AgriInsurance Program

AgriInsurance is a federal-provincial-producer cost-shared program that stabilizes a producer's income by minimizing the economic effects of production losses caused by natural hazards. AgriInsurance is a provincially delivered program to which the federal government contributes a portion of total premiums and administrative costs. The federal government also provides a reinsurance arrangement (deficit financing) to provinces. Currently, five provinces (Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) participate in the reinsurance arrangement

AgriInsurance plans are developed and delivered by each province to meet the needs of the producers in that province. AgriInsurance plans help to cover production losses as well as loss of product quality and both yield and non-yield based plans are offered. These plans cover traditional crops such as wheat, corn, oats and barley as well as horticultural crops such as lettuce, strawberries, carrots and eggplants. Some provinces also provide coverage for bee mortality as well as maple syrup production. The provinces constantly work to improve their programs by adjusting existing plans and implementing new ones to meet changing industry requirements.

In working to expand the program beyond crops, directives for offering livestock production insurance were developed. Under Growing Forward 2, there are clear guidelines for provinces to develop and implement livestock plans under AgriInsurance.

AgriInsurance plans are developed and delivered by provinces in accordance with the Farm Income Protection Act, the Canada Production Insurance Regulations and Multilateral Framework Agreements to meet the needs of provincial producers.

History

In July 1959, the federal government passed the Crop Insurance Act. The Act would assist the provinces in making affordable crop insurance available to producers. Under this legislation, the federal government was prepared to enter into agreements with any province that established a crop insurance program.

Federally, the Crop Insurance Program evolved into the Production Insurance Program and is now known as AgriInsurance. The Federal AgriInsurance program falls under Farm Income Protection Act, and is guided by the Canada Production Insurance Regulations and Growing Forward 2. The program has built on past experiences and evolved into the effective and responsive program that we have today.

Objectives

AgriInsurance is a federal-provincial-producer cost-shared program that stabilizes a producer's income by minimizing the financial impacts of production losses caused by natural hazards.

Available Funding

The federal and provincial governments help to make production insurance affordable by sharing the cost of premiums with producers and by co-funding program administration.

Program Delivery

Each province currently has either a Crown Corporation or a branch of the provincial agriculture department responsible for administering the AgriInsurance program. The federal government's role is to provide program oversight by ensuring that the obligations under Farm Income Protection Act, the Canada Production Insurance Regulations and the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Framework Agreement (currently Growing Forward 2) are respected.

Contact Information

AgriInsurance is delivered provincially. Please visit the provincial administration website.

 

AgriInsurance Program
1341 Baseline Rd. Tower 7, Floor 3
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0C5

Email: agriinsurance@agr.gc.ca
TDD/TTY: 613-773-2600


Growing Forward 2
, a federal-provincial-territorial initiative

Date modified:

Programme Agri-protection

Agri-protection est un programme à frais partagés fédéral-provincial-producteur qui permet de stabiliser le revenu des producteurs en réduisant au minimum les répercussions financières des pertes de production attribuables à des risques naturels. Agri-protection est un programme géré par les provinces provincial auquel le gouvernement fédéral contribue en fournissant une partie des primes et des frais administratifs totaux. Le gouvernement fédéral offre également des modalités de réassurance (financement déficitaire) aux provinces. Cinq provinces participent actuellement au mécanisme de réassurance (Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nouveau-Brunswick et Nouvelle-Écosse).

Chaque province met au point et gère ses propres régimes d'Agri-protection afin de répondre aux besoins de ses producteurs. Les régimes d'Agri-protection contribuent à couvrir les pertes de production ainsi que la perte de qualité d'un produit; des régimes fondés sur le rendement et non fondés sur le rendement sont offerts. Les régimes d'Agri-protection portent sur les cultures traditionnelles comme le blé, le maïs, l'avoine et l'orge ainsi que sur les cultures horticoles comme la laitue, la fraise, la carotte et l'aubergine. Certaines provinces offrent aussi une protection couvrant la mortalité d'abeilles et la production de sirop d'érable. Les provinces essaient constamment d'améliorer leurs programmes en modifiant les régimes existants et en mettant en œuvre de nouveaux régimes en vue de satisfaire les exigences évolutives de l'industrie.

Des directives sur l'assurance-production pour le bétail ont été élaborées dans le cadre des travaux visant à étendre le programme au-delà des cultures. Cultivons l'avenir 2 comporte des lignes directrices claires à l'intention des provinces qui élaborent et mettent en œuvre des régimes d'assurance du bétail dans le cadre d'Agri-protection.

Les provinces élaborent et offrent des régimes d'Agri-protection conformément à la Loi sur la protection du revenu agricole, au Règlement sur l'assurance-production du Canada et aux accords-cadres multilatéraux et de manière à répondre aux besoins des producteurs provinciaux.

Historique

En juillet 1959, le gouvernement fédéral a adopté la Loi sur l'assurance-récolte afin d'aider les provinces à offrir aux producteurs une assurance-récolte à coût abordable. En vertu de cette loi, le gouvernement fédéral pouvait conclure des ententes avec toute province ayant établi un programme d'assurance-récolte.

Le Programme d'assurance-récolte du gouvernement fédéral est devenu le Programme d'assurance-production, qui s'appelle maintenant le programme Agri-protection. Ce dernier relève de la Loi sur la protection du revenu agricole et est fondé sur le Règlement sur l'assurance-production du Canada et sur Cultivons l'avenir 2. Prenant appui sur les expériences antérieures, le programme est devenu le programme souple et efficace que nous connaissons aujourd'hui.

Objectifs

Agri-protection est un programme fédéral-provincial-producteur à coûts partagés qui permet de stabiliser le revenu des producteurs en atténuant les répercussions financières des pertes de production attribuables à des risques naturels.

Financement disponible

En partageant le coût des primes avec les producteurs et en cofinançant la gestion du programme, le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces contribuent à rendre l'assurance‑production abordable.

Prestation de programme

C'est actuellement une société d'État ou une direction générale du ministère provincial de l'Agriculture qui s'occupe de la gestion du programme Agri‑protection dans chaque province. Le rôle du gouvernement fédéral consiste à assurer la surveillance du programme en veillant à ce que les provinces gèrent ce dernier en respectant les obligations découlant de la Loi sur la protection du revenu agricole, du Règlement sur l'assurance-production du Canada et de l'Accord-cadre fédéral-provincial-territorial (Cultivons l'avenir 2).

Coordonnées

Agri-protection est offert à l’échelle provinciale. Veuillez consulter les sites Web des administrations provinciales.

Programme Agri-protection
1341, rue Baseline, Tour 7, 3e étage
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0C5

Courriel : agriinsurance@agr.gc.ca
ATME/ATS : 613-773-2600


Cultivons l'avenir 2
, une initiative fédérale, provinciale et territoriale.

Date de modification: