by 67.8-91.6% and DON by 51.4-95.1%; and increased yield by 85.7-88.1% and TKW by 47.2-57.6%. Under field conditions, significant effects were observed at or above 3 × 106 cfu/mL. On average, CLO-1 reduced the AUDPC by 25.4-37.1%, FHB index by 30.1-46.3%, FDK by 30.7-38.5%, and DON by 21.6-32.5% at concentrations of 3 × 106 to 1 ×108 cfu/mL. These effects were not significantly different from those obtained with Folicur.

Effects of alternating CLO-1 sprays with a low rate of Folicur on efficacy In greenhouse trials, two CLO-1 applications at a 5-day interval was the most effective treatment, and significantly better than the others at reducing IS. However, alternating treatments (CLO-1-Folicur, BM 608-Folicur, and Folicur-CLO-1) were the most effective treatments for other parameters, thus reducing the AUDPC by 74.4-89.0%, FDK by 79.9-89.0% and DON by 86.7-97.6%; and increasing yield by 76.8- 80.6% and TKW by 53.6-60.6%. Compared with two applications of Folicur, enhanced efficacy was observed with Folicur-CLO-1 and CLO-1-Folicur treatments in reducing the AUDPC, IS and DON.

Effects of wheat cultivars on efficacy of CLO-1

Results indicated that CLO-1 was most effective on the moderately resistant cultivar AC Nass and least effective on the highly susceptible cultivar AC Foremost. On average for the five cultivars, CLO-1 significantly reduced the AUDPC and FHB index by 19.2% and 32.6%, respectively. These effects were better but not significantly different from those of Folicur. Neither CLO-1 nor Folicur significantly reduced FDK or DON in these trials.

Effects of CLO-1 on perithecial production

CLO-1 significantly suppressed daily perithecial production on crop residues, with a reduction in perithecia of 96.6% on corn residue, 98.5% on soybean, and 97.4% on wheat. When CLO-1 was applied on the residues in the previous fall, perithecial production was delayed by 2-3 weeks the next spring compared to untreated residues, and daily perithecial production was reduced by 59.3% on peduncles, 53.2% on spikelets, and 55.7% on stems. These effects of CLO-1 on perithecia production were numerically better but not significantly different from those observed with Folicur.

Efficacy of CLO-1 on the control of Fusarium root rot in soybean

The field trial indicated that CLO-1 can propagate and quickly establish colonization on the surface of hypocotyls and roots as the seed germinates and the seedling plant develops and grows. CLO-1 density was greater on buds than on seeds where the bioagent was applied. During the growing season from July to October, a generally higher density of CLO-1 was observed on secondary roots than on taproots. On the taproots, density was lowest at the beginning of the season, peaked in August, and decreased again in September and October. On the secondary roots, trends were not clear, but density was consistently high over the entire growing season. Although the field trial showed that CLO-1 is a good root surface colonizer, it did not show significant efficacy in the field for the control of Fusarium root rot of soybean caused by Fusarium spp.

Conclusions

Results of this research project indicate that CLO-1 is an effective microbial biocontrol product that can be used for foliar application at concentrations of 5 x 106 to 1 x 10 8 cfu/mL for the control of FHB, or used for the spray treatment of crop residues to inhibit G. zeae perithecial production, thereby reducing the initial inoculum of FHB. It seems that prototype 3 formulated by ICUS provided the best efficacy.

Future work

To validate the efficacy of CLO-1 in controlling FHB in wheat at the on-farm scale, additional field trials may be needed at multiple sites in diverse environments. CLO-1 may exhibit better efficacy in combination with a forecasting model for FHB in wheat or in an Integrated Pest Management (IPM) program. Therefore, further research may be needed to determine how to integrate CLO-1 into an IPM program, or how to apply it based on a forecasting model. In addition, further research is needed to evaluate the efficacy of CLO-1 as a seed treatment for the control of Fusarium root rot and seedling blight of soybean.

Date modified:

Contrôle du Fusarium (brûlure racinaire) avec un nouveau biopesticide

Code de projet BPI10-020

Chef de projet

Allen Xue - Agriculture et Agrioalimentaire Canada

Objectif

Déterminer les doses d'application optimales et produire des données réglementaires sur l'efficacité relativement à une préparation de la souche ACM941 de Clonostachys rosea pour la gestion de la fusariose de l'épi sur le blé et du piétin fusarien sur le soya

Sommaire des résultats

Contexte

La fusariose de l'épi, causée par le champignon Gibberella zeae (syn. Fusarium graminearum), est l'une des maladies les plus importantes du blé au Canada. L'infection du blé par l'agent pathogène entraîne une baisse du rendement grainier, une réduction de la qualité du grain et la contamination des grains par le désoxynivalénol (DON) et autres mycotoxines. À l'heure actuelle, des fongicides sont utilisés contre la fusariose dans la plupart des régions productrices du blé. Les applications répétées de fongicides font toutefois augmenter les coûts de production, l'inquiétude du public à l'égard des risques liés à l'emploi de pesticides et le risque d'acquisition d'une résistance aux fongicides par le pathogène. Les méthodes de lutte biologique constituent donc une solution de rechange aux méthodes de lutte classiques et permettent de réduire les risques liés aux pesticides et à l'apparition de résistance.

Clonostachys rosea CLO-1 est un biopesticide mis au point par Allen Xue, chercheur à Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, auquel les producteurs ont donné la priorité comme biopesticide contre la fusariose de l'épi au cours de l'Atelier sur l'établissement des priorités en matière de biopesticides de 2009. L'efficacité de cette souche contre la fusariose de l'épi sur le blé avait été évaluée lors d'essais antérieurs en serre et au champ, dans le cadre de plusieurs projets appuyés par le Centre de la lutte antiparasitaire (CLA; codes de projet BPI07-110, BPI08-020, BPI09-040 et BPI09-070). Récemment, une préparation expérimentale commerciale nommée « CLO-1 » a été mise au point dans le cadre du projet BPI09-050, en collaboration avec AAC-CLA, ICUS Canada (fabricant de biopesticides) et l'Université Cornell. Le projet visait à évaluer l'efficacité de la préparation contre la fusariose de l'épi sur les plantes cultivées en serre et au champ.

En outre, les premiers essais en laboratoire et en serre ont montré que le CLO-1 éliminait de façon significative les agents de la pourriture fusarienne du soja, comme le F. graminearum, le F. oxysporum et le F. solani. Par conséquent, dans le cadre de ce projet, le CLO-1 a également fait l'objet d'essais quant à son efficacité contre la pourriture fusarienne, importante maladie du soja causée par un complexe d'espèces de Fusarium.

Méthodes

Le projet consistait en 19 essais menés à la Ferme expérimentale centrale, à Ottawa, et dans des champs d'essai situés à Harrow. Ces essais comprenaient (i) l'évaluation de cinq prototypes de CLO-1 quant à leur efficacité en serre, par rapport au fongicide homologué Folicur® (tébuconazole); (ii) la détermination d'une gamme de concentrations de CLO-1 quant à leur efficacité contre la fusariose de l'épi en serre et au champ; (iii) l'évaluation des effets du traitement au CLO-1 combiné à une faible dose de Folicur (50 % de la dose commerciale) ou de l'agent de lutte biologique BM 608 (CLO-1 - Folicur, BM 608 - Folicur et Folicur - CLO-1) contre la fusariose de l'épi en serre et au champ; (iv) l'évaluation de l'effet des cultivars de blé sur l'efficacité du CLO 1 contre la fusariose de l'épi, au moyen de cinq cultivars de blé de printemps ('AC Brio', 'AC Foremost', 'AC Nass', 'Quantum' et 'Superb') présentant une gamme de sensibilités à la fusariose de l'épi (allant de très sensibles à modérément résistants lors des essais au champ); (v) l'évaluation de l'efficacité du CLO-1 pour inhiber la production de périthèces de G. zeae sur les résidus de maïs, de soja et de blé, par rapport au Folicur, en culture de plein champ.

Pour tous les essais sur l'efficacité, on a appliqué le biopesticide CLO-1 sur les plantes lorsque 50 % d'entre elles étaient en floraison. L'efficacité a été évaluée en termes de surface sous la courbe de progression de la maladie (SSCPM), de pourcentage d'épillets infectés (PEI), de taux de grains fusariés (TGF), de poids de mille grains (PMG) et de rendement. De plus, on a mené des essais au champ, à Ottawa et à Harrow pour évaluer l'efficacité du CLO-1 comme traitement des semences contre la pourriture fusarienne du soja causée par l'inoculation artificielle du Fusarium graminearum (Fg), du F. oxysporum (Fo) et du F. solani (Fs), par rapport au fongicide Vitaflo-280. Lors de l'évaluation de l'efficacité du CLO-1 contre la pourriture fusarienne, on a mené un essai au champ pour étudier la prolifération et la dynamique des populations de CLO-1 sur les racines de soja après le traitement des semences.

Résultats

Comparaison de l'efficacité des prototypes de CLO-1

Les cinq prototypes se sont révélés efficaces contre la fusariose de l'épi, mais le prototype 5 s'est avéré légèrement phytotoxique. Il n'y avait aucune différence significative entre les 5 prototypes, mais le prototype 3 a donné les meilleurs résultats, en réduisant la SSCPM de 82,9 %, le PEI de 81,9 % et le TGF de 72,7 %, et en augmentant le rendement du blé de 55,7 % et le PMG de 26,0 %, par rapport aux parcelles témoins où les semences n'avaient pas été traitées. Ces effets ont été moins prononcés que ceux du Folicur, mais les différences n'étaient pas significatives.

Effets des concentrations variables sur l'efficacité

On a observé des effets réguliers et significatifs de concentration lors des essais en serre et au champ. En serre, les concentrations de 8 × 106 à 1 × 108 cfu/mL de CLO-1 ont réduit significativement la SSCPM de 65,4 à 83,2 %, le PEI de 6,6 à 8,9 %, le TGF de 67,8 à 91,6 % et la teneur en DON de 51,4 à 95,1 %, et ont augmenté le rendement de 85,7 à 88,1 % et le PMG de 47,2 à 57,6 %. Au champ, des effets significatifs ont été observés aux concentrations égales ou supérieures à 3 × 106 cfu/mL. En moyenne, les concentrations de 3 × 106 à 1 × 108 cfu/mL de CLO-1 ont réduit la SSCPM de 25,4 à 37,1 %, l'indice de fusariose de 30,1 à 46,3 %, le TGF de 30,7 à 38,5 % et la teneur en DON de 21,6 à 32,5 %. Ces effets n'étaient pas significativement différents de ceux obtenus avec le Folicur.

Effets des traitements au CLO-1 combinés à une faible dose de Folicur sur l'efficacité

Dans les essais en serre, on a observé que deux applications de CLO-1 à un intervalle de 5 jours constituaient le traitement le plus efficace et qui donnait des résultats significativement meilleurs que les autres traitements pour la réduction du PEI. Toutefois, l'utilisation de traitements combinés (CLO-1 - Folicur, BM 608 - Folicur et Folicur - CLO-1) s'est avérée la méthode la plus efficace quant aux autres paramètres, en réduisant la SSCPM de 74,4 à 89,0 %, le TGF de 79,9 à 89,0 % et la teneur en DON de 86,7 à 97,6 %, et en augmentant le rendement de 76,8 à 80,6 % et le PMG de 53,6 à 60,6 %. Une efficacité accrue par rapport aux effets de deux applications de Folicur a été observée avec les traitements Folicur - CLO-1 et CLO-1 - Folicur pour réduire la SSCPM, le TGF et la teneur en DON.

Effets des cultivars de blé sur l'efficacité du CLO-1

Les résultats ont indiqué que le CLO-1 était la méthode la plus efficace pour traiter le cultivar modérément résistant 'AC Nass' et le moins efficace pour traiter le cultivar très sensible 'AC Foremost'. Selon la moyenne des résultats obtenus avec les cinq cultivars, le CLO-1 a réduit de manière significative la SSCPM, de 19,2 %, et l'indice de fusariose, de 32,6 %. Les effets observés étaient plus prononcés que ceux du Folicur, mais les différences n'étaient pas significatives. Ni le CLO-1 ni le Folicur n'ont significativement réduit le TGF et la teneur en DON dans le cadre de ces essais.

Effets du CLO-1 sur la production de périthèces

Le CLO-1 a significativement réduit la production quotidienne de périthèces sur les résidus de culture. Cette réduction était de 96,6 % chez les résidus de maïs, de 98,5 % chez ceux de soja et de 97,4 % chez ceux de blé. L'application de CLO-1 sur les résidus au cours de l'automne a retardé l'apparition de périthèces, le printemps suivant, de 2 à 3 semaines par rapport aux résidus non traités, et la production quotidienne de périthèces a été réduite de 59,3 % sur les pédoncules, de 53,2 % sur les épillets et de 55,7 % sur les tiges. Les effets du CLO-1 sur la production de périthèces ont été plus prononcés que ceux du Folicur, mais les différences n'étaient pas significatives.

Efficacité du CLO-1 contre la pourriture fusarienne du soja

Les essais en champ ont montré que le CLO-1 peut se multiplier et coloniser rapidement la surface des hypocotyles et des racines à mesure que les graines germent et que les plantules croissent et se développent. En effet, la densité de CLO-1 était plus élevée sur les bourgeons que sur les graines, sur lesquelles avait été appliqué le CLO-1. Durant la saison de culture, de juillet à octobre, on a généralement observé une densité plus élevée de CLO-1 sur les racines secondaires que sur les racines pivotantes. Sur ces dernières, la densité de l'agent a été minimale au début de la saison, a atteint un maximum en août, puis a diminué à nouveau en septembre et en octobre. Sur les racines secondaires, les tendances n'étaient pas nettes, mais la densité est demeurée élevée pendant toute la saison de culture. Bien que les essais au champ aient montré que le CLO 1 colonise bien la surface des racines, on n'a pas observé une efficacité au champ significative contre la pourriture fusarienne du soja.

Conclusions

Les résultats de ces recherches indiquent que le CLO-1 est un agent de lutte biologique efficace qu'on peut appliquer sur les feuilles à des concentrations de 5 × 106 à 1 × 108 cfu/mL, pour combattre directement la fusariose de l'épi ou appliquer aux résidus de culture afin d'inhiber la production de périthèces de G. zeae et ainsi réduire l'inoculum initial de la fusariose. Le prototype 3 créé par ICUS semble démontrer la meilleure efficacité.

Travaux à venir

Pour valider l'efficacité du CLO-1 contre la fusariose de l'épi dans les cultures de blé à l'échelle de la ferme, il faudra sans doute mener d'autres essais au champ dans plusieurs localités et dans des environnements divers. Le CLO-1 pourrait montrer une meilleure efficacité s'il était combiné à un modèle de prévision de la fusariose de l'épi dans les cultures de blé ou à un programme de lutte intégrée. On doit donc mener d'autres recherches pour déterminer comment le CLO-1 peut être inclus dans un programme de lutte intégrée ou comment il doit être appliqué en fonction d'un modèle de prévision. Il faudra également effectuer des recherches supplémentaires pour évaluer l'efficacité du CLO 1 comme traitement des semences contre la pourriture fusarienne et la fonte des semis du soja.

Date de modification: