Advance Payments Program

The Advance Payments Program (APP) is a financial loan guarantee program that gives producers easier access to credit through cash advances.

This means improved cash flow throughout the year and better opportunities for marketing their agricultural products.

A number of producer organizations across the country are delivering cash advances under the APP. These producer organizations are listed along with the list of agricultural products on which they are offering cash advances at the following link: Participating Producer Organizations. As new producer organizations are ready to deliver the program, they will be listed on the APP Web site.

The Advance Payments Program (APP) provides producers with a cash advance on the value of their agricultural products during a specified period. By improving their cash flow throughout the year, the APP helps crop and livestock producers meet their financial obligations and benefit from the best market conditions.

Under the APP, the federal government guarantees repayment of cash advances issued to farmers by the producer organization. These guarantees help the producer organization borrow money from financial institutions at lower interest rates and issue producers a cash advance on the anticipated value of their farm product that is being produced and/or that is in storage.

Objectives

Give producers easier access to credit through cash advances.

Available Funding

The cash advance rate cannot exceed 50% of the average market price that the Minister estimates will be payable to producers of the agricultural product in that area. The maximum cash advance available to each producer is $400,000. The federal government pays the interest on the first $100,000 of a cash advance issued to a producer per production period and producers have up until the end of the production period to repay their advance.

Program Delivery

The APP is accessed through producer organizations that administer the program through an agreement with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) and a designated lending institution. There is a list of Participating Producer Organizations on this Web site.

Producer organisations deliver the APP on behalf of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC). Producers can apply for a cash advance from a producer organization - not directly from AAFC. Please refer to the list of Participating Producer Organizations on this Web site to locate a producer organization near you that offers cash advances.

Administrative Guidelines

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada has developed administration guidelines to assist producer organizations in administering the Advance Payments Program, as well as to clearly outline to them what is necessary for producers to participate in the program.

Act
On February 25 2008, the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food introduced amendments to the Agricultural Marketing Programs Act which provide producers with easier access to cash flow under the program. On February 28 2008, the amendments received Royal Assent.

Contact Information

For more information, you can contact a Participating Producer Organization or the Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Financial Guarantee Programs Division at the following coordinates.

1341 Baseline Road, Tower 7, 7th Floor
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0C5

Email: fgp-pgf@agr.gc.ca
Toll Free Number: 1-888-346-2511
TDD/TTY: 613-773-2600

Programme de paiement anticipé

Le Programme de paiement anticipé (PPA) est un programme de garantie d’emprunt qui permet aux producteurs d’avoir accès plus facilement au crédit au moyen d’avances de fonds.

Cela signifie une meilleure liquidité de fonds tout au long de l’année et de meilleurs débouchés commerciaux pour leurs produits agricoles.

Des organisations de producteurs de partout au pays assurent la prestation du Programme de paiement anticipé. Au fur et à mesure que des organisations additionnelles seront prêtes à administrer le PPA, elles seront ajoutées à la liste des organisations de producteurs participantes et des produits agricoles qu’elles couvrent. La liste se trouve sur le site Web du PPA.

Le PPA offre aux producteurs des avances sur la valeur de leurs produits agricoles durant une période précise. Le PPA aide les producteurs de cultures et de bétail à respecter leurs obligations financières et à bénéficier des meilleures conditions du marché en améliorant leurs liquidités tout au long de l’année.

Dans le cadre du PPA, le gouvernement fédéral garantit le remboursement des avances versées aux producteurs par l’organisation de producteurs. Ces garanties aident l’organisation de producteurs à emprunter auprès des institutions financières à des taux d’intérêt plus bas et à verser aux producteurs une avance sur la valeur anticipée de leurs produits agricoles en cours de production et/ou entreposés.

Objectifs

Permet aux producteurs d’avoir accès plus facilement au crédit au moyen d’avances de fonds.

Financement disponible

Le taux d’avance ne peut dépasser 50 % du prix moyen de marché du produit agricole, qui, selon l’estimation du ministre, prévaudra dans la région du producteur. L’avance maximale consentie par producteur est de 400 000 $. Le gouvernement fédéral paie l’intérêt sur la première tranche de 100 000 $ avancés à un producteur par campagne agricole, et le producteur a jusqu’à la fin de la campagne agricole pour rembourser son avance.

Prestation de programme

Le PPA est accessible par l’entremise d’une organisation de producteurs, agente d’exécution du programme, qui, afin de pouvoir occuper ces fonctions, conclut un accord avec Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) et une institution financière prêteuse désignée. Vous pouvez consulter la liste des organisations de producteurs participantes sur ce site Web.

Les organisations de producteurs assurent la prestation du PPA au nom d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC). Les producteurs présentent une demande d’avance de fonds en passant par une organisation de producteurs admissible et non en s’adressant directement à AAC. Veuillez consulter la liste des organisations de producteurs participantes sur ce site Web pour trouver une organisation de producteurs agente d’exécution du programme dans votre région.

Lignes directrices administratives

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada a publié des lignes directrices à l'intention des organisations de producteurs pour les aider à administrer le Programme de paiements anticipés (PPA) et pour préciser les conditions que les producteurs doivent respecter pour participer au programme.

Loi

Le 25 février 2008, le ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire du Canada a proposé des modifications à la Loi sur les programmes de commercialisation agricole pour que les producteurs agricoles puissent obtenir plus facilement des avances de fonds. Le 28 février 2008, les modifications ont reçu la sanction royale.

Coordonnées

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l'organisation de producteurs participante ou à la Division des programmes de garanties financières d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC).

1341, chemin Baseline, Tour 7, 7e étage
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0C5

Courriel : fgp-pgf@agr.gc.ca
Sans frais d'interurbain : 1-888-346-2511
ATME/ATS : 613-773-2600