Minor Use Pesticides Program

Canadian farmers require effective tools to manage weed, insect and disease problems which can threaten the quality, value and quantity of the crops they produce.

The Minor Use Pesticides Program was launched in June 2002 as a joint initiative between Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) and Health Canada's Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA). The Program, which has been fortified under the federal Agricultural Regulatory Action Plan of the Growing Forward policy initiative, aims to increase grower competiveness by improving access to new and effective crop protection tools and technologies.

The Minor Use Pesticides Program works with growers, the provinces, manufacturers and the United States (U.S.) IR-4 Specialty Crops program to establish grower-selected crop/pest needs, and match them with potential solutions, particularly reduced risk products. As the front-line guardians against pest issues, growers know from experience the types of persistent and emerging pest problems that can have serious effects on their operations. It is for that reason that growers select priorities at an annual priority-setting workshop.

AAFC then conducts field and greenhouse trials and commissions laboratory analyses to collect the required data, including efficacy and residue information, before drafting regulatory submissions to PMRA for the registration of new minor uses. Many of these new uses replace older chemistries and formulations which have been taken off the market.

These efforts assist in moving new products through the regulatory system which will help Canada's producers to compete in global markets.


The Minor Use Pesticides Program will provide benefits to Canadian producers, the environment, and consumers by focussing on:

  • making minor use pesticide products, with emphasis on reduced-risk products, more readily available; and
  • providing Canadian producers with access to new pest-management technologies to improve their competitiveness domestically and internationally.

Program Delivery

For many years, Canadian producers, especially those involved in the horticultural and specialty-crop industry, have not had access to the same range of pesticide products as producers in other countries. Because growing minor crops involves so many diverse products and involves small acreages, many manufacturers have been unwilling to invest the time and money to pursue pesticide registrations for this important part of the agriculture industry.

Now, AAFC is conducting field trials to generate the data needed to support submissions to the PMRA for registering minor use pest-control products. This activity complements the existing roles and responsibilities of pesticide manufacturers in submitting products to the PMRA for registration, and encourages manufacturers to register products in Canada.

As a result, newer, more environmentally friendly and more efficient products will be made available to Canadian producers, which helps level the playing field and allows them to be more competitive in global markets.

Under the Minor Use Pesticides Program, AAFC works with provincial governments, industry representatives, and producers to:

  • match pest problems with minor use pesticide solutions;
  • establish priorities and gain industry support;
  • conduct field trials; and
  • prepare pesticide submissions for new uses to the PMRA

Matching pest problems and priorities

Producers and producer groups in each province meet annually with their provincial minor use co-ordinator to identify and prioritize the major pest problems in their regions.

These pest problems are then matched with potential pesticide solutions, using input from pesticide manufacturers, to produce provincial lists of pest priorities and possible solutions in three categories - weed, disease, and insect. Non-chemical solutions are also considered and included.

Provincial lists are then combined to form one national list, which is used at the annual AAFC Minor Use Pesticide Priority-Setting Workshop, usually held in March, to determine national priorities. Representatives from a broad range of stakeholder groups – including provincial minor use coordinators, producers, the pesticide industry, crop specialists, as well as representatives from the U.S. IR-4 program and provincial and federal governments – attend the workshop.

Establishing priorities and gaining industry support

At the workshop, participants reach a consensus on the top national priorities in each pest category (weeds, insects, and diseases), and additional priorities are determined to address regional needs. The agreement of manufacturers is sought to include the new, approved use on the product label.

Conducting field trials and laboratory analyses

Once the priorities are established, AAFC's Pest Management Centre, in consultation with industry and government partners, undertakes to:

  • obtain formal manufacturer support;
  • prepare documentation to determine any additional data requirements;
  • conduct field trials and lab analyses;
  • provide quality assurance for the data-generation process;
  • integrate data generated in Canada with the U.S.IR-4 pesticide program;
  • prepare registration submissions to Health Canada's PMRA; and
  • provide transparent tracking and reporting of results to stakeholders.

While the Centre's headquarters is located in Ottawa, it conducts field trials at sites across the country. Staff at the seven Minor Use Pesticide Research Sites have undergone training to meet the Standards Council of Canada Good Laboratory Practices (GLP) recognition standards for carrying out trials and generating data on minor use pesticides. In addition, private contractors are used.

Preparing submissions to the Pest Management Regulatory Agency

The Pest Management Centre reviews the data resulting from field trials and laboratory analyses, and prepares a submission to the PMRA to support the registration of the minor use pesticide.

Once the Centre has finalized a regulatory submission, the PMRA reviews it and decides whether or not to accept the pesticide for use in Canada. The PMRA bases its decision on whether the product demonstrates merit and value, and whether the risks to human health and the environment are acceptable.

For more information visit PMRA's pesticide label database.

Collaboration between the United States and Canada

AAFC's Minor Use Pesticides (MUP) program was modelled after a similar program in the United States, Interregional Project #4, or as it more commonly known, the IR-4 program. Recently, collaboration between the two programs has increased greatly. The appropriate data is jointly accumulated in the United States and Canada, with submissions made to respective pesticide regulatory agencies concurrently (in Canada, Health Canada's Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA), and in the U.S. the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)). This saves time by reducing duplication of data collection activities. Through these efforts, growers on both sides of the border with the same crop/pest problem, can have new uses of crop protection products registered in both countries simultaneously. Since 2003, numerous joint Canada/U.S. minor use projects have been undertaken.

Contact Information

If you would like to learn more about this program, please Contact the Pest Management Centre.

TDD/TTY: 613-773-2600

Date modified:

Programme des pesticides à usage limité

Les producteurs canadiens ont besoin d’outils efficaces pour gérer les problèmes liés aux organismes nuisibles comme les mauvaises herbes, les insectes, les maladies et les nématodes qui peuvent menacer la qualité, la valeur et la quantité des cultures qu’ils produisent. Les pesticides à usage limité sont des traitements de protection des cultures (comme des herbicides, des insecticides, des fongicides ou des nématicides) habituellement utilisés pour les cultures de grande valeur produites sur de petites superficies ou sur une petite partie de la superficie cultivée. Ces pesticides sont généralement utilisés en si petite quantité que les compagnies titulaires estiment que leur potentiel de vente n’est pas assez élevé pour justifier une homologation au Canada.

Le Programme des pesticides à usage limité (PPUL), une initiative conjointe d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) et de l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada, a été lancé en juin 2002. Le programme, qui a été renforcé aux termes du Plan d’action en matière de réglementation pour l’agriculture du gouvernement fédéral s’inscrivant dans l’initiative stratégique Cultivons l’avenir, vise à accroître la compétitivité des producteurs en améliorant l’accès à de nouveaux outils et technologies efficaces de protection des cultures.

Le PPUL s’associe aux producteurs, aux provinces, aux fabricants et au programme américain des cultures spécialisées IR-4 pour établir les besoins en matière de cultures et d’organismes nuisibles cernés par les producteurs et les jumeler à des solutions possibles, en particulier des produits à risque réduit. À titre d’intervenants de première ligne, les producteurs connaissent d’expérience les problèmes associés aux ravageurs persistants et émergents pouvant avoir d’importantes répercussions sur leurs activités. C’est la raison pour laquelle les producteurs établissent les priorités lors d’un atelier annuel destiné à cette fin.

Par la suite, AAC mène des essais (en plein champ et en serre) et des analyses en laboratoire pour recueillir les données requises, y compris des renseignements sur l’efficacité, la tolérance des cultures et les résidus, avant de rédiger les demandes réglementaires qui seront soumises à l’ARLA en vue de l’homologation des nouveaux emplois de pesticides à usage limité. Un grand nombre de ces nouveaux emplois remplacent les anciennes compositions chimiques et formulations qui ont été retirées du marché.

Ces efforts contribuent à faire progresser les nouveaux produits dans le système de réglementation et aident les producteurs canadiens à rester compétitifs sur les marchés mondiaux.

 

Objectifs

Le PPUL fournira des avantages dont pourront bénéficier les producteurs canadiens, l’environnement et les consommateurs. Le programme vise les objectifs suivants :

  • rendre les nouveaux pesticides à usage limité, et surtout les produits à risques réduits, plus facilement accessibles;
  • fournir aux producteurs canadiens un accès aux nouvelles technologies de lutte antiparasitaire en vue d’améliorer leur capacité concurrentielle sur les marchés intérieurs et internationaux ;
  • offrir aux consommateurs l’accès à des aliments produits de façon rentable et respectueuse de l’environnement.

 

Prestation de programme

Pendant de nombreuses années, les producteurs canadiens, en particulier ceux qui travaillent dans l’industrie horticole et dans l’industrie des cultures de spécialité, n’ont pas eu accès à la même gamme de produits pesticides que les producteurs d’autres pays. Étant donné que les cultures sur surfaces réduites comprennent une très grande diversité de produits et sont produites sur de petites superficies, de nombreuses compagnies titulaires ne sont pas disposés à investir le temps et l’argent nécessaires pour faire homologuer des pesticides à l’intention de ce secteur important de l’industrie agricole.

AAC effectue actuellement des essais afin d’obtenir les données nécessaires pour appuyer les demandes réglementaires soumises à l’ARLA en vue de l’’homologation de nouveaux produits antiparasitaires à usage limité. Cette activité complète les rôles et les responsabilités des compagnies titulaires de pesticides en matière de soumission de demandes d’homologation à l’ARLA et elle encourage les compagnies titulaires à homologuer leurs produits au Canada.

En conséquence, de nouveaux produits plus respectueux de l’environnement et plus efficaces seront offerts aux producteurs canadiens, ce qui contribuera à rendre plus équitables les règles du jeu à l’échelle internationale et permettra aux producteurs d’être plus concurrentiels sur les marchés mondiaux.

Dans le cadre du PPUL, AAC collabore avec les gouvernements provinciaux, les représentants de l’industrie et les producteurs pour réaliser les activités suivantes :

  • trouver des solutions de pesticides à usage limité aux problèmes de lutte antiparasitaire;
  • établir des priorités et obtenir le soutien de l’industrie;
  • effectuer des essais;
  • préparer des soumissions de pesticides à l’ARLA pour de nouvelles utilisations.

Identification des priorités en matière de lutte antiparasitaire

Les producteurs et les groupes de producteurs de chaque province rencontrent chaque année le coordonnateur responsable des pesticides à usage limité dans sa province pour cerner et classer par ordre de priorité les principaux problèmes en matière de lutte antiparasitaire dans leur région. Un organisme nuisible est un organisme indésirable – mauvaise herbe, insecte, maladie – qui endommage les cultures et diminue la qualité ou le rendement.

On associe par la suite ces problèmes à des solutions possibles en matière de pesticides, avec l’aide des compagnies titulaires de pesticides, afin de produire des listes provinciales de priorités et de solutions possibles pour la lutte antiparasitaire.

Les listes provinciales sont par la suite fusionnées pour constituer une liste nationale; cette liste est utilisée dans le cadre de l’atelier annuel d’AAC visant l’établissement des priorités nationales en matière de pesticides à usage limité. Les représentants d’un vaste éventail de groupes d’intervenants participent à l’atelier, y compris des coordonnateurs provinciaux responsables des pesticides à usage limité (CPPUL), des producteurs, des représentants de l’industrie des pesticides, des spécialistes des cultures ainsi que des représentants des gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral.

Établissement des priorités et obtention du soutien de l’industrie

Lors de l’atelier, les producteurs s’entendent sur les principales priorités nationales et les CPPUL établissent des priorités additionnelles pour répondre aux besoins régionaux. L’accord des compagnies titulaires est nécessaire pour inclure l’utilisation approuvée sur l’étiquette du nouveau produit à usage limité.

Pour en apprendre plus sur les priorités nationales établies au cours des années précédentes, allez à la page Web intitulée Cultures sur surfaces réduites et problèmes associés aux ennemis des cultures.

Essais en champ et analyses de laboratoire

Lorsque les priorités sont établies, le Centre sur la lutte antiparasitaire d’AAC, en collaboration avec l’industrie et les partenaires du gouvernement, entreprend les activités suivantes :

  • obtenir l’appui officiel des compagnies titulaires;
  • préparer la documentation pour déterminer les exigences de données supplémentaires;
  • réaliser des essais en champ et des analyses de laboratoire;
  • fournir un contrôle de la qualité pour le processus de génération de données;
  • intégrer les données générées au Canada et celles issues du programme IR-4 des États-Unis;
  • préparer des soumissions à l’ARLA de Santé Canada en vue de l’homologation de nouveaux produits;
  • assurer un suivi des résultats et faire rapport des résultats aux intervenants de façon transparente.

Même si son siège social est situé à Ottawa, le Centre effectue des essais en champ à divers sites au pays. Le personnel des sept Stations de recherches sur les pesticides à usage limité ont reçu une formation sur l’observation des bonnes pratiques de laboratoire (BPL) reconnues par le Conseil des normes du Canada pour réaliser les essais et générer des données sur les pesticides à usage limité. On a aussi recours à des entrepreneurs privés.

Préparation de demandes d'homologation à soumettre à l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire

Le Centre sur la lutte antiparasitaire examine les données recueillies dans le cadre des essais (par exemple en champ, en serre et en laboratoire) et prépare une demande d’homologation à soumettre à l’ARLA pour le pesticide à usage limité.

Lorsque le Centre a complété la demande, l’ARLA l’examine et elle décide si elle doit autoriser ou non l’utilisation du nouveau pesticide au Canada. La décision de l’ARLA repose sur le bien-fondé de la demande et la valeur du produit, ainsi que sur une évaluation des risques pour la santé humaine et l’environnement - risques qui doivent être jugés acceptables.

Pour plus d’informations, visitez la base de données de recherche dans les étiquettes de pesticides de l’ARLA.

Collaboration entre les États-Unis et le Canada

Le PPUL d’AAC s’inspire d’un programme américain analogue, l’Interregional Project No. 4, mieux connu sous le nom de programme IR-4. Le Canada et les États-Unis collaborent à la production de données et à la présentation simultanée de demandes d’homologation à leurs organismes respectifs de réglementation des pesticides (l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada et l’Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) aux États-Unis). Grâce à ces efforts concertés, les producteurs canadiens et américains qui sont aux prises avec les mêmes ennemis des cultures peuvent faire homologuer les nouveaux usages de produits antiparasitaires simultanément dans les deux pays. De nombreux projets canado-américains d’homologation de pesticides à usage limité ont été entrepris depuis 2003.

Coordonnées

Si vous désirez en apprendre davantage sur ce programme, Communiquez avec le Centre de la lutte antiparasitaire.

ATME/ATS : 613-773-2600

Date de modification: