Appeals

The following information is designed to explain the appeal process, and to provide you with information you may need or may want to use in preparing your appeal. Appeal requests must be submitted using the AgriInvest Appeal Submission Form. Please ensure all sections are complete in order to allow the Administration to process your appeal request.

Important note:

If you wish to change the information which was either originally submitted on your AgriInvest forms or used in calculating your maximum matchable deposit, you can request an adjustment within 18 months from notification of your original Deposit Notice. To request an adjustment, please use the AgriStability and AgriInvest Programs Additional Information and Adjustment Request T1275.

An appeal may only be requested within 90 days from the date you are notified that your adjustment request is denied. For issues unrelated to adjustments, you will have 90 days from the date you are notified by the Administration of the decision which is subject to appeal. For example, if you submit an application after the deadline, you have 90 days from the date the Administration notifies you that your application will not be accepted to request an appeal.

What is an appeal request?

If you do not agree with how AgriInvest program rules were applied to your application, you may submit an appeal request identifying the specific issue you wish to be reconsidered. An AgriInvest appeals officer will review your case, independent from the staff involved in the original processing of your application. If the appeals officer is unable to resolve your appeal issue, your case may be referred to the Appeals Committee for consideration.

The Appeals Committee will review your case and make a recommendation to the Administration whether to accept or deny your appeal. If the issues which you wish to be reconsidered would create an exception from the rules outlined in the program authorities (that is, if you disagree with program rules, and not their application) your appeal request will be denied by the Administration and will not be forwarded to the Appeals Committee for review.

What are possible reasons for appealing?

You may submit an appeal request if you feel that the AgriInvest program rules were not correctly applied by the Administration in processing your application. You may also submit an appeal request if you are asking for an exception to a deadline where circumstances beyond your control prevented you from meeting the deadline.

Disagreeing with program policy is not a valid ground for appeal. Please consult the program authorities applicable for each issue in the links below before filing your appeal:

Growing Forward - 2008 to 2012

The links below are for issues related to deadlines:

Note: The Administration may excuse a missed deadline where a participant can demonstrate exceptional circumstances, see the Can I Submit an Appeal fact sheet for more information.

If your appeal issue is not listed above, please consult the full Growing Forward - AgriInvest Program Guidelines, the Growing Forward - AgriInvest Program Handbook, or the Farming Income and the AgriStability and AgriInvest Programs Harmonized Guide.

Growing Forward 2 - 2013 to 2018

The links below are for issues related to deadlines:

Note: The Administration may excuse a missed deadline where a participant can demonstrate exceptional circumstances, see the Can I Submit an Appeal fact sheet for more information.

If your appeal issue is not listed above, please consult the full Growing Forward 2 - AgriInvest Program Guidelines, the Growing Forward 2 - AgriInvest Program Handbook, or the Farming Income and the AgriStability and AgriInvest Programs Harmonized Guide.

How do I file an appeal?

If the Administration did not accept your adjustment request and after consulting the program guidelines relevant to your appeal issue, you believe the policies were not applied correctly in processing your file, you may submit an appeal. These are the general steps you should follow in researching and filing your appeal:

Step 1 - Review your Deposit Notice carefully. Note: the only type of appeals you may file prior to receiving a Deposit Notice or letter stating that you are ineligible for the program are those involving missed program deadlines.

Step 2 - Identify any omissions or areas you do not agree with and submit an adjustment request. Please note that this must be submitted within 18 months from the date of your original Deposit Notice.

Step 3 - If your adjustment request is rejected by the Administration, research the program guidelines regarding your issue. Please consult the Reasons for Appealing section of this website. Disagreement with program rules is not a valid ground for appeal, and the Administration will not refer this type of appeal to an Appeals Committee.

Step 4 - If you believe the program guidelines were not correctly applied in your case, you may submit an appeal in writing using the AgriInvest Appeal Submission Form within 90 days of notification your adjustment request was rejected. Please ensure that all required sections are completed and that you clearly identify your reasons for appeal and provide any documents that support your request.

Send your completed form to:

AgriInvest Program Appeals
P.O. Box 2759 Station Main
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 4B4

Or Fax Toll Free: 1-877-949-4885

AgriInvest is delivered by the federal government in all provinces except Quebec. If you are in Quebec, contact La Financière agricole for information on the appeal process.

What is the appeal process?

The following steps detail what you can expect from the Administration following your appeal submission. Please note that appeal requests are addressed on a first-in, first-out basis.

Step 1 - The Administration will acknowledge receipt of your appeal request in writing, usually within 5 business days from receipt.

Step 2 - An appeals officer will review your appeal request, independent from the original processing of your application. If your appeal request is in contravention of program policy, your appeal request will be denied by the Administration and will not proceed to committee. Adjustments will be made to your application if program rules were applied incorrectly by the Administration.

Step 3 - If your appeal request cannot be resolved through an adjustment, the appeals officer will prepare the Administration's Submission which will include the Administration's position and authorities relevant to your appeal request. Your Appeal Submission Form will be attached to the Administration's Submission and mailed for your review. You will have 3 weeks to respond to the Administration in writing with any additional comments and/or documentation that you may wish to add to your original Appeal Submission Form. The Administration's Submission, your Appeal Submission Form and any additional documents which you may have submitted to the Administration are forwarded to the Appeals Committee. Please note that you cannot bring forward any new issues which were not already included in your original Appeal Submission Form at this stage in the appeal process.

Step 4 - The Appeals Committee will meet to review your appeal request. The Administration will contact you when a meeting is scheduled. You will have the opportunity to participate in the meeting through conference call and your form preparer may also participate. You must give the Administration 14 days notice of your intention to participate at the meeting and you are responsible for any costs incurred to participate.

Step 5 - After all of the facts relevant to your case have been reviewed, the Appeals Committee will make a recommendation to the Administration. The Administration will issue a written notification on the outcome of your appeal within 10 business days from the date of the meeting. Once a final decision is made on your appeal, there is no further recourse under the program and the appeal is closed.

What can I expect to happen at my appeal meeting?

If your appeal is forwarded to the Appeals Committee for review, you will have the opportunity to participate in the meeting through conference call. The Administration will contact you when a meeting is scheduled. Your form preparer may also participate in the meeting, however you must both be on the conference call at the same time. Participation of other representation is not permitted.

The Appeals Committee is comprised of producer representatives from across the nine provinces where AgriInvest is delivered by the federal government (between 3 and 5 producers will be present on each appeal conference call). A recorder from the Administration will also be present to provide secretariat services.

The Appeals Committee members are provided with a copy of both your Appeal Submission Form and the Administration's Submission prior to the meeting. You will have an opportunity to state your position to the Appeals Committee, and they may ask you questions to clarify the specifics of your case. No new issues may be raised during the meeting. Following the meeting, the Appeals Committee will make a recommendation to the Administration. The Administration will issue a written notification on the outcome of your appeal within 10 business days from the date of the meeting.

What is the role of the Appeal Committee?

The Appeals Committee provides an opportunity for you to have your case reviewed by your peers. The role of the members of the Appeals Committee is to determine whether the Administration correctly applied the AgriInvest program rules. The Appeals Committee cannot create exceptions to the eligibility criteria or any other provisions included in the guidelines. The Appeals Committee reviews cases to determine whether program rules have been applied correctly to your individual circumstances.

AgriInvest is delivered by the federal government in all provinces except Quebec.

In Quebec, AgriInvest is delivered provincially by La Financière agricole.

Date modified:

Processus d'appel

Les renseignements suivants expliquent le processus d'appel et vous fournissent les précisions dont vous pourriez avoir besoin ou que vous pourriez juger bon d'utiliser pour préparer votre appel. Les demandes d'appel doivent être présentées au moyen du Programme Agri-investissement - Formulaire de présentation d'un appel.

Remarque importante :

Si vous souhaitez apporter des modifications aux renseignements initialement soumis sur vos formulaires du programme Agri-investissement ou utilisés dans le calcul de votre dépôt maximal donnant droit à la contribution de contrepartie, vous pouvez demander un rajustement dans les 18 mois suivant la date de votre avis de dépôt initial. Pour ce faire, veuillez remplir et expédier le formulaire T1275 Renseignements supplémentaires sur les programmes Agri-stabilité et Agri-investissement et demande de redressement.

Vous ne pouvez présenter une demande d'appel que dans les 90 jours suivant la date de l'avis de rejet de votre demande de rajustement. Pour toute question non liée aux rajustements, vous disposez d'un délai de 90 jours à compter de la date de l'avis de l'Administration pour demander un appel de cette décision. Si, par exemple, vous présentez une demande de participation après la date limite, vous disposez ensuite d'un délai de 90 jours à compter de la date de l'avis de rejet de l'Administration pour demander un appel de cette décision.

Qu'est ce qu'une demande d'appel?

Si vous êtes en désaccord avec la façon dont les règles du programme Agri-investissement ont été appliquées à votre dossier, vous pouvez présenter une demande d'appel précisant la mesure contestée pour laquelle vous demandez un réexamen. Un agent d'appel du programme Agri-investissement examinera votre demande indépendamment des employés ayant traité votre demande initiale. S'il n'est pas en mesure de régler le dossier, il pourra le soumettre à l'examen du Comité des appels.

Ce dernier procédera à son examen et recommandera à l'Administration d'accepter ou de rejeter votre appel. Si les mesures que vous souhaitez faire réexaminer créent une exception aux règles du programme (c'est-à-dire si les règles du programme plutôt que leur application font l'objet du désaccord), l'Administration rejettera votre demande d'appel et ne la soumettra pas au Comité des appels aux fins d'examen.

Quels sont les motifs d'appel valables?

Vous pouvez présenter une demande d'appel si vous estimez que les règles du programme Agri-investissement n'ont pas été appliquées correctement par l'Administration lors du traitement de votre demande. Vous pouvez également présenter une demande d'appel si vous demandez une exception à une date limite lorsque des circonstances échappant à votre contrôle vous ont empêché de la respecter.

Le fait d'être en désaccord avec la politique visant un programme ne constitue pas un motif d'appel valable. Avant de présenter un appel, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme pour chaque question à partir des liens ci-dessous :

Cultivons l'avenir - 2008 - 2012

Les liens ci-dessous se rapportent aux questions de dates limites.

Remarque : l'Administration peut accepter un participant qui n'a pas respecté une date limite uniquement si ce dernier peut démontrer que le non-respect découle de circonstances exceptionnelles. Pour obtenir davantage d'information, voir la fiche de renseignements Puis-je en appeler d'une décision?.

Si votre motif d'appel n'est pas inclus dans la liste ci-dessus, veuillez consulter le document complet Cultivons l'avenir - Lignes directrices du programme Agri-investissement, le Cultivons l'avenir - Manuel du programme Agri-investissement ou le Cultivons l'avenir - Guide harmonisé des revenus d'agriculture et des programmes Agri-stabilité et Agri-investissement.

Cultivons l'avenir 2 - 2013 - 2018

Les liens ci-dessous se rapportent aux questions de dates limites.

Remarque : l'Administration peut accepter un participant qui n'a pas respecté une date limite uniquement si ce dernier peut démontrer que le non-respect découle de circonstances exceptionnelles. Pour obtenir davantage d'information, voir la fiche de renseignements Puis-je en appeler d'une décision?.

Si votre motif d'appel n'est pas inclus dans la liste ci-dessus, veuillez consulter le document complet Cultivons l'avenir 2 - Lignes directrices du programme Agri-investissement, le Cultivons l'avenir 2 - Manuel du programme Agri-investissement ou le Cultivons l'avenir - Guide harmonisé des revenus d'agriculture et des programmes Agri-stabilité et Agri-investissement.

Comment dois je procéder pour présenter une demande d'appel?

Si l'Administration a refusé votre demande de rajustement et si, après avoir consulté les lignes directrices du programme, vous estimez que les politiques n'ont pas été appliquées correctement lors du traitement de votre dossier, vous pouvez présenter une demande d'appel. Voici les étapes générales que vous devez suivre pour documenter et présenter votre appel.

Étape 1 : Examinez attentivement votre avis de dépôt. Remarque : le seul type d'appel que vous pouvez présenter, avant de recevoir un avis de dépôt ou une lettre indiquant que vous n'êtes pas admissible au programme, porte sur le non-respect des dates limites applicables.

Étape 2 : Indiquez les omissions ou les mesures avec lesquelles vous n'êtes pas d'accord et présentez une demande de rajustement. Veuillez prendre note que celle-ci doit être produite dans les 18 mois suivant la date de votre avis initial de dépôt.

Étape 3: Si l'Administration rejette votre demande de rajustement, consultez les lignes directrices du programme à ce sujet. Veuillez consulter la section dans le présent site Web. Le fait d'être en désaccord avec les règles du programme ne constitue pas un motif d'appel valable, et l'Administration ne soumettra pas votre appel au Comité des appels.

Étape 4 : Si vous estimez que les lignes directrices du programme n'ont pas été appliquées correctement à votre dossier, vous pouvez présenter un appel par écrit en remplissant le Programme Agri-investissement - Formulaire de présentation d'un appel dans les 90 jours suivant l'avis de rejet de votre demande de rajustement. Veuillez vous assurer que toutes les sections requises ont été remplies, que vous avez indiqué clairement les motifs d'appel et avez joint les documents nécessaires à l'appui de votre demande.

Faites parvenir votre formulaire rempli à :

Appels du programme Agri-investissement
C.P. 2759, succursale Main
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3C 4B4

Ou No de télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-949-4885

Agri-investissement est géré par le gouvernement fédéral dans toutes les provinces à l'exception du Québec. Si vous êtes au Québec, communiquez avec La Financière agricole pour obtenir des renseignements sur le processus d'appel.

En quoi consiste le processus d'appel?

Les étapes ci-dessous indiquent ce à quoi vous pouvez vous attendre de la part de l'Administration lorsque vous présentez une demande d'appel. Veuillez noter que les demandes d'appel sont traitées selon l'ordre dans lequel elles sont reçues.

Étape 1 : L'Administration accusera réception de votre demande d'appel par écrit, habituellement dans les cinq jours ouvrables suivant sa réception.

Étape 2 : Un agent d'appel examinera votre demande sans tenir compte du traitement initial de la demande. Si votre demande d'appel va à l'encontre de la politique du programme, elle sera refusée par l'Administration qui ne la soumettra pas au comité. Votre demande fera l'objet d'un rajustement si les règles du programme ont été appliquées incorrectement par l'Administration.

Étape 3 : Si votre appel ne peut être réglé au moyen d'un rajustement, un agent d'appel préparera le formulaire de présentation de l'Administration qui fait état de la position de cette dernière et des textes de référence pertinents pour votre demande d'appel. Votre formulaire de présentation d'un appel sera annexé au formulaire de présentation de l'Administration, et ces documents vous seront expédiés pour examen. Vous disposerez d'un délai de trois semaines pour répondre par écrit à l'Administration et lui fournir les commentaires ou documents supplémentaires que vous pourriez désirer joindre à votre formulaire initial. Le formulaire de présentation de l'Administration, votre formulaire de présentation d'un appel et tout autre document que vous avez pu présenter à l'Administration seront transmis au Comité des appels aux fins d'arbitrage. Veuillez noter que vous ne pouvez pas soulever de nouvelles questions non abordées dans votre formulaire de présentation d'un appel initial à ce stade du processus d'appel.

Étape 4 : Le Comité des appels se réunira pour examiner votre appel. L'Administration communiquera avec vous lorsque la date de l'audition sera fixée. Vous pouvez participer à celle-ci par voie de conférence téléphonique, et vous pouvez être accompagné par la personne ayant rempli votre formulaire. Vous devez aviser l'Administration 14 jours à l'avance si vous décidez de participer à l'audition de votre appel et vous êtes responsable de tous les frais liés à votre participation.

Étape 5 : Après l'examen de tous les faits associés à votre dossier, le Comité des appels formule une recommandation à l'Administration. Cette dernière vous informera par écrit du résultat de votre appel dans les dix jours ouvrables suivant l'audition. Lorsqu'une décision finale est prise, vous n'avez plus aucun recours au titre du programme et votre dossier est clos.

À quoi puis-je m'attendre à l'audition de l'appel?

Si votre appel est soumis à l'examen du Comité des appels, vous pouvez participer à l'audition par voie de conférence téléphonique. L'Administration communiquera avec vous lorsque la date de l'audition sera fixée. La personne ayant rempli votre formulaire peut également assister à l'audition de votre appel. Cependant, vous devez tous deux participer à la conférence téléphonique en même temps. La participation d'un autre représentant est interdite.

Le Comité des appels est formé de représentants des producteurs des neuf provinces où le programme Agri-investissement est offert par le gouvernement fédéral (de trois à cinq producteurs seront présents à chaque conférence téléphonique d'appel). Un secrétaire de l'Administration sera également présent pour fournir des services de secrétariat.

Avant l'audition de l'appel, les membres du Comité des appels reçoivent une copie de votre formulaire de présentation d'un appel et du formulaire de présentation de l'Administration. Vous aurez l'occasion d'expliquer votre position au Comité des appels et ses membres pourront vous poser des questions pour obtenir des précisions sur votre dossier. Aucune autre question ne peut être soulevée au cours de l'audition. Après l'audition, le Comité des appels formulera une recommandation à l'Administration. Cette dernière vous informera par écrit du résultat de votre appel dans les dix jours ouvrables suivant l'audition.

Quel est le rôle du Comité des appels?

Le Comité des appels vous offre la possibilité de faire examiner votre dossier par des pairs. Le rôle des membres du Comité des appels est de déterminer si l'Administration a appliqué correctement les règlements du programme Agri-investissement. Le Comité des appels ne peut faire d'exception aux critères d'admissibilité ou à toute autre disposition comprise dans les lignes directrices. Le Comité des appels examine les cas, afin de déterminer si les règlements du programme ont été appliqués correctement aux circonstances individuelles de chacun.

Le programme Agri-investissement est mis en oeuvre par le gouvernement fédéral dans toutes les provinces, sauf au Québec.

Au Québec, le programme Agri-investissement est mis en oeuvre par La Financière agricole.

Date de modification: