Grains Roundtable

Canada's grains industry is composed primarily of wheat, canola, flax, soybeans, pulses, barley, corn and oats. It is a global supplier in the manufacturing of food products for consumer consumption, livestock feed, and in the production of bio-fuels. The Canadian grains industry prides itself on providing safe and innovative products to global markets that continually exceed world standards and regulations. With representatives from the entire value chain, the Grains Roundtable is focusing on four areas identified by industry as the major obstacles to improving the sector's competitiveness.

Key focuses:

  • economics
  • innovation
  • market access
  • environment and climate change

Contact us

If you have any questions or would like more information, please email us at

Working groups

This roundtable has six active working groups:

  1. Agricultural Statistics Working Group
  2. Crop Research Working Group
  3. Food and Feed Safety Working Group
  4. Market Access Working Group
    • Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standards (SPS) Sub Working Group
    • Trade Negotiations Sub Working Group
    • Biotech Sub Working Group
  5. Climate Change and Environment Working Group
  6. Public Trust Working Group

Upcoming meeting

The next Roundtable meeting will take place on October 25, 2018 in Ottawa.

Meeting summary – Record of Decision



  • Rick White - Canadian Canola Growers Association
  • Marco Valicenti – Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada


  • Leah Olson – Agricultural Manufacturers of Canada
  • Mickey Palfy – Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan
  • Jason Lenz – Alberta Barley
  • Lynn Jacobson – Alberta Federation of Agriculture
  • Hannah Konschuh – Alberta Wheat Commission
  • My-Lien Bosch – Animal Nutrition Association of Canada
  • Michael Delaney – Atlantic Grains Council
  • Paul Hetherington – Baking Association of Canada
  • Brian Otto – Barley Council of Canada
  • Tyler Bjornson – Canada Grains Council
  • Catherine Scovil – Canadian Canola Growers Association
  • Norm Hall – Canadian Federation of Agriculture
  • JoAnne Buth – Canadian International Grains Institute
  • Gordon Harrison – Canadian National Millers Association
  • Glyn Chancey – Canadian Seed Growers Association
  • Roy VanWyk – Canadian Seed Institute
  • Dave Carey – Canadian Seed Trade Association
  • Brian Innes – Canola Council of Canada
  • Erin Armstrong – Canterra Seeds
  • Jim Smolik – Cargill
  • Cam Dahl – Cereals Canada
  • Ian Affleck – CropLife
  • Marion McBride – Farmer Direct Co-op Ltd.
  • Bob Friesen – Farmers of North America
  • Susan Abel – Food and Consumer Products of Canada
  • Marjus Haerle – Grain Farmers of Ontario
  • Jeff Nielsen – Grain Growers of Canada
  • Kevin Hursh – Inland Terminal Association of Canada
  • Chuck Fossay – Keystone Agricultural Producers / Manitoba Canola Growers Association
  • Phil deKemp – Malting Industry Association of Canada
  • Pam de Rocquigny – Manitoba Corn Growers Association and Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association
  • Art Enns – Prairie Oat Growers Association
  • William van Tassel – Producteurs de grains du Québec
  • Gordon Bacon – Pulse Canada
  • Jean-Marc Ruest – Richardson International
  • Jason Skotheim – Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission
  • Janice Tranberg – Saskatchewan Canola Development Commission
  • Carl Potts – Saskatchewan Pulse Growers
  • Harvey Brooks – Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
  • Shane Stokke – Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission
  • Jeff Reid – SeCan
  • Ron Davidson – Soy Canada
  • Richard Wansbutter – Viterra
  • Doug Robertson – Western Barley Growers Association
  • Gunter Jochum – Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association
  • Wade Sobkowich – Western Grain Elevator Association
  • Dave Sefton – Western Grains Research Foundation

Provincial governments

  • Neil Blue – Alberta Agriculture and Forestry
  • Miles Beaudin – Manitoba Agriculture
  • Djiby Bocar Sall – Ministère de l'Agriculture des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation (MAPAQ)
  • TJ Schur – Ministry of Agriculture, Province of British Columbia
  • Hugh Berges – Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA)
  • Linda Roy – Régie des marchés agricoles et alimentaires du Québec
  • Penny McCall – Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture

Federal government

  • Nathalie Durand – Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Jocelyn Beaudette – Canadian Grain Commission
  • Patti Miller – Canadian Grain Commission
  • Bill Anderson – Canadian Food Inspection Agency
Date modified: