Release of a parasitic wasp for biological control of leek moth

Project Code PRR10-030

Project Lead

 Peter Mason  Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Objective

Release the biological control agent (Diadromus pulchellus) in areas where leek moth has become a concern, monitor its spread and impact on the leek moth, and develop educational materials for growers for integrated pest management of leek moth

Summary of Results

Background

Leek moth, Acrolepiopsis assectella, an invasive alien species from Europe, has become established in eastern Ontario as well as parts of Quebec and is continuing to expand its range. Leek moth larvae mine into the leaves of alliums (garlic, leeks and onions) damaging the plant and sometimes rendering it unmarketable.

The Pest Management Center’s Pesticide Risk Reduction Program has funded work to develop tools and information which can be used in an integrated management program (IPM) for the control of leek moth through two previous related projects. One focused on basic biology studies and the development of an IPM system (MU03-ENT2) and the second on the discovery of a biological control agent (PRR03-260). As part of this work Agriculture and AgriFood Canada researchers and collaborators from the CABI Europe - Switzerland centre identified the parasitic wasp Diadromus pulchellus as a promising biological agent. After extensive host range studies conducted in Europe and in containment facilities in Canada, a petition was submitted to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and regulatory approval for release was granted.

Through this project the biological agent D. pulchellus was released for the first time in Canada. Working with the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food (OMAF), Carleton University, and CABI an IPM system incorporating D. pulchellus with other reduced risk methods was developed and implemented on garlic farms in the Ottawa valley, in eastern Ontario. Extensive grower collaboration through a farmer participatory research approach was a key factor in the success of this project.

Lab and Field Experiments

Leek moth monitoring and estimate of damage

For field experiments on grower farms five blocks of garlic were planted and a portion of garlic in each block was placed under row cover. Pheromone traps were used to monitor flight patterns and numbers of adult leek moth during the growing season. Field populations of leek moth larvae and pupae were estimated through plant collections, while damage by leek moth was determined through plant dissection. In addition collections of scapes and bulbs were conducted to estimate damage to marketable products.

For all farms in 2010 - 2012 fewer plants under row cover had scape damage than without row cover. In 2012, there was no damage observed on the protected plants (row cover) at two sites. The data indicated that floating row cover provided protection to scapes and garlic plants in all years as damage was reduced under row cover compared to unprotected plants. This demonstrates that the row cover can provide protection from leek moth most likely by acting as a barrier to females trying to lay eggs.

In 2011, the results showed that when garlic was hung to dry with the stalk attached, greater damage to the bulbs occurred. However, there does not appear to be much difference in weight between garlic bulbs that were cut at the stalk and those hung with the stalk.

Rearing, releases and monitoring of Diadromus pulchellus

Leek moths were reared year round in the lab to provide host material for the biological control agent Diadromus pulchellus, as well as material for field experiments. In May numbers of D. pulchellus were increased in preparation for releases at up to four locations, the Central Experimental Farm (CEF) to test methodology and establish a local population of the parasitoid, and at three co-operator locations in the Ottawa area. Experiments to determine the effect of cold storage on fecundity were also conducted.

D. pulchellus releases were made in the Ottawa area from 2010-2012. D. pulchellus adults were released frequently from time of first generation pupation of leek moth until the end of the season. In 2010, 1337 males and females were released at two sites. In 2011, 1771 individuals were released on two sites and in 2012, 7089 individuals were released at 4 sites. More than 10,000 D. pulchellus were released over the course of the project.

Recoveries documented survival of D. pulchellus in the field for at least one complete generation during the field season. Progeny of individuals released the previous year were also recovered the following spring indicating that D. pulchellus can successfully overwinter in eastern Ontario. The results also suggest that immediate parasitism levels of almost 50% can be achieved when sufficient numbers of the biological control agent are released. Background parasitism at five locations in the Ottawa area was also established.

Farmer Participatory Research

Farmer engagement was a key element to the successful implementation and completion of the project. At the onset, five Ottawa area growers were recruited as grower collaborators to contribute to the project and the research through a farmer participatory approach. After an initial visit to explain the project and adapt the experimental set up to individual needs, collaborators were engaged through regular on-site visits and discussions during each field season. In addition annual meetings were conducted with each participant to discuss the previous year’s results and to plan for the next field season.

An end-of-project questionnaire demonstrated that participants were enthusiastic about and benefitted from the pre-project and ongoing on-site interactions. In 2010, all but one farmer was aware of biological control; however, through a combination of on-site visits, individual farmer reports and full-day information sessions, all farmers have said their knowledge and understanding has increased with respect to the leek moth problem in allium plants; the biology of the leek moth; natural enemies of the leek moth; and the role of row cover and leek moth pheromone trap monitoring and temperature data as part of an IPM program against leek moth.

All farmers said they would be willing to participate in a follow-up IPM program against leek moth and would definitely recommend participating in the program to other garlic farmers.

Knowledge and Tech Transfer

Knowledge transfer was achieved through multiple approaches, including factsheets and handouts, grower workshops as well as by the farmer participatory approach itself.

Leek moth in an emerging pest problem that will continue to impact allium production systems, particularly organic operations with few management options. This project addressed the need for reduced risk strategies by implementing a biological control option for management of leek moth.

Date modified:

Dissémination de une guêpe parasitoïde comme moyen de lutte biologique contre la teigne du poireau au Canada

Code de projet PRR10-030

Chef de projet

Peter Mason  Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Objectif

Disséminer l'agent de lutte biologique (Diadromus pulchellus) dans les zones où la teigne du poireau est devenue problématique, surveiller sa propagation et son effet sur la teigne du poireau et créer des documents éducatifs à l'intention des producteurs sur la lutte intégrée contre ce parasite

Sommaire de résultats

Contexte

La teigne du poireau, Acrolepiopsis assectella, est une espèce exotique envahissante venue d’Europe qui s’est établie dans l’est de l’Ontario ainsi qu’à certains endroits du Québec et qui continue de se propager. Les larves de ce parasite grignotent les feuilles des alliacés (ail, poireau et oignon), ce qui endommage les plantes et les rend parfois invendables.

Le Programme de réduction des risques liés aux pesticides du Centre de la lutte antiparasitaire a financé des travaux visant à produire des outils et de l’information devant servir dans le cadre d’un programme de lutte intégrée contre la teigne du poireau. Le projet a misé sur les résultats de deux projets apparentés précédents portant sur des études de biologie fondamentale et la mise au point d’un système de lutte intégrée (MU03-ENT2) et sur la découverte d’un agent de lutte biologique (PRR03-260). Dans le cadre de ces travaux, les chercheurs d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et les collaborateurs du CABI (Europe – centre situé en Suisse) ont déterminé que Diadromus pulchellus, une guêpe parasitoïde, était un agent biologique prometteur. Par suite d’études approfondies menées en Europe et dans des installations de confinement au Canada, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) a examiné la demande de dissémination de cet agent qui lui a été soumise, et elle l’a approuvée.

Cet agent biologique a été disséminé pour la première fois au Canada dans le cadre de ce projet. En collaboration avec le ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Alimentation de l’Ontario, l’Université Carleton et CABI, un système de lutte antiparasitaire intégrée combinant l’utilisation de D. pulchellus avec d’autres méthodes à risque réduit a été conçu et mis en oeuvre dans des exploitations d’ail de la vallée d’Ottawa, dans l’est de l’Ontario. L’étroite collaboration des producteurs dans le cadre d’une recherche participative a été un facteur essentiel à la réussite du projet.

Expériences en laboratoire et au champ

Surveillance de la teigne du poireau et estimation des dommages

Pour les essais sur le terrain effectués dans les exploitations agricoles, cinq carrés d’essai pour la production d’ail ont été ensemencés et une partie de l’ail dans chacun des carrés a été placée sous des filet de mailles. Des pièges à phéromone ont été utilisés pour suivre les déplacements et les populations de teignes du poireau adultes durant la saison de croissance. Des échantillonnages de végétaux ont permis d’estimer les populations de larves et de nymphes de la teigne du poireau dans les champs, tandis que les dommages causés par la teigne ont été évalués au moyen de la dissection des plants. De plus, des fleurs d’ail et des bulbes ont été prélevés afin d’évaluer les dommages causés aux produits commercialisables.

Entre 2010 et 2012, les dommages causés par la teigne ont été moins nombreux dans les plants protégés que dans les plants sans protection. En 2012, dans deux endroits, les plants protégés (filet de mailles) n’ont subi aucun dommage. Les données indiquent que les filets de mailles ont offert une protection aux fleurs et aux plants d’ail tous les ans, puisque les plants protégés ont subi moins de dommages que les plants non protégés. Ainsi, les pièges peuvent offrir une protection contre la teigne du poireau en empêchant les femelles d’atteindre les plants pour y pondre des œufs.

En 2011, les résultats indiquent que lorsque l’ail a été suspendu pour sécher avec les tiges attachées, les dommages aux bulbes ont augmenté. Toutefois, il ne semble pas y avoir de différence de poids entre les bulbes d’ail coupés à la tige et ceux suspendus avec la tige.

Élevage, dissémination et surveillance de Diadromus pulchellus

La teigne du poireau a été élevée toute l’année en laboratoire afin de fournir le matériel hôte pour l’agent de lutte biologique Diadromus pulchellus ainsi que le matériel des expériences sur le terrain. En mai, la population de D. pulchellus a été augmentée en vue d’une dissémination dans quatre endroits, soit à la Ferme expérimentale centrale (FEC), pour évaluer la méthodologie et établir une population locale du parasitoïde, et dans trois autres exploitations participantes dans la région d’Ottawa. Des expériences ont aussi été menées afin de déterminer l’effet de l’entreposage en chambre froide sur la fécondité.

Des disséminations de D. pulchellus ont eu lieu dans la région d’Ottawa de 2010 à 2012. Des adultes ont été relâchés fréquemment, de la première génération de nymphes de la teigne du poireau jusqu’à la fin de la saison. En 2010, 1 337 mâles et femelles ont été relâchés à deux endroits. En 2011, 1 771 individus ont été relâchés sur deux sites et en 2012, 7 089 individus ont été relâchés sur quatre sites. Plus de 10 000 D. pulchellus ont été relâchés pendant la durée du projet.

Les taux de récupération ont permis de documenter la survie du D. pulchellus dans le champ pour au moins une génération complète durant la campagne sur le terrain. La descendance des individus relâchés l’année précédente a également été récupérée le printemps suivant, ce qui indique que D. pulchellus peut réussir à passer l’hiver dans l’est de l’Ontario. Les résultats suggèrent également que des taux de parasitisme immédiat de près de 50 % peuvent être atteints lorsque les agents de lutte biologique sont disséminés en nombre suffisant. Le taux de parasitisme de fond a été établi dans cinq endroits de la région d’Ottawa.

Recherche participative

La participation des agriculteurs était un élément clé de la mise en œuvre et de la réussite du projet. Au début, cinq producteurs de la région d’Ottawa ont été recrutés à titre de collaborateurs en vue de contribuer au projet et à la recherche par le biais d’une approche participative. Après une visite initiale pour expliquer le projet et adapter le modèle expérimental aux besoins individuels, les collaborateurs ont été invités à prendre part à des visites régulières sur place et à des discussions durant chaque campagne sur le terrain. De plus, des réunions annuelles ont été organisées avec chaque participant pour examiner les résultats de l’année précédente et planifier la prochaine campagne sur le terrain.

Un questionnaire remis aux participants à la fin du projet a démontré que ces derniers étaient enthousiastes à l’idée de participer au projet et qu’ils ont tiré parti des interactions précédant le projet et des interactions sur place. En 2010, tous les agriculteurs à l’exception d’un seul savaient en quoi consiste la lutte biologique. Cependant, grâce à la combinaison des visites sur place, des rapports des producteurs et des séances d’information d’une journée, tous les agriculteurs ont affirmé que leurs connaissances et leur compréhension s’étaient améliorées en ce qui concerne le problème de la teigne du poireau dans les alliacés, la biologie de la teigne du poireau, les ennemis naturels de la teigne et le rôle des protections, ainsi que de la surveillance des pièges à phéromone et des données de température dans le cadre d’une lutte intégrée contre la teigne du poireau.

Tous les agriculteurs ont déclaré qu’ils seraient prêts à effectuer un suivi du programme de lutte intégrée contre la teigne du poireau et qu’ils recommanderaient à d’autres producteurs d’ail de participer au programme sans hésiter.

Transfert des connaissances et de la technologie

Différentes approches ont permis le transfert des connaissances, notamment des fiches d’information, des ateliers de producteurs ainsi que par l'approche de la recherche participative.

La teigne du poireau continuera d’influer sur les systèmes de production d’alliacés, plus particulièrement dans les exploitations d’agriculture biologique qui disposent d’un moins grand nombre d’options pour lutter contre la teigne. Ce projet a permis de déterminer l’utilité des stratégies à risque réduit en optant pour le contrôle biologique afin de lutter contre la teigne du poireau.

Date de modification: