Frequently Asked Questions

1.  Why participate in AgriInvest?

The accounts help producers protect their margin from small declines. Producers have the flexibility to use the funds for risk mitigation and other investments. The program is bankable, as producers will be able to easily predict the government contribution to their account each year.


2.  Who can participate?

Individuals, partners in a partnership (except in Quebec), co-operatives, corporations, estates, trusts, limited partnerships (except in Quebec), and landlords in a joint venture are eligible to participate.

To be eligible, producers must have reported farming income (or loss) for tax purposes.

Status Indians farming on reserves in Canada who do not file a tax return are also eligible to participate in AgriInvest.


3.  How can producers apply?

Producers do not have to provide additional information in order to participate in AgriInvest. For individual producers, the application is harmonized with the tax form in all provinces except Quebec. In Quebec and for corporations, the application is harmonized with the AgriStability application.


4.  How does AgriInvest work?

Each year, producers can deposit up to 100% percent of their Allowable Net Sales (ANS) into an AgriInvest account and receive a matching government contribution for the first 1.0%. For example, a producer with $100,000 in ANS could deposit up to $100,000 and federal and provincial governments would make a matching contribution totaling $1,000.

Producers have the flexibility to withdraw funds at any time.


5.  When do producers make their deposit?

Producers have 90 days from the date the Deposit Notice is issued to make a deposit into their AgriInvest account. The deposit deadline date is shown on the Deposit Notice.


6.  Where are AgriInvest accounts held?

Beginning with the 2009 program year, AgriInvest deposits will be held by participating financial institutions. The 2009 AgriInvest Deposit Notice will include information on how to open an AgriInvest account at a participating financial institution. Once opened, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) will transfer any existing AgriInvest funds, currently held by the federal government to the new financial institution AgriInvest account.


7.  How are ANS calculated?

ANS are the net sales of commodities allowable under AgriInvest. Allowable commodities include most primary agricultural commodities except those covered under supply management (dairy, poultry and eggs).

Allowable Net Sales =

Sales of Allowable Commodities* - Purchases of Allowable Commodities

*Allowable commodities include Production Insurance Payments


8.  Is there a cap on government contributions?

For AgriInvest purposes, eligible participants are limited to ANS of $1,500,000 per year. Based on this limit, the largest matching government contribution would be $15,000.


9.  Is there a limit on how much money can be held in the accounts?

The account balance, which includes matchable deposits, government contributions, and interest earned, is limited to 400% of a producer's average ANS for the program year and two preceding program years, excluding any years for which the ANS was not calculated under the program.

Where ANS was not calculated for one or more of those years, the Maximum Account Balance will be 400% of the average ANS for the year(s) available.

AgriInvest is delivered by the federal government in all provinces except Quebec.
In Quebec, AgriInvest is delivered provincially by La Financière agricole.



Date modified:

Foire aux questions

1.  Pourquoi participer à Agri-investissement?

Ces comptes aident les producteurs à protéger leur marge des petites baisses. Les producteurs ont la possibilité d'utiliser les fonds pour atténuer des risques ou procéder à d'autres investissements. Le programme est susceptible d'un concours bancaire, car les producteurs peuvent facilement prédire les contributions gouvernementales à leur compte chaque année.


2.  Qui peut participer?

Les particuliers, les associés d'une société de personnes (ailleurs qu'au Québec), les coopératives, les sociétés, les successions, les fiducies, les sociétés en commandite (ailleurs qu'au Québec) et les propriétaires fonciers membres d'une coentreprise peuvent y participer.

Pour être admissibles, les producteurs doivent avoir déclaré un revenu (ou une perte) en agriculture aux fins de l'impôt.

Les Indiens inscrits, qui pratiquent l'agriculture dans une réserve au Canada, mais qui ne produisent pas de déclaration de revenu, peuvent quand même participer à Agri-investissement.


3.  Comment les producteurs peuvent-ils présenter une demande?

Les producteurs ne sont pas tenus de fournir de renseignements supplémentaires pour participer au programme Agri-investissement. Dans le cas des particuliers, la demande est harmonisée avec le formulaire de déclaration de revenu dans toutes les provinces, le Québec excepté. Au Québec et dans le cas des sociétés, la demande est harmonisée avec celle du programme Agri-stabilité.


4.  Comment fonctionne Agri-investissement?

Chaque année, les producteurs peuvent déposer jusqu'à 100 p. 100 de leurs ventes nettes admissibles (VNA) dans un compte Agri-investissement et recevoir une contribution gouvernementale de contrepartie pour la première 1 p. 100. Par exemple, un producteur dont les VNA se chiffrent à 100 000 $ pourrait déposer jusqu'à 100 000 $, et les gouvernements fédéral et provincial y verseraient une contribution totalisant, elle aussi, 1 000 $.

Les producteurs ont la possibilité de prélever des fonds à n'importe quel moment.


5.  À quel moment les producteurs procèdent ils à leur dépôt?

Les producteurs ont 90 jours à partir de la date d'émission de l'Avis de dépôt pour faire un dépôt dans leur compte Agri-investissement. La date limite pour effectuer ce dépôt figure sur l'Avis de dépôt.


6.  Où sont détenus les comptes Agri-investissement?

À partir de l'année de programme 2009, les dépôts Agri-investissement sont détenus par des institutions financières participantes. L'Avis de dépôt d'Agri-investissement 2009 inclura des renseignements sur la façon d'ouvrir un compte Agri-investissement à l'une de ces institutions. Une fois ce compte ouvert, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) transférera toute somme relative à Agri-investissement, détenue actuellement par le gouvernement fédéral, au nouveau compte Agri-investissement à l'institution financière.


7.  Comment les VNA sont-elles calculées?

Les VNA représentent les ventes nettes de produits admissibles aux termes d'Agri-investissement. Les produits admissibles comprennent la plupart des produits agricoles primaires, sauf ceux qui sont soumis à la gestion de l'offre (produits laitiers, volaille et œufs).

Ventes nettes admissibles =

Ventes de produits admissibles* - Achats de produits admissibles

*Les produits admissibles comprennent les paiements de l'assurance production


8.  Impose-t-on un plafond aux contributions gouvernementales?

Aux fins d'Agri-investissement, les participants admissibles ont droit à un montant maximal de 1 500 000 $ de VNA par année. Compte tenu de cette limite, la plus grande contribution de contrepartie gouvernementale sera de 15 000 $.


9.  Existe-t-il une limite au montant qui peut être détenu dans les comptes?

Le solde du compte, qui comprend les dépôts ouvrant droit à contrepartie, les contributions gouvernementales et les intérêts courus, est limité à 400 p. 100 des VNA moyennes du producteur pour l'année de programme et les deux années de programme antérieures, excluant les années pour lesquelles les VNA n'ont pas été calculées aux termes du programme.

Lorsque les VNA n'ont pas été calculées pour une ou plusieurs de ces années, le solde maximal du compte sera de 400 p. 100 de la moyenne des VNA pour la ou les années disponibles.

Le programme Agri-investissement est mis en oeuvre par le gouvernement fédéral dans toutes les provinces, sauf au Québec.
Au Québec, le programme Agri-investissement est mis en oeuvre par La Financière agricole.



Date de modification: